We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place”
Review of Assiniboine Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Assiniboine Provincial Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Assiniboine Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2009

We stayed at the lodge August 23rd for 3 nights. The minute I stepped off the helicopter I knew this was a special place. We stayed in a lodge room (Glacier Lily) which was small with a double bed but was adequate for the two of us. The room was clean and there was a hot/cold water sink outside our room and a shower and flush toilet downstairs. However, the next time I visit, I will stay in one of the cabins as they are much bigger and the views from the porch are incredible. The lodge rooms can be a little noisy as the walls are very very thin. Most of the lodge guests were sleeping by 10am and up by 7am for breakfast at 8am. The cabins have only cold running water and a walk to the central shower house which was spotless and a separate outhouse. The weather was perfect, the food and staff were excellent. We went on two easy/moderate hikes with the same guide on both days. We hiked to Wonder Pass and view and the next day hiked to Nublet and around Elizabeth Lake. We had an opportunity to speak with Sepp and he said that the lodge will close for the 2011 season for renovation (logs rotting) and reopen in 2012 with electricity. They were building a hydro plant near the lake when we were there. I'm not sure I agree with putting in electric as this is supposed to be a backcountry lodge and it might take away from the charm. Overall we had a wonderful time and plan to return. If you have any questions, please contact me.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank decoydonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 75 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2009

We were unable to book into the lodge but booked into the huts nearby. It was truly a memorable experience. The accomodation is rustic, like going back to another era. The view from the lodge deck is of Mount Assiniboine. The casual atmosphere in the lodge encourages all visitors to meet and socialize. Talk centres around hiking and wildlife sightings of the day. Although we did our own cooking in the huts, the cookhouse was well equipped, clean, well maintained with large pine tables and a great place to meet fellow hikers. Joe, the resident caretaker, is around frequently to answer questions and address any problems. We went for "tea" at the lodge each day while visiting, The lodge offers tea or lemonade (but not coffee) and cake plus beer or wine from 4:00-5:00 PM. You can also purchase bottles of wine to accompany your camp dinner. Prices are high, similar to buying at a restaurant, but saves you from carrying in heavy bottles if you are hiking in. If you stay in the huts, I would suggest bringing a battery operated lantern. The huts are very dark inside, even in the daytime. Some of the huts have overhangs on the porches to protect from the rain, but the one we stayed in did not. During the rain, it would have been great to go into the hut to play cards, but it was too dark to see. The cookhouse was packed with a large group who were hosting a birthday party and it made it difficult to enjoy our game. There was a wood burn stove in the huts and you can buy logs from the lodge to warm up the hut. Please know that the huts sleep 8 people so you never know who you will be sleeping with. After 3 nights in the hut, we went to the campground and I would recommend this. The sites are widely spaced, with plenty of space for each site. The newly constructed cook shelter made of large wood timbers is constructed as in earlier days. It was easy to find a site near an outhouse, water tap and the cook shelter. Many of the sites had terrific mountain views. The campground is about 2 kilometres from the lodge and there are 2 routes to get to it. We took the helicopter in and out and things were well organized with little waiting around to catch your flight. If you prefer to hike out, the helicopter can take your stuff so that you hike with a lighter load. This is one of the best hiking experiences I have had. 3 outstanding hikes in 3 days with plenty of options for the hard core hiker or the person who prefers a short walk. The staff at the lodge are helpful and greet all visitors as though they are an old friend.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KatydidCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2009

Assiniboine Lodge is amazing…it is really hard to describe.

We just returned from a 2 week vacation in the Canadian Rockies, and this was the “high point” in the stay.

We’ve done a lot of hike-in lodges (you can actually helicopter into this lodge as well), and this is head-and-shoulders above the rest.

Location, staff, food, Location, rooms, atmosphere…and of course, Location!!!

We like to travel (a lot), but if there was one place I’ll go “again and again” it will be Assiniboine Lodge.

Beauty Beyond Description

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2009

The food were mediocre and salty. The rate per day is expensive for what they offered. Will not recommend to others.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank sheep20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2008

My wife and I just returned from our stay at Mt. Assiniboine Lodge and we were just blown away! Everything concerning our trip was just fantastic. Our stay was for 5 days and 4 nights. Luckily, we had nothing but glorious sunshine. We were fortunate to get the best cabin on the property, Mt. Assiniboine cabin. It comes with the most stunning views of Mt. Assiniboine along with many other peaks.

The cabins are very clean and come with running cold water. A bucket of hot water is delivered to your front door every morning for freshening up. Showers are in the main lodge and in the shower house. The folks in the cabins also share some of the cleanest outhouses around. There are about 5 cabins that sleep from 2 to 5. There are also a number of lodge rooms that we did not get to see, but we heard they were very nice as well.

Meals (breakfast and dinner) are served family style in the lodge dining room and are wonderfully prepared and plentiful. After breakfast you make your own lunch from a spread laid out by the staff and includes an assortment of fresh homemade breads.

We went on a number of hikes (both led by a guide and some on our own). They normally offer one easy guided hike and a more challenging one. The pace that is set by the guides was perfect and left no one behind. And of course the scenery is absolutely stunning. Everywhere you turn there's another stunning panorama.

Most folks fly in via helicopter although the heartiest hike in the 15 or so miles it takes to get there by foot. No car access. If you fly in, there are 2 choices of where to fly in from. Canmore and Mount Shark. The first flight in for the day and the last flight out use Canmore Heliport as that's where the helicopters are stored. All the others use Mount Shark. If you're in Banff or Canmore, choose the Canmore location and you'll save a 40 kilometer drive from Canmore to Mt. Shark.

It's not cheap, but if you're looking for the vacation of a lifetime, love mountains and don't mind a more rustic atmosphere, this is the place. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank mountainnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2007

We stayed at Assiniboine, this Aug 2007. 2days. Cabins were better standard than expected 2adults,2 teenage kids sharing.clean comfortable, great food.great ambiance. communal dinin g rustic dining room and lounge. shower block and sauna were basic but clean. Outdoor outhouses take some getting used to, definately need a torch for these and getting around lodge at night.
Knowledgeable guides, great views of remote country outback.
2teenagers went on more difficult hike with guide whilst we went on easier hike. reccommend helicopter in as great aerial views.
Saw nissen huts whilst on hike looked grim as far as accomodation was concerned but didnt stay there.
Would we reccommend for outback experience? definitely!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sharmelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Portland
16
Reviewed November 21, 2005

I can't say enough --- scenery, staff, hiking, food were all tremendous. Some may think the sleeping accommodations are primitive, but they were comfortable.

Stayed: September 2005
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Assiniboine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Assiniboine Lodge

Address: 56 Lincoln Park, Mount Assiniboine Provincial Park, British Columbia T1W 2T8, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Mount Assiniboine Provincial Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Mount Assiniboine Provincial Park
Price Range: $128 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1928, Assiniboine Lodge was North America’s first backcountry ski lodge. Today it retains its rustic charm and welcoming spirit. Nestled at the base of iconic Mt. Assiniboine, the Lodge is surrounded by soaring peaks, alpine meadows filled with wildflowers, larch trees and turquoise lakes. Located 28 kilometers from the nearest road, it is a place of incredible peace…a place where we disconnect from the busy world and reconnect with nature, family and friends. Winter and summer we are passionate about sharing our mountain home with our guests! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mount Assiniboine Hotel Canmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing