We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Yummy and Fresh!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Tela Pizzeria

La Tela Pizzeria
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Italian. Pizza. Pasta.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Yummy and Fresh!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We enjoyed a tasty dinner at La Tela on our recent vacation to Seabrook Island. Our group of 6 was accommodated relatively quickly on a busy Wednesday evening. Prior to being seated we enjoyed pre-dinner drinks at the bar.
Our group ordered a nice cross section of the appetizers. The standouts were the pesto mussels and the mozzarella balls.
I enjoyed an extremely tasty butternut squash salad while the rest of our group ordered pizzas which looked delicious. All of the food appeared to be extremely fresh and well prepared and our service was excellent. The only downfall was that I felt the price point was a little bit high for what was being offered, however it seems that most of the restaurants in the immediate vicinity have the same problem as well. I would definitely return again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marietta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    134
    58
    24
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
91 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fresh and Tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

In the Freshfields Village area between Kiawah and John Islands. Nice looking. Food tasted fresh and well-prepared. Pleasant service. A little price-y for what it was but not bad for resort area. No wi-fi or reservations. Full by 6PM.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Radtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I have dined here several times and it never disappoints. From the starters, to dinner, dessert or drinks, for one to all, you will enjoy the freshness of their food.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gale W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Many options, but no gluten-free”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Good pizza for the gluten eaters! Usually up-scale pizza joints offer at least a good grilled chicken salad, but they do not. Our celiac had a tiny salad. Ended up hitting local grocer after dinner. Pasta fagioli was best of the night. Pizza was good, not great,

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Humdinger04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, Nebraska
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“NY Italian "low-country style" :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Great location, atmosphere in the BAR is warm and welcoming. "dining room could use a little upgrading! Booths are cold and dark. Pizza and salads use all very fresh ingredients. Pasta is homemade and also very good. Biggest complaint is the cost of drinks. Was told to have a limoncello martini or margarita, which was very good however I was shocked to find out that the price for 3 was about $53. Actually more expensive than in New York City or Palm Beach. Other than that, its a great place to go especially if you don't want to leave the Island.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rld36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tela Pizzeria also viewed

Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to La Tela Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing