We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beyond perfect Honeymoon!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kiawah Island Golf Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kiawah Island
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A beyond perfect Honeymoon!”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

My husband and I spent 3 nights at The Sanctuary for our Honeymoon. The staff was courteous and treated us like royalty the entire time. From the food, to the spa, to the rooms, everything was perfection. The highlight was dinner at the Atlantic room. We ate at sunset and were seated at one of the "couch tables" which was incredibly romantic. Our server was wonderful; polite, conversational, attentive and considerate. He made us feel like the only diners in the restaurant! Brunch at The Jasmine Porch is a must do - and Tomasso was great (we needed a night off from seafood!) Of course, The Ocean Room and Ryder Cup Bar was awesome - PGA Championship prep is already underway and very exciting to see first-hand. We were so happy with our stay and can't wait to return for special occasions to come!

Room Tip: We had a room with an ocean view that was spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMill18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    78
    44
    28
    21
See reviews for
174
137
6
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amarillo, Texas
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2012

After several days in Charleston, my wife and I spent a couple of days at the Sanctuary. From the time we arrived to the time we left, our experience was unbelievable. The hotel was beautiful, the staff were very friendly and courteous, the rooms were very nice and comfortable, the food was marvelous, and the beach was wonderful. We have been to many resort hotels, but the Sanctuary tops them all. Perfection!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

My wife and I are well travelled and have stayed in many fine hotels and resorts. This ranks with the best of them. The service is positively amazing - among the best we have experienced. The staff is welcoming and helpful - with a real and genuine sense of southern hospitality. The beach is great for families and bike riding (it is hard packed for the most part). The water is terrific and service on the beach is excellent. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The towels and linens are superb. The food is first class in every way. We will make it a point to return.

Room Tip: I recommend a west facing room overlooking the pool, 3rd floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Just spent eight wonderful days with our family in a private home rented through Kiawah Island Golf Resort.

The house was perfect for our family of eight and the resort was so accommodating, even giving us early check in.

The new water park at Night Heron Pool thrilled our two young granddaughter and is a great addition to all the many things to do on the island.

Tomasso's Restaurant at Turtle Point Golf Club serves great food in whatever atmosphere, formal or informal, you prefer.

Again, a very special week in a beautiful resort.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We stayed at the Sanctuary for our wedding anniversary. It was the most romantic and wonderful experience we have had in a long time. When we arrived there was a heart on the bed made of rose petals, champagne and the of course the wonderful view of Kiawah beach. We got to have breakfast on the terrace balcony overlooking the beach and diner under the stars. The staff were welcoming and seemed to guess all our needs. The food was amazing and all of it was included in price. We had travelled from London to New York and then to Charleston so we needed some rest and relaxation and this was the perfect place. Thanks again to the staff. We absolutely reccomend it.

Room Tip: Room 575 is the best room as far as we are concerned...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cafe884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Loved our visit to the Sanctuar. Great service and it is a beautiful Hotel. Staff is incredible. My husband has stayed many times and always is impressed with this property. It was my first visit and I loved it! The location being close to Charleston is fanatastic. Can't say enough about the pleasant experience. We travel all around the South and this is the best property that we have stayed at.

Room Tip: We had Ocean Front which we really enjoyed. Easy to get to beach and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amberredford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2012

There is no place I have ever been that compares to the Kiawah Island Golf Resort and The Sanctuary Hotel. The service and accomodations are unmatched. The entire staff are incredibly friendly and helpful and the accomodations are second to none. This was my fourth trip to the resort and once again it didn't disappoint. The food at the resort was incredible and the golf courses were in absolute perfect condition. My wife and I both commented after we got back that our stay at the resort was better than our trip to Hawaii last year. And what I can tell you is that this has been the way it is since I started coming to the resort. Nothing ever changes. It is a wonderful place to stay and Charleston is a great town for history and dining as well. We hope to be back very soon.

Room Tip: Spend the money and get an ocean front room. It was well worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiawah Island
0.1 mi away
The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort
3.2 mi away
Andell Inn
Andell Inn
#1 of 3 in Kiawah Island
440 reviews
9.7 mi away
Tides Folly Beach
Tides Folly Beach
#1 of 1 in Folly Beach
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Belmond Charleston Place
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 62 in Charleston
3,145 reviews
15.7 mi away
French Quarter Inn
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 62 in Charleston
2,827 reviews
15.7 mi away
Market Pavilion Hotel
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 62 in Charleston
1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiawah Island Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiawah Island Golf Resort

Property: Kiawah Island Golf Resort
Address: 1 Sanctuary Beach Dr, Kiawah Island, SC 29455-5434
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Kiawah Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kiawah Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kiawah Island Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 580
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 21-miles south of beautiful and historic Charleston, South Carolina, Kiawah Island Golf Resort offers an unmatched golf experience with a unique combination of distinctive golf courses, a spectacularly beautiful natural setting, luxurious resort amenities and gracious hospitality. Selected as the best golf resort in the U.S. in Golf World magazine's "Readers' Choice Awards" survey, the resort staff is totally committed to the game of golf and those who play it at every level. Kiawah Island Golf Resort possesses an esteemed golf tradition flavored with the spirit of lively competition. Kiawah Island's championship resume includes the dramatic 1991 Ryder Cup, the 1997 and 2003 World Cups, the 2005 PGA Professional National Championship, the 2007 Senior PGA Championship and the prestigious 2012 PGA Championship won in commanding fashion by Rory McIlroy. It has also been named the site of the 2021 PGA Championship. The resort offers five distinctive, world-class golf courses designed by Pete Dye, Jack Nicklaus, Tom Fazio, Gary Player and Clyde Johnston. Using the island's magnificent setting of rolling sand dunes, expansive saltwater marshes and quiet maritime forests, each architect has created a unique expression of golf's varied challenges and rewards. The resort has received an impressive array of rankings in various magazine readers' polls proving that service is still king on Kiawah Island including being named the No. 1 island in North American Island & No. 2 island in the world in the latest Conde Nast Traveler's annual Readers' Choice Awards With 10 miles of stunning shoreline and an unmatched golf experience, Kiawah Island Golf Resort is one of America's top vacation destinations. In addition to the five championship golf courses, two tennis centers, it is known as one of the top eco-friendly resorts in the U.S. and has a world-renowned recreation and nature program With close to 600 villas and luxury homes and the Forbes Five Star/AAA Five Diamond, 255-room oceanfront hotel and spa, The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island Golf Resort, the resort offers a wide variety of accommodation options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Kiawah Island Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiawah Island Golf Hotel Kiawah Island
Kiawah Island Resort
Kiawah Island Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing