We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty but expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kiawah Island Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kiawah Island Golf Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kiawah Island
Matthews, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pretty but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

I went for a healthcare conference the first week of July. It is a cool and very big resort. The beaches are nice but crowded. There are nice restaurants there but they are pricey. i suggest you give into the near by towns , including charleston to eat. there is so much to do in charleston and the surrounding areas. great place for families and pet friendly too. They need more places for fishing.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Acarey453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    68
    38
    27
    18
See reviews for
157
125
4
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Anderson, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We have been visiting Kiawah Island for years and just returned from a week's stay. We had a 3 bedroom/3 bath townhouse in Fairway Oaks, one of our favorite locations. As usual, everything was wonderful. Family friendly beach -- our little 2.5 year old found so many friends and we got together with the other families every day. The children had a great time playing with diggers and dump trucks and pails and shovels and the adults enjoyed the sun and the surf and the simplicity of Kiawah. We had dinner one evening at the Ryder Cup Bar, on the patio ... a perfect choice with a toddler! We watched the golfers coming in to the 18th hole, marveled at the pelicans and the ocean view, and enjoyed a great dinner! After eating, we walked for a bit on the totally deserted beach ... heaven!

I would recommend Kiawah Island to anyone looking for a quiet family vacation. I will say that it does help to know the area when choosing accommodations. We have a very good feel for the layout of the island, so we are never disappointed in our rental choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bed villa in the East Beach area over the 4th of July. Very spacious with twin beds in the 2nd room and 2 full baths. Full kitchen with d/w. Washer/dryer in the unit were nice as everything was wet or sandy at the end of the day. Definitely rent bikes for the week. They deliver and pick them up from the villa. We biked to the pool, soccer field, beach and all around the island-ask for ones with baskets in the front to carry your beach supplies. You could walk to most places but it would be quite a walk to the beach and the trails all around the islands are beautiful. The pool isn't crowded, fun for younger kids with 2 slides, etc. The beach is hard-packed and huge when the tide is out. Boogie boarding is hit or miss depending on the surf- rent the boards from the beach crew if it seems good on your beach day, it's not worth renting ahead for the week. chartered a boat for inland fishing and caught sharks easily. Enjoyed many kid activities at the resort, all included. Drive to the grocery store in Fresh Fields Village to stock the fridge. Nice restaurants there too. We avoided the expensive restaurants at the resort and did the 45 min drive to Charleston for good Southern food. Skip the cookout at Mingy Point- too expensive for what you get. There is a store at the resort that sells all the essentials too. Our kids are 7 & 12.

Room Tip: 4523 was quiet, no view but centrally located. Plan to bike to the pool and beach. Some villas hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MNmom535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My family stayed at Kiawah during the July 4th holiday. We wanted to enjoy the July 4th festivites so we arrived one day earlier at stayed at a "premier" Windswept villa. Not impressed with the accommodations. For premier accommodations and the price, I would expect the place to be exceptional. We wanted to sit on the deck; however, I had to clean the tables and remove spider webs. Not sure if this is part of housekeeping but it does show neglect.

For the following day we moved to a "premier" Parkside villa. It appeared that housekeeping was not on top of things. The overn was on self-cleaning, food particles still on counter tops and table, the duvet cover had stains, and I found hair on the washcloth. When we ventured out on the enclosed deck, ceiling fans were filthy.

The high point of my trip was when I saw a big roach crawl under the door into the villa. I immediately spoke to the manager and they sent someone over for exterminating services. The next morning there were 2-3 more roaches lying on the floor.

Needless to say, I spoke to a manager and I checked out one day earlier than we had planned. For the amount of money that we paid, I expected to feel comforable in my environment. The managers were understanding but it was very discoraging since this was my first visit to the island. I had expected much more.

I also feel that the resort should hold their property owners accountable to premier standards.

I visited the Isle of Palms last summer and thoroughly enjoyed our accommodations.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tee-Tee518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed at Kiawah Island over this summer, and the resort was fantastic! The service was great, the activities were spot on, and the food was delicious. Something that my family really enjoyed were the activities, there were so many choices and all of them were kid friendly. We enjoyed kayaking and paddle boarding tours also a great shark fishing experience. Something that the kids loved were the pools. Of course like all kids they loved the water slides and water stairs. I also enjoyed the pool side dining service. The whole island has great staff and so many things to d

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WON2301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Kiawah Island is a rare beauty. We loved the seclusion and riding bikes every day around the island. The food and staff at Tomasso, Atlantic Room, and Ocean Room were exceptional and our rental house was absolutely beautiful. Since our house had a private pool we didn't spend a lot of time at the beach but access was easy and it wasn't overcrowded.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LJgourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We have been to many different beaches and Kiawah Island is DEFINITELY our favorite! It is absolutely beautiful. We love hopping on our bikes in the morning and evening to explore the many bike paths. The beach is very quiet and peaceful. We have stayed in different places depending on the number of people traveling with us. The one-bedroom condos are perfect for two of us, while the Oceanwood Cottages work well when the whole family comes. We have been to Kiawah Island five times and plan to make many, many more trips!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank summertraveler19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiawah Island
0.4 mi away
The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort
3.1 mi away
Andell Inn
Andell Inn
#2 of 3 in Kiawah Island
4.5 of 5 stars 357 reviews
9.9 mi away
Tides Folly Beach
Tides Folly Beach
#1 of 1 in Folly Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
French Quarter Inn
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 2,475 reviews
22.0 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#2 of 5 in Isle of Palms
3.5 of 5 stars 158 reviews
16.0 mi away
Market Pavilion Hotel
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiawah Island Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiawah Island Golf Resort

Property: Kiawah Island Golf Resort
Address: 1 Sanctuary Beach Dr, Kiawah Island, SC 29455-5434
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Kiawah Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kiawah Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kiawah Island Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 580
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 21-miles south of beautiful and historic Charleston, South Carolina, Kiawah Island Golf Resort offers an unmatched golf experience with a unique combination of distinctive golf courses, a spectacularly beautiful natural setting, luxurious resort amenities and gracious hospitality. Selected as the best golf resort in the U.S. in Golf World magazine's "Readers' Choice Awards" survey, the resort staff is totally committed to the game of golf and those who play it at every level. Kiawah Island Golf Resort possesses an esteemed golf tradition flavored with the spirit of lively competition. Kiawah Island's championship resume includes the dramatic 1991 Ryder Cup, the 1997 and 2003 World Cups, the 2005 PGA Professional National Championship, the 2007 Senior PGA Championship and the prestigious 2012 PGA Championship won in commanding fashion by Rory McIlroy. It has also been named the site of the 2021 PGA Championship. The resort offers five distinctive, world-class golf courses designed by Pete Dye, Jack Nicklaus, Tom Fazio, Gary Player and Clyde Johnston. Using the island's magnificent setting of rolling sand dunes, expansive saltwater marshes and quiet maritime forests, each architect has created a unique expression of golf's varied challenges and rewards. The resort has received an impressive array of rankings in various magazine readers' polls proving that service is still king on Kiawah Island including being named the No. 1 island in North American Island & No. 2 island in the world in the latest Conde Nast Traveler's annual Readers' Choice Awards With 10 miles of stunning shoreline and an unmatched golf experience, Kiawah Island Golf Resort is one of America's top vacation destinations. In addition to the five championship golf courses, two tennis centers, it is known as one of the top eco-friendly resorts in the U.S. and has a world-renowned recreation and nature program With close to 600 villas and luxury homes and the Forbes Five Star/AAA Five Diamond, 255-room oceanfront hotel and spa, The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island Golf Resort, the resort offers a wide variety of accommodation options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotel.de and Hotels.com so you can book your Kiawah Island Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiawah Island Golf Hotel Kiawah Island
Kiawah Island Resort
Kiawah Island Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing