We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning vistas, lots of different hikes, great food and fabulous hosts and staff keep you coming back for more!”
Review of Assiniboine Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Assiniboine Provincial Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Assiniboine Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning vistas, lots of different hikes, great food and fabulous hosts and staff keep you coming back for more!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My wife treated us to a weekend at Assiniboine lodge as an anniversary and early birthday present for me. I knew the area was excellent for great hikes and amazing views, but I was totally surprised by the excellent quality of the lodge and the amazing staff. Annique, Claude, Marie-Therese and the rest of the staff were just simply fabulous. Thank you so much for your very warm hospitality. You made us feel right at home the minute we landed at the helipad. From the helipad, we were given a quick tour of the lodge, shower/sauna, dining room, common room and of course the outhouse. We ate the lunch we had brought with us and went for a short hike. We made it to the Niblet and the wife made it to the Nublet before turning back due to the windy conditions above. The following day Marie-Therese was leading a group to the Niblet, Elizabeth lake, Chuck's ridge, Cerulean lake, Sunburst lake, Lake Magog and back to the lodge. Since the wife and I did part of the route already and I was still recovering from a surgery prior, we decided to take an easier route and met with the group along the way. The food for lunch and dinner were fabulous. Luckily, we had the hikes to burn off the calories. Here's an interesting tid bit. The lodge keeps two pigs during the spring, summer and fall season to eat the left-over food. What a clever idea! Although I don't know how that works with so many bears in the area. There's no internet or cellular service in the area, but there are electrical outlets in the lodge to charge up your camera batteries. If you are a light sleeper or honeymooning couple, opt for the cabins. The lodge rooms have very thin walls and you can hear everything. We had such a great time. The wife and I are definitely coming back. The friendliness and warm hospitality of the hosts and staff will keep you coming back for more.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rex O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    5
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
28
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed at Assiniboine Lodge in one of the lodge rooms from Aug11-14. We flew in from the Mt Shark helipad and were greeted at the lodge helipad by the very enthusiastic staff. The flights in are very well organized. There was a bit of confusion collecting our gear but once we realized that in order to balance the loads belongings didn't necessarily come in on the same flight as the passengers, we relaxed and enjoyed the scenery. We spent the first afternoon exploring the area by ourselves and came back to the lodge in time for an amazing dinner. Dietary needs (celiac and vegetarian) were accommodated with no reduction in the fabulousness of the meals. There is a very nice selection of wines for purchase with the each meal. After dinner the owner, Claude, welcomed us with his charming humour. He gave the Japanese tour guide time to translate for the group of Japanese tourists who were also at the lodge. The next day after a great hot breakfast we were told of a couple of hikes that Claude and Marie-Therese were going to lead - one more challenging than the other. Lunch supplies were laid out on the table so we could build our own bagged lunches before heading off on either a guided hike or by ourselves. We did a hike with Claude which was really fun. He took us into areas that we would not have been able to find by ourselves. He quickly determined what the capabilites of the group were and tailored the outing to us. He also changed the route once he realized that the weather looked like it was about to take a turn for the worse and the original plan was not safe. Getting wet was one thing but being on top of a mountain in a thunder storm was far too dangerous! The new route was just as good IMO. After our 20km hike we thoroughly enjoyed a beer/cider and hot shower/sauna before another delicious dinner. The next day was as wonderful as the first although we did a hike by ourselves because the hikes offered that day were into areas that we would be hiking in the next day. We opted to walk the 30 km back to the car the following day rather than take the helicopter. I'm glad we did it but it is not something I can really recommend. Once you get over Wonder Pass the remaining 25 km are pretty much in the trees. It is a tiny bit challenging dropping down to Marvel Lake but after that it just a slog.
The room we stayed in was clean and cozy with stunning views of the lake. There is an inside toilet in the lodge for night time use which was really appreciated. There was also hot water in the lodge and a couple of communal sinks. The newly built shower hut is very nice. 3 large shower rooms and a sauna are heaven after a hot day of hiking! All of the staff were super nice. They all truly seemed to enjoy each other's company and the company of the guests. The laughter coming from the kitchen while they were making meals and cleaning up after was delightful to hear.
I could go on and on about how much we enjoyed our short holiday to Mt Assiniboine ......

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnstoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Although my travels did not allow me to stay as a guest of Mt. Assiniboine Lodge, every day as visitors we were greeted with warm smiles, a place to sit, rest and relax and a variety of liquids to replenish our thirst.

The hospitality shown by Heather and others is worthy of Texas hospitality here in the states.

Hoping to return soon.
Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DallasRN_2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband and I just returned from 4 glorious nights at Mt. Assiniboine Lodge. The setting is spectacular, possible the most stunning in the world. The management and staff make you feel like family. Our thanks to Claude, Annique, Jose and Marie-Therese for making our stay exceptional!! The food was amazing and plentiful and the guided hiking trips were flexible and always led to breathtaking scenery. The weather is pleasantly cool for hiking and the meadows were in full bloom. Loved the helicopter ride in and out and didn't miss my iPhone or computer for a second!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeneCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff National Park, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We flew in just before Easter for 6 glorious days at Mt. Assiniboine Lodge. Our highlights were:

A beautiful and newly renovated lodge operated by a very enthusiastic, energetic and friendly team.
Wonderful and plentiful food served up in a very warm and pleasing atmosphere.
Daily guided ski outings with André and Claude to some fantastic locations, keeping us busy and safe for 5 days.
Spectacular scenery, whose main attraction is Mount Assiniboine with its ever changing moods and lighting. You'll have a hard time to stop staring at it and taking pictures!
A full moon and clear skies topped off a sensational week.

We're addicted!

Eva and Paul Sylvestre
Nature in Focus Hiking Co.
Banff

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulBanff_Alberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Mt. Assiniboine is a mountain paradise! I recently flew in with friends on a bluebird day. The fun began on our flight in...all we could see for miles and miles was snow capped mountains sparkling in the spring sunshine.When we landed and I stepped out of the chopper the beauty of the area took my breath away. We were immediately welcomed into our "home away from home" by our awesome hosts, Claude, Andre and Annick. The next 3 days we spent x-country skiing, snow-shoeing and playing outside in the spring sunshine. Late in the afternoon we headed back to the lodge for yummy snacks and a cold beer on the lodge porch with our hosts and the other guests. The food was scrumptious! In the evenings we played games and chatted by the fire until it was time to snuggle under our duvets in our cozy cabin. I was blown away by the variety of ski terrain and activities available at the lodge. As well as skiing, we snow showed, went for a moonlight ski, and some of the kids even went ice fishing. Thanks to our hosts and the lodge staff for making us all feel so welcome! I can't wait to go back with my whole family!

Room Tip: The newly renovated cabins are lovely - bright and sunny with big new windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Nothing can make you feel more healthy and alive than the crisp mountain air, stunning views, and friendly staff filling you up with gourmet food and drink after a day of exploring in the mountains and relaxing in the sauna.

The duvets are like warm clouds for peaceful sleep in the cozy cabins, the beef tenderloin was ridiculously tender and tasty and the mountain guides tailor to every level of adventure.

Stories of this remote backcountry location (accessible by 10 minute helicopter ride or 25 km hike/ski) and the deeply powerful energy there will stay with you forever.

Room Tip: Go for the cabins either for romance or a family trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChandraCrawford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Assiniboine Provincial Park
17.7 mi away
Kootenay Park Lodge
Kootenay Park Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kootenay National Park
64 reviews
20.6 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Kananaskis Lodge
Delta Hotels by Marriott Kananas...
#13 of 32 in Kananaskis Country
1,081 reviews
19.2 mi away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Silver Creek Lodge
Silver Creek Lodge
#11 of 28 in Canmore
517 reviews
17.4 mi away
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
13.7 mi away
Sunshine Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Assiniboine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Assiniboine Lodge

Property: Assiniboine Lodge
Address: 56 Lincoln Park, Mount Assiniboine Provincial Park, British Columbia T1W 2T8, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Mount Assiniboine Provincial Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Mount Assiniboine Provincial Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Assiniboine Lodge is Canada's first backcountry ski lodge that has kept its historic charm. It is set in a remote mountain setting amongst some of the world's most spectacular peaks. Mt. Assiniboine is the lodge's sentinel, watching over all who venture to this remarkable place. Known as the Matterhorn of the Canadian Rockies, Mt. Assiniboine is the highest point in the area. Whether you are skiing, snowshoeing, hiking, walking or simply taking in the majesty of this place, we will ensure your time here is a luxurious escape. No phones, no flat screens, no connectivity. Simply you and nature. We look forward to welcoming you to this magical place we are so lucky to call HOME!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mount Assiniboine Hotel Canmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing