We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beach within a nature preserve”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kiawah Island Golf Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kiawah Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Husband and I rented a 1 bedroom ocean view premiere unit in Shipwatch, through the resort, in September.To me Kiawah resort is like a beach in the middle of a nature preserve. (Since there have been many posts regarding this resort I will try to add only thoughts on some of the less common topics.). I believe the only way to have access to the resorts pools is to rent directly from the hotel. Remember to ask for a triple AAA discount if you are a member. Also, guests renting through resort should remember to ask for discounts at the golf courses. There may also be discounts for playing a second golf round.

This unit was beautiful with a small deck and a pretty but somewhat obscured view of the ocean
because of the trees. Ship-watch is in the west beach area and the nearest pool is the new west beach pool which is for young children because of its slides. It is a long walk to the heated lap lanes at the Night Heron pool. Although, it is a nice bike ride. If you are at the resort outside of high season, you need to be aware of pool service hours. The night heron pool also has a large slide pool for younger children. There are beach chairs and umbrellas available for rent on the beach near ship watch. In September many were set up in the morning and could be rented from a near by truck for $30 per day or $120 per week. Or you may use your own chairs but will need a sturdy umbrella to deal with the wind.

Because of the surrounding area, there will likely be bugs when you are outside. So remember to bring bug spray. You may also want to refrain from eating on your unit deck.

Kiawah Resort is well suited for families because of the many activities available. Obviously, it is also ahaven for golfers because of its beautiful courses. However, it is also a beautiful place to simply walk on the beach or paths, bike ride, swim or just look at the beautiful homes throughout the island.

Room Tip: Research the location , level and view you would like before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank summervac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (491)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 491 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013

We enjoyed our trip to Kiawah. The area is quiet and relaxing. The 1 bedroom unit we rented from Kiawah Island Golf Resort was furnished with everything we needed including two beach chairs. The staff was friendly but the condo seemed like it had been slap-dash cleaned. Would have rated it a 5 if it had been cleaned better.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elle989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Exclusive place for those who enjoy fine dining and great beaches. The staff is wonderful. Highly recommend eating at the Ocean course Atlantic room. The view is breathtaking. My kids loved the heated Night Heron pool.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottsgirlTn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Staying at beach front villa and couldn't be happier. The beaches are gorgeous. The villa is very nice. The resort easy to book with. The dear and herons walk freely through out property. . Absolutely impeccable grounds. This is a real winner

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We rented a 2 bedroom first floor villa in the Turtle Cove section of Kiawah Island. The condo was comfortably furnished, nothing fancy but we booked the basic . Ironically we only saw turtles swimming in the lagoon just off the screened in deck. The were plenty of alligators sunning and swimming in other ponds and lagoons around the Island. We were walking distance to the Town Market and the Sanctuary. Highlights included bike riding on the beach and great dinning everywhere.

Room Tip: Always ask for a water view, either ocean or lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryBeth8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The resort is very nice - the shuttle service was wonderful. We stayed in a villa - 5142 Windswept and it was very nice- wonderful view of the beach and easy access a short walk down to the boardwalk.

Room Tip: There was no room service or housekeeping service available at our villa. Our room was very nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssok2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

really enjoy and played a lot of golf and think I slept on the golf course.. lots of good southern food.. and the hospitality was just geat and beautiful... would like to spend more time .. but, have to come home and go to work ronb

Room Tip: get a room facing the ocean and its a beautiful site
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ronaldb_nm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiawah Island
0.0 mi away
The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort
3.3 mi away
Andell Inn
Andell Inn
#1 of 3 in Kiawah Island
469 reviews
9.6 mi away
Tides Folly Beach
Tides Folly Beach
#1 of 1 in Folly Beach
1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Belmond Charleston Place
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,266 reviews
15.6 mi away
French Quarter Inn
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,936 reviews
15.7 mi away
Market Pavilion Hotel
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiawah Island Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiawah Island Golf Resort

Address: 1 Sanctuary Beach Dr, Kiawah Island, SC 29455-5434
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Kiawah Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kiawah Island
Price Range: $180 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kiawah Island Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 580
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 21-miles south of beautiful and historic Charleston, South Carolina, Kiawah Island Golf Resort offers an unmatched golf experience with a unique combination of distinctive golf courses, a spectacularly beautiful natural setting, luxurious resort amenities and gracious hospitality. Selected as the best golf resort in the U.S. in Golf World magazine's "Readers' Choice Awards" survey, the resort staff is totally committed to the game of golf and those who play it at every level. Kiawah Island Golf Resort possesses an esteemed golf tradition flavored with the spirit of lively competition. Kiawah Island's championship resume includes the dramatic 1991 Ryder Cup, the 1997 and 2003 World Cups, the 2005 PGA Professional National Championship, the 2007 Senior PGA Championship and the prestigious 2012 PGA Championship won in commanding fashion by Rory McIlroy. It has also been named the site of the 2021 PGA Championship. The resort offers five distinctive, world-class golf courses designed by Pete Dye, Jack Nicklaus, Tom Fazio, Gary Player and Clyde Johnston. Using the island's magnificent setting of rolling sand dunes, expansive saltwater marshes and quiet maritime forests, each architect has created a unique expression of golf's varied challenges and rewards. The resort has received an impressive array of rankings in various magazine readers' polls proving that service is still king on Kiawah Island including being named the No. 1 island in North American Island & No. 2 island in the world in the latest Conde Nast Traveler's annual Readers' Choice Awards With 10 miles of stunning shoreline and an unmatched golf experience, Kiawah Island Golf Resort is one of America's top vacation destinations. In addition to the five championship golf courses, two tennis centers, it is known as one of the top eco-friendly resorts in the U.S. and has a world-renowned recreation and nature program With close to 600 villas and luxury homes and the Forbes Five Star/AAA Five Diamond, 255-room oceanfront hotel and spa, The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island Golf Resort, the resort offers a wide variety of accommodation options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kiawah Island Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiawah Island Golf Hotel Kiawah Island
Kiawah Island Resort
Kiawah Island Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing