We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Simple country surroundings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Kitchen

Southern Kitchen
2 Shipwatch Road, SC, Kiawah Island, SC 29455
18437682705
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Troutman, North Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Simple country surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

If you crave simple fresh breakfast foods, this is the place. Ask for Donald, he's fast, efficient and helpful.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    56
    21
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
128 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good for family outing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We went to Southern Kitchen twice while on vacation in Kiawah. Once we had 7 kids and 8 adults and showed up on a rainy night and were accommodated nicely. The food was simple but good and the service was great. Then my husband and I went there for breakfast on the way out of town and thought the breakfast was quite good and the service great again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Family atmosphere with varied menu. The ham & cheese omelette couldn't have been better. Cheerful staff, fast service.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chonburi, Thailand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast Spot on Kiawah”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Went to this restaurant for breakfast on our first day and it was excellent. Good choice of menu items, good coffee and great service. Something for a variety of eaters, from refined adults to finicky kids. Service personnel were attentive but not overbearing. Go early (before 8:30am) to avoid the crowds.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyO2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
87 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Cold food, poor quality, don't go.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

We went for breakfast and my husband's sausage on the biscuits and gravy were cold. My mother ordered an over easy egg for her breakfast sandwich and it came out over well. My son's pancakes were rubbery. My fruit cup wasn't terribly fresh. Won't return. Bring back Shrimpers. It was much better!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ptnole1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southern Kitchen also viewed

Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Southern Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing