We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dining experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tomasso at Turtle Point

Tomasso at Turtle Point
Ranked #10 of 17 Restaurants in Kiawah Island
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great dining experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This was our first visit to Tomasso at Turtle Point and it was everything we were told it would be when it came to service and the food! The veal scallopini I ordered was excellent, as was my wife's mushroom ravioli!

The one thing I would say was a little disappointing was the noise level in the restaurant. There were a couple of large groups that were obviously celebrating and the noise level was troubling given the level I viewed this restaurant to be. Some sound deadening materials would help greatly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank W L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    55
    31
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great italian food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We had wonderful meals at this restaurant - their bread and olive oil and balsamic was wonderful. The service was outstanding and our waitstaff was very friendly. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ssok2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good but pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

While on vacation, my family and I had dinner at Tomasso's one night. The food was quite good, the service was also good, but the price for the "experience" (all told) was high. They offered a swordfish special that night, which was really good. Three of the group ordered veal parmesan, which isn't on the menu but they made it for us anyway; it was average in taste and quality. They also have a "bar" item called Cheese Bread, which we have had there on past occasions and this time as well; it's quite good, with the bread being very fresh and a tasty cheese topping that is not excessive. Atmosphere was nice but a bit noisy for what is suggested to be a top-flight restaurant.

With so many really good (better) restaurants in the area, especially offering Italian dishes, we've decided to skip Tomasso's on future visits.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DDawdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mass
Level Contributor
191 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great stop - will not be disappointed! Casual yet formal if you want ..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Tired after a day of travel .. this was a great place to start for our late meal first night of vacation with the ladies. Atmosphere very relaxed and comfortable. Varied menu in the pub - offering both formal restaurant fare and pub fare .. generous portions... choices were all good and delicious! Everyone was satisfied! burgers, salads to scallops were great. Service was excellent! Hard to find in the dark... Kiawah Island Duneside Villas are great!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PilgrimBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“not what I expected at high end resort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

food was not creative....slab of what appeared to be pre-frozen veal with slice of cheese stuck on top of spagetti....could have done better with Costco frozen dish. husband had steak...tasteless. I did find the antipasto first course to be quite good and the flourless chocolate tort was also good...but very small. Again...an ok place, but when you think of The Sanctuary you think higher than ok

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hoya03mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tomasso at Turtle Point also viewed

Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Tomasso at Turtle Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing