We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beaches + bike riding = perfect vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kiawah Island Golf Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kiawah Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We have been to many different beaches and Kiawah Island is DEFINITELY our favorite! It is absolutely beautiful. We love hopping on our bikes in the morning and evening to explore the many bike paths. The beach is very quiet and peaceful. We have stayed in different places depending on the number of people traveling with us. The one-bedroom condos are perfect for two of us, while the Oceanwood Cottages work well when the whole family comes. We have been to Kiawah Island five times and plan to make many, many more trips!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank summertraveler19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (491)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 491 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Spent 6 days in the premium villas scenic view ;(park side ) . The rooms are average though location is great. Found a spider and a roach in living room but since its South Carolina I guess it's unavoidable. The room service for towels and linen leaves much improvement . The pools are crowded of course it's summer , the adult pool is small and not so great . The trails and the beach bike rides are great and enjoyable. It's a great place with family but a poor choice for adventurous couples!. The mingo point oyster roast is poorly managed and had to spend an hour waiting for the cash register line to move. The quality of food was above average 3.5/5. And 1/5 for vegetarians. Recommend staying in the sanctuary if you want privacy and good service

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cypans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

East beach villas. Windswept unit 4331. Extremely clean. Small kitchen, large living area, small one bedroom w king bed. Nice roomy bathroom. Seems to be redone recently, from furnishings to cabinetry etc. very small balcony fitting barely 2 chairs and table. Top floor end unit, very quiet. View of beach (probably 50 yards away) from balcony, living area, and bedroom. Literally two minute walk to beach (via boardwalk). I'm on company money this trip! : ) but it seems a good value for the area. Wireless but it's slow. Very close to the Market, get sandwiches wraps snacks beer/wine soups souvenirs.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aloha200903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Last minute we decided to extend our vacation and incorporate a stop at Kiawah Island and while it has been on our 'go to' list for years, this is our first visit. We were more than pleasantly surprised! The island is gorgeous with lush tropical plants and trees and is beautifully maintained. We stayed in a premier villa - Seacape - and with these being the high end of the villa rentals, we would highly recommend. It was very well maintained and very new, clean and modern. We could walk to the beach and my husband enjoyed two great rounds of golf on the pristine courses. Don't miss out on doing a bike ride around the island. Also, for a great meal, don't miss Cherrywood BBQ for a casual dinner, and Atlantic Room for a special dinner night. Both offered great food, service and views. Even if you don't play golf, you should take the drive down to the Ocean Course at the end of the island as the views won't disappoint. The whole experience was top notch, with service being excellent!

Room Tip: Of the three levels of villas, we highly recommend the Premier villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JH3970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

If you want luxury at it's best you need to stay at The Sanctuary! The accommodations are first class and so is the staff. Beautiful rooms and great food all under one roof. I highly recommend this for a romantic getaway!

Room Tip: Garden view room is probably quieter if there are a lot of activities such as weddings or other even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I think the bulk of reviews are quite accurate. It is expensive. (They nickle and dime everything here. I mean toast is $4. You could buy multiple loaves for this price. Come on Kiawah, lower those food prices.. a bit outrageous! I think they need to provide more free activities included in the price, for the rate they charge). That being said, it was marvelous!

Not only are the accomodations at The Sanctuary and landscape gorgeous, but the beach was everything you could want in a beach. Spotlessly clean (I mean even any sea junk), Chairs, towels, water and beach umbrellas are set up for you on the beach. There is flat wet sand for building sand castles.

And the pools.... there is an adult pool, family pool, tiny tots pool that is only 1 foot deep, and a super fun kiddie pool with activities in it.

It is worth the price. So wonderful we considered extending our vacation.

Room Tip: Splurge on the ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank starlight1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

10th stay here, as always, it was fantastic. Accommodations, service and the beauty of the Hotel brings us back year after year. Golf is great, my wife likes the beach and pool and after a round at the Ocean course, meets me for drinks afterward at the Ryder Cup bar located there. Probably the best setting for drinks or light dinner anywhere. Other golf courses are great as well. Pricey...yes, but given the setting, the hotel is worth it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bhawknine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiawah Island
0 mi away
The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort
3.3 mi away
Andell Inn
Andell Inn
#1 of 3 in Kiawah Island
473 reviews
9.6 mi away
Tides Folly Beach
Tides Folly Beach
#1 of 1 in Folly Beach
1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
French Quarter Inn
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 62 in Charleston
2,956 reviews
15.6 mi away
King Charles Inn
King Charles Inn
#18 of 62 in Charleston
2,888 reviews
15.5 mi away
Belmond Charleston Place
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 62 in Charleston
3,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiawah Island Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiawah Island Golf Resort

Address: 1 Sanctuary Beach Dr, Kiawah Island, SC 29455-5434
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Kiawah Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kiawah Island
Price Range: $182 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kiawah Island Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 580
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 21-miles south of beautiful and historic Charleston, South Carolina, Kiawah Island Golf Resort offers an unmatched golf experience with a unique combination of distinctive golf courses, a spectacularly beautiful natural setting, luxurious resort amenities and gracious hospitality. Selected as the best golf resort in the U.S. in Golf World magazine's "Readers' Choice Awards" survey, the resort staff is totally committed to the game of golf and those who play it at every level. Kiawah Island Golf Resort possesses an esteemed golf tradition flavored with the spirit of lively competition. Kiawah Island's championship resume includes the dramatic 1991 Ryder Cup, the 1997 and 2003 World Cups, the 2005 PGA Professional National Championship, the 2007 Senior PGA Championship and the prestigious 2012 PGA Championship won in commanding fashion by Rory McIlroy. It has also been named the site of the 2021 PGA Championship. The resort offers five distinctive, world-class golf courses designed by Pete Dye, Jack Nicklaus, Tom Fazio, Gary Player and Clyde Johnston. Using the island's magnificent setting of rolling sand dunes, expansive saltwater marshes and quiet maritime forests, each architect has created a unique expression of golf's varied challenges and rewards. The resort has received an impressive array of rankings in various magazine readers' polls proving that service is still king on Kiawah Island including being named the No. 1 island in North American Island & No. 2 island in the world in the latest Conde Nast Traveler's annual Readers' Choice Awards With 10 miles of stunning shoreline and an unmatched golf experience, Kiawah Island Golf Resort is one of America's top vacation destinations. In addition to the five championship golf courses, two tennis centers, it is known as one of the top eco-friendly resorts in the U.S. and has a world-renowned recreation and nature program With close to 600 villas and luxury homes and the Forbes Five Star/AAA Five Diamond, 255-room oceanfront hotel and spa, The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island Golf Resort, the resort offers a wide variety of accommodation options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Kiawah Island Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiawah Island Golf Hotel Kiawah Island
Kiawah Island Resort
Kiawah Island Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing