We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to start your visit to Kiawah” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tomasso at Turtle Point

Tomasso at Turtle Point
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Troutman, North Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A good place to start your visit to Kiawah”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Interesting menu and an extremely gracious & hardworking staff. The atmosphere is casual elegance. Some dishes are too salty. Nice wine list. Baker, Natoya, the hostesses and manager were super helpful. Thank you.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    57
    33
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had an excellent dinner at Tomasso's. The food and waitstaff was amazing. We would definitely recommend this place. We were celebrating our 20th anniversary, and they gave us a complimentary dessert to celebrate. Very thoughtful!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank michwitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Awful!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

The food was plain and boring. Didn't seem fresh or flavorful. The prices were way too high for what it was. This was certainly NOT fine dining. My daughter and husband refused to eat. My son and I ate, but I had a sick stomach and heartburn the next day. I would not even give it a second chance. The only thing that was good was the service. They need a new chef and they need to clean up the place. Again, it was like eating at an applebees with the prices of fine dining. Really?

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Thewinters6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
70 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Very Good Italian Restraurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

This charming eatery is located on Turtle Point golf course on Kiawah Island. We started with a Bruscetta Estiva, tomatoes, baby squads, garlic, onion, Basel, and grilled bread. Outstanding! Then Carciola Fritti, fried artichoke hearts, parmigiana, lemon caper aioli. This stuzzichni (small plate) reminded us of the fried baby artichokes in Rome during the late Spring. Delicious! Next we had a stuzzichni Capesante alla Piaastra, scallops, red beet tartare, young parsnips, and shredded pork. Absolutely amazing!

We finished the meal with two pastas. The Pappardelle alla Bolognese was very good, but could have been slightly richer. The Strozzapreti al Brassato (Short Rib Pasta) was unusual and very good.

This was by far the best Restraurant we experienced on this island

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travelingpriest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiawah Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fresh Vegetables, Great Flavor!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

I took my mom here for her birthday, and not being a pasta-eater the staff and chef were very accommodating to make a vegetable dish for me. I was shocked at how delicious the flavor of FRESH vegetables, season and cooked right tasted!! Very, very good on flavor, staff was helpful, service was good.

- Completely Alive Wellness

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank CompletelyAliveWelln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tomasso at Turtle Point also viewed

Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Tomasso at Turtle Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing