We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Laid back vacation - even with little ones” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kiawah Island Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kiawah Island Golf Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kiawah Island
Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Laid back vacation - even with little ones”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a week in the Tennis Club Villas traveling with my cousin's family. Between pool and beach for the kids, tennis and spa for the grown-ups, and two chefs in the family (one professional and one very amateur), we always had plenty to do and good food to eat. The pools are great fun for little kids with slides, sprinklers, and food. The beach is amazing: very flat, miles in both directions, and warm water in July. Sometimes we carted our whole life to the beach with toys, cameras, food, drinks. Other times, we went with just towels. It was so nice to unplug and enjoy spending time together. This is a great place to travel with a big party and know that everyone will enjoy themselves (from our 1 year old to the grown ups). Although I try not to complain, it is a little expensive for condo living... we hardly encountered a staff member all week and I would not label our condo as "luxury". But it's hard to complain about time spent on beautiful Kiawah.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Boon_Identity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    70
    38
    27
    19
See reviews for
161
129
5
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
347 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

The island is really worth seeing and experiencing. The overall atmosphere on the island is very lovely with a lot a different services and a overall high quality of services provided by the resort. In our interactions with the resort, they were responsive and tried their best to fix the few problems we encountered.
However, the value of their services does not match the prices they get. While I enjoyed my experience, if I were to spend the same amount of money again, I would probably choose another location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank veffekt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Kiawah island is a very nice place but I am extremely disappointed in a couple aspects of our stay. I have a few simple pleasures in my life, and one of them is having a nice glass of wine in the evenings while getting ready for dinner. Because of this my husband and I always bring a bottle of my family's winery's wine in a little case with two simple wine glasses, cork screw and vacuum pump. This bottle lasts us for several days, so it's not that we are alcoholics or something. It's just a nice ritual that I savor and enjoy.

The first night at the Sanctuary while we were getting ready to go to my husbands company reception, I unpacked our little bar and poured my wine into one of the glasses I brought. But then I noticed that the room came with some glasses. They were nicer quality so I poured the wine out of my glass into one of theirs to enjoy the better experience. I ended up taking that glass down to the reception and forgot to bring it back to the room. We stayed for three nights. At some point the maid must have thought our glasses belonged to the resort because when we checked out today they were gone.

I understood this to easily happen, but considering the high expense of the resort, and especially the extremely high prices of everything you have to do while there, such as eating, drinking, and activities, I fully expected the resort management to accommodate us with some replacement glasses for our trip.

Instead the manager on duty instructed the reception staff person to tell us they have to spend a couple days looking for our glasses and would have to send them to us. I said they weren't expensive or special glasses, just glass travel wine glasses,and the point was, we needed them while traveling. No matter how much I tried to explain my point, it didn't matter. I couldn't have simply taken the glass from the room, but my principals won't let me do that.

Why didn't they just give us a couple glasses for our trip? It would have been the simple, gracious thing to do. But it just goes par for the course at Kiawah. They nickel and dime you on everything...$14 for a cocktail...extreme high prices on so so food at Jasmine Porch. I got the low country sampler, and it arrived seeming like it was plated in advance. The dishes did not seem freshly prepared.

We spent about $600.00 at Kiawah on resort services for a three night stay. This does NOT include our room charge. And we did not play the Ocean course..only none holes at Osprey because we got rained out. We did not eat at the most expensive restaurants like the Ocean room or the Atlantic room. Just small incidentals mostly, lunch at the pool, dinner one night at jasmine porch, coffee and muffins at the ice cream shop for breakfast.

It's not about the money. It's about principal of gracious hospitality that would should expect at a resort such as this. But the resort is not gracious. They are after your money. They keep options limited on he island so you have to buy from them for everything. And they charge a lot. And then when one of their maids removes personal items from your room, they do not make it right, right away. I wish I had gone against my principals and raced my missing glasses with the glasses that came in our room. At least then I would have been able to enjoy my wine this evening in something other than a plastic cup in the next hotel on the road. But I do have principals, which apparently are not shared by Kiawah Island resort.

Also, the resort seems ready for a renovation. I noticed when we pulled up that the exterior is looking worn in places, and when we got to our room there was a red wine stain on our carpet and mold in the shower grout. I spoke to the bell man about the wine stain and he just said he thought it would be hard to get out. It's time to replace the carpet. You don't expect large stains in the room of this level of resort. Also, my husband and I continually commented to each other how uncomfortable the bed was. Instead of a nice flat surface to sleep on, there are two depressions that your bodies fit in.

We also wished that there was a video library or Internet rental service such as Netflix or amazon, where you could have a better selection of movies and tv series.

It's a beautiful location and a lovely building in general, but the lack of hospitality overtly demonstrated by our wine glass incident, and underlying in the highway robbery they commit with exorbitant prices for everything you need while there clouds my whole review.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank luckytrav18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colts Neck, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Excellent family vacation. The family was introduced to golf and with outstanding instruction, they now want to make golf a part of their lives. They loved being able to bike everywhere. They loved the warm relatively calm ocean. Restaurants were outstanding.

Room Tip: Wanted to be in the East Beach closer to the golf learning center and conference hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MattS882013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

My family is staying in Mariners Watch right now. Our villa is great -- one block to beach and to pols/Night Heron Park. But I have been profoundly disappointed in the service I have encountered in the various resort restaurants and facilities. It began when we first arrived and encountered rry rude treatment by e security officers at the front gate, where we had to stop to get a temporary parking pass. I wrote an email complaining about this on Monday but have yet to receive a reply on Thursday. The service in the restaurants has been extremely slow. I might have see it as leisurely if it we did not have a small child who was hungry and then anxious to leave. The final straw tonight was going to to the East Beach Town Center to pick up a family fried chicken meal. Despite arriving at 6 (early, I would think), they were out of chicken breasts. Rather than try to make this right in some way (coming up with alternatives, discounting the meal in some way), I was met with bored indifference. I ended up paying more to try to buy separate meals for everyone. I highly recommend avoiding the food and the resort and going out to Freshfields. For a place this expensive, I expect better treatment.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foodcritic45014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeVegis01, Manager at Kiawah Island Golf Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

I want to sincerely apologize about your disappointment with our service in several areas of the resort and the lack of response to the email you sent us. I would appreciate the chance to email or speak with you directly regarding your experience in more detail so I can immediately address the issues with our team.

Thank you,
Sarah Morgan
Director of Guest Service
Kiawah Island Golf Resort

Email: sarah_morgan@kiawahresort.com
Phone: (843)768-2845
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

I went here for a conference and it was like a gift. A very clean, well kept, upscale resort for unlimited number of adult and children's activities.
The service was outstanding, the accommodations were excellent and elegant. I can't wait to go back to the same conference just to return to this place!!

Room Tip: Scenic view does not mean "ocean view" make sure you ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michel666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

My favorite place in the world, made even better by the service mentality of the staff.
Golf is great, with the instructors at Turtle Point very focused on your enjoyment of the game.
Beach is fabulous, with the island having great natural beauty and wildlife.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hazel12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiawah Island
0.4 mi away
The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort
3.1 mi away
Andell Inn
Andell Inn
#2 of 3 in Kiawah Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
9.9 mi away
Tides Folly Beach
Tides Folly Beach
#1 of 1 in Folly Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Belmond Charleston Place
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,908 reviews
15.9 mi away
French Quarter Inn
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,567 reviews
16.0 mi away
Market Pavilion Hotel
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiawah Island Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiawah Island Golf Resort

Property: Kiawah Island Golf Resort
Address: 1 Sanctuary Beach Dr, Kiawah Island, SC 29455-5434
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Kiawah Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kiawah Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kiawah Island Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 580
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 21-miles south of beautiful and historic Charleston, South Carolina, Kiawah Island Golf Resort offers an unmatched golf experience with a unique combination of distinctive golf courses, a spectacularly beautiful natural setting, luxurious resort amenities and gracious hospitality. Selected as the best golf resort in the U.S. in Golf World magazine's "Readers' Choice Awards" survey, the resort staff is totally committed to the game of golf and those who play it at every level. Kiawah Island Golf Resort possesses an esteemed golf tradition flavored with the spirit of lively competition. Kiawah Island's championship resume includes the dramatic 1991 Ryder Cup, the 1997 and 2003 World Cups, the 2005 PGA Professional National Championship, the 2007 Senior PGA Championship and the prestigious 2012 PGA Championship won in commanding fashion by Rory McIlroy. It has also been named the site of the 2021 PGA Championship. The resort offers five distinctive, world-class golf courses designed by Pete Dye, Jack Nicklaus, Tom Fazio, Gary Player and Clyde Johnston. Using the island's magnificent setting of rolling sand dunes, expansive saltwater marshes and quiet maritime forests, each architect has created a unique expression of golf's varied challenges and rewards. The resort has received an impressive array of rankings in various magazine readers' polls proving that service is still king on Kiawah Island including being named the No. 1 island in North American Island & No. 2 island in the world in the latest Conde Nast Traveler's annual Readers' Choice Awards With 10 miles of stunning shoreline and an unmatched golf experience, Kiawah Island Golf Resort is one of America's top vacation destinations. In addition to the five championship golf courses, two tennis centers, it is known as one of the top eco-friendly resorts in the U.S. and has a world-renowned recreation and nature program With close to 600 villas and luxury homes and the Forbes Five Star/AAA Five Diamond, 255-room oceanfront hotel and spa, The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island Golf Resort, the resort offers a wide variety of accommodation options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Travelocity so you can book your Kiawah Island Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiawah Island Golf Hotel Kiawah Island
Kiawah Island Resort
Kiawah Island Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing