We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Memorable 40th Wedding Anniversary!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kiawah Island Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kiawah Island Golf Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kiawah Island
Zionsville, Indiana
1 review
“Memorable 40th Wedding Anniversary!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2011

From the moment we arrived everyone was exceptional. Upon entering our room we had something special waiting for us because of our 40th Wedding Anniversary. I wouldn't want to spoil anything they might do for any future guests by describing the surprises but they were very thoughtful. The room was decorated beautifully and very spacious. Our view was wonderful. We did not have the highest price room so I can only imagine what more expensive rooms must be like. We chose this resort because of its proximity to Charleston for site seeing and also because of the golf courses on the island. We were very happy with our decision to stay outside Charleston even though we did go there almost everyday (only a 45 min drive). There is plenty to do at the resort from swimming to biking to golf to tennis. The weather was a little cool for us to swim but we did play golf. The courses were extremely well maintained. The hotel will take you anywhere on the island complimentary which is great. We enjoyed not only the restaurants at the hotel but also others on the island & at the golf courses. It was great to come back after a long day of site seeing and relax at the bar and listen to great piano music. This resort is beautiful and the staff was extremely helpful. We plan to return again.

Room Tip: I don't think there could be a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danielfstout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    72
    39
    27
    20
See reviews for
162
132
5
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Bedford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2011

Tips: Absolutely rent a villa through the Golf Resort because then you have access to the pools, bikes, all the resort facilities. We brought our children, ages 7, 10, 12. They loved the biking, the pool, the beach and seeing all the wildlife. I would recommend staying at East Beach and request the rentals closest to Night Heron pool (Windswept and Mariners) because we were just steps from both the pool and the beach. We also bought food for our villa at the Piggly Wiggly before we got to Kiawah so that we weren't spending so much money on food (there's a really great grocery store right as you enter the island, but it's super expensive). A lot of things were closed on the island in March, but we still had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aathef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2011

Stayed at Night Heron cottages, great for family, clean, well-kept, convenient to activities, beach, market. Allowed dogs, perfect for us. Would recommend and return.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brushtruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2011

We were there for only 2 nights, primarily for the opportunity to play the Ocean course. We stayed in the villas which were quite comfortable and provided a more laid back atmosphere. Food on the island was excellent. Golf was terrific. Courses were in excellent shape and a real challenge. Everything we could have hoped for. I strongly recommend it. While we didn't have family with us, it seems as though there are plenty of activities for families and Charleston is nearby. Comments below are about the Villas where we stayed; the Sanctuary Hotel seemed elegant and high end.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bjb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2011

We are frequent travelers who have stayed in all types of hotels, from the low end to the very high end to timeshare locations. This is hands down one of the very best experiences I have ever had. The rooms were immaculate, the hotel was relaxing, but upscale. We traveled with our three children (aged 6, 2 and 4 months). While I wouldn't call this a kids resort (in off - season, might be different in-season), the staff was attentive and understanding. Overall, I have no complaints. The beach was wonderful, the indoor pool was clean and warm, and the restaurants were top notch (food, service, atmosphere). I can't wait to go back -- both with kids and without.

Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank lilyizsop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2011

Outstanding! I'd recommend to all military. They offer a military discount certain times of the year. Great for families...we had 2 adults and 3 children (2 of them teenagers) comfortably in the same room. Indoor pool and fitness center were great. HIGHLY recommend renting bikes and riding on the beach (lots of shells, birds, and fresh air)! The island bike paths are flat (no hills for the kids), shady, and lots to see (lakes, alligators, 3-story viewing tower). For less expensive eating, recommend the Market and bring-your-own breakfast. Hotel can give you a refridgerator. Truly 5 stars!

Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank dantoni98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Sanctuary for our 30th anniversary. The weather was horrible but we had a wonderful experience anyway. The staff upgraded us to an ocean front room. It was lovely and had all the amenities one could want. Reminded me of the Four Seasons. The manager sent a bottle of champayne to us and wished us a happy anniversary. The hotel is very beautiful and sits right on the beach. They have a nice spa, work out facility, both an indoor and outdoor pool(s). The room in which the indoor was, was heated. The staff were friendly, helpful and seemed to know our names whenever we walked by. The dinner at the Ocean Room(?) was very good. The bar area was beautiful with a big roaring fire in the fireplace. We had cocktails there prior to dinner at their classy restaurant.
The island itself is very unusual with allegators, exotic birds, many nature trails, trees, exotic plants and of course, the atlantic ocean. We rented bikes for a day and road around the island. It's almost completely flat and easy to ride around.
We could use our room keys as a credit card at all the island restaurants, shops, etc. This made it easy.
Can't say enough about how gracious and friendly the staff was...We will definitely come again and would recommend this hotel to anyone who appreciates such attentiveness and beauty.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tanner1Georgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiawah Island
Andell Inn
#1 of 3 in Kiawah Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Tides Folly Beach
#1 of 1 in Folly Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,689 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiawah Island Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiawah Island Golf Resort

Property: Kiawah Island Golf Resort
Address: 1 Sanctuary Beach Dr, Kiawah Island, SC 29455-5434
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Kiawah Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kiawah Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kiawah Island Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 580
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 21-miles south of beautiful and historic Charleston, South Carolina, Kiawah Island Golf Resort offers an unmatched golf experience with a unique combination of distinctive golf courses, a spectacularly beautiful natural setting, luxurious resort amenities and gracious hospitality. Selected as the best golf resort in the U.S. in Golf World magazine's "Readers' Choice Awards" survey, the resort staff is totally committed to the game of golf and those who play it at every level. Kiawah Island Golf Resort possesses an esteemed golf tradition flavored with the spirit of lively competition. Kiawah Island's championship resume includes the dramatic 1991 Ryder Cup, the 1997 and 2003 World Cups, the 2005 PGA Professional National Championship, the 2007 Senior PGA Championship and the prestigious 2012 PGA Championship won in commanding fashion by Rory McIlroy. It has also been named the site of the 2021 PGA Championship. The resort offers five distinctive, world-class golf courses designed by Pete Dye, Jack Nicklaus, Tom Fazio, Gary Player and Clyde Johnston. Using the island's magnificent setting of rolling sand dunes, expansive saltwater marshes and quiet maritime forests, each architect has created a unique expression of golf's varied challenges and rewards. The resort has received an impressive array of rankings in various magazine readers' polls proving that service is still king on Kiawah Island including being named the No. 1 island in North American Island & No. 2 island in the world in the latest Conde Nast Traveler's annual Readers' Choice Awards With 10 miles of stunning shoreline and an unmatched golf experience, Kiawah Island Golf Resort is one of America's top vacation destinations. In addition to the five championship golf courses, two tennis centers, it is known as one of the top eco-friendly resorts in the U.S. and has a world-renowned recreation and nature program With close to 600 villas and luxury homes and the Forbes Five Star/AAA Five Diamond, 255-room oceanfront hotel and spa, The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island Golf Resort, the resort offers a wide variety of accommodation options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Kiawah Island Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiawah Island Golf Hotel Kiawah Island
Kiawah Island Resort
Kiawah Island Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing