We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Ultimate Rockies Get-away!”
Review of Assiniboine Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Assiniboine Provincial Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Assiniboine Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband and I just returned from 4 glorious nights at Mt. Assiniboine Lodge. The setting is spectacular, possible the most stunning in the world. The management and staff make you feel like family. Our thanks to Claude, Annique, Jose and Marie-Therese for making our stay exceptional!! The food was amazing and plentiful and the guided hiking trips were flexible and always led to breathtaking scenery. The weather is pleasantly cool for hiking and the meadows were in full bloom. Loved the helicopter ride in and out and didn't miss my iPhone or computer for a second!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NeneCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 75 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2013

We flew in just before Easter for 6 glorious days at Mt. Assiniboine Lodge. Our highlights were:

A beautiful and newly renovated lodge operated by a very enthusiastic, energetic and friendly team.
Wonderful and plentiful food served up in a very warm and pleasing atmosphere.
Daily guided ski outings with André and Claude to some fantastic locations, keeping us busy and safe for 5 days.
Spectacular scenery, whose main attraction is Mount Assiniboine with its ever changing moods and lighting. You'll have a hard time to stop staring at it and taking pictures!
A full moon and clear skies topped off a sensational week.

We're addicted!

Eva and Paul Sylvestre
Nature in Focus Hiking Co.
Banff

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulBanff_Alberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Mt. Assiniboine is a mountain paradise! I recently flew in with friends on a bluebird day. The fun began on our flight in...all we could see for miles and miles was snow capped mountains sparkling in the spring sunshine.When we landed and I stepped out of the chopper the beauty of the area took my breath away. We were immediately welcomed into our "home away from home" by our awesome hosts, Claude, Andre and Annick. The next 3 days we spent x-country skiing, snow-shoeing and playing outside in the spring sunshine. Late in the afternoon we headed back to the lodge for yummy snacks and a cold beer on the lodge porch with our hosts and the other guests. The food was scrumptious! In the evenings we played games and chatted by the fire until it was time to snuggle under our duvets in our cozy cabin. I was blown away by the variety of ski terrain and activities available at the lodge. As well as skiing, we snow showed, went for a moonlight ski, and some of the kids even went ice fishing. Thanks to our hosts and the lodge staff for making us all feel so welcome! I can't wait to go back with my whole family!

Room Tip: The newly renovated cabins are lovely - bright and sunny with big new windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Nothing can make you feel more healthy and alive than the crisp mountain air, stunning views, and friendly staff filling you up with gourmet food and drink after a day of exploring in the mountains and relaxing in the sauna.

The duvets are like warm clouds for peaceful sleep in the cozy cabins, the beef tenderloin was ridiculously tender and tasty and the mountain guides tailor to every level of adventure.

Stories of this remote backcountry location (accessible by 10 minute helicopter ride or 25 km hike/ski) and the deeply powerful energy there will stay with you forever.

Room Tip: Go for the cabins either for romance or a family trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChandraCrawford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Mt. Assiniboine Lodge is the perfect destination for cross- and back-country skiing. My husband and I spent a weekend here about a month ago - choppered in and out from Canmore - and we could not have had a better stay. The weather was lovely, about -4 to -10 C each day, and the fresh snow was beautiful. Powder skiing at its best.

We hadn't expected that each day would be fully guided, but it was. Claude & Andre and the staff at the lodge were great, tailoring each morning's or afternoon's ski to be exactly as we desired. The food was quite good, and the cabins are exceptionally comfortable. We stayed in the Cautley cabin, which is a little further away from other cabins, but it is the only queen bed on the premises (all others are double or twin).

This is a perfect resort for couples or families who like to ski. We can't wait to return in the summer or early fall to see this pristine, beautiful lodge in another season.

Room Tip: Cautley Cabin has a queen bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scout29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Our family of four wanted to celebrate winter over February break. The beauty of Mt. Assiniboine takes your breath away! A gem of a spot. And what an adventure! Short helicopter ride in (thrilling for our 10 and 13 year olds). Our very own log cabin. EXCELLENT FOOD and plenty of it. A sauna with perhaps the world's greatest view. Outhouses (there is a toilet in the main lodge when dining there).

What makes Assiniboine unique? You don't bring your cell phone or computer here. Instead, you take cross country ski treks (back country gear recommended, but we used regular cross country gear for our family, for the shorter excursions we planned), use avalanche peeps for the kids to find buried treasure (cookies!), do a gentle excursion to Baroness Lizzie Rummel's hut on Sunburst Lake, build snow forts and have snowball fights, or laze about the lodge one day playing cards and Settlers of Catan (we brought ours)--all while reconnecting to each other.

As breakfast and lunch are served family style, you also meet very interesting people who value Nature and getting away from it all.

The staff is personable and attentive. They have enough guides so that you only do treks at your comfort level, which I really appreciate! The main lodge has plenty of books about mountains and mountain culture, if you need a read while there.

We hope to go back many times to this wonderful spot. Eager to try it in the summertime.

Room Tip: Highly recommend the individual cabins. Really, they are only a two to four minute walk from the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Divanina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Just back from a few days at the newly renovated Assinibione Lodge. The heli flight in is spectacular, as is the lodge setting. The log lodge is a historic building with spacious communal dining room and lounge areas. Expect small bedrooms with thin walls in the lodge itself. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable and supplied with warm duvets. The price includes guided snowshoeing or ski tours designed for any skill level. No need to be an expert. The rolling subalpine meadows and alpine summits offer many possibilities and wonderful snow. The staff are knowledgable and gracious. The food is excellent and plentiful. There are hot showers and a sauna with a view of Wonder Peak. Be prepared for an outhouse; it is still the back country but Assiniboine Lodge and surrounds is some of the best back country Canada has to offer. I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Cabins are a bit more expensive but offer more privacy and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Willow740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Assiniboine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Assiniboine Lodge

Address: 56 Lincoln Park, Mount Assiniboine Provincial Park, British Columbia T1W 2T8, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Mount Assiniboine Provincial Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Mount Assiniboine Provincial Park
Price Range: $124 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Assiniboine Lodge is Canada's first backcountry ski lodge that has kept its historic charm. It is set in a remote mountain setting amongst some of the world's most spectacular peaks. Mt. Assiniboine is the lodge's sentinel, watching over all who venture to this remarkable place. Known as the Matterhorn of the Canadian Rockies, Mt. Assiniboine is the highest point in the area. Whether you are skiing, snowshoeing, hiking, walking or simply taking in the majesty of this place, we will ensure your time here is a luxurious escape. No phones, no flat screens, no connectivity. Simply you and nature. We look forward to welcoming you to this magical place we are so lucky to call HOME!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mount Assiniboine Hotel Canmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing