We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, Negative atmosphere”

Fischer's Sports Pub & Grill
Ranked #11 of 64 Restaurants in Johns Island
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Good for: Bar scene
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food, Negative atmosphere”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were told this was a small place with great food and it was definitely that. When we arrived for lunch there was only one other table seated and they left before we were served. As we were eating we noticed the coolers were covered in stickers, mostly political, that made it obvious the owners were rather conservative. I really enjoyed the food and we planned to go back the next day until a woman who said she used to be the owner came out of the kitchen and, as a commercial featuring President Obama came on the radio, she went on a brief rant telling him to 'shut up' and other comments I'd rather not share. My dining partner and I were a bit stunned. We finished our meal, paid the tab, and vacated the premises. The experience left us surprised and uncomfortable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank llmrrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    50
    12
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A tasty little pub! :-)”
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Fischers is a nice local pub with a nice atmosphere. It is nice to retreat from the tourist atmosphere and enjoy a nice home cooked sandwich. The patty melt I had was one of the best I ever eatin and it was nice to quench my thirst with some delicious sweet tea. Although one of the members of my party had a little hiccup with the waitress, I found her to be delightful.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carguy_z28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blythewood, South Carolina
Level Contributor
98 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Family Friendly bar and grill with good food and drink choices at a wonderful spot”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Start with the fried pickles or cheese sticks and you can't go wrong. The fried shrimp is awesome but the Fish Rueben was my favorite. The Patty Melt is also another personal favorite.

Tuesday nights are great at Bohicket for the food and fun for the kids. Get there early and eat to let kids have fun afterwards.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SCh2ofowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johns Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Favorite dining on the entire trip!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is the "Cheers" of Seabrook Island! Family run and such nice people. It is definitely a bar atmosphere, but causal is what we like! Priced well and friendly. Gotta get the chicken tenders or wings. Fantastic!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
107 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Felt like home”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

There are those little hole-in-the-walls that you are fortunate to experience on vacation and Fischer's is one of them. A fishing captain told us they had the best burger in town and they were spot on. WE had one of our better family meals here with our college aged boys who like no frills, just good quality food. Think you rneighborhood bar in a major city where the locals hang out. Not for a fancy meal by any means, but if you are looking for a good relaxed, ambiance, and a good platter of food, this is the place. Love they honor our servicemen and women with their stickers on the doors.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank wallpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fischer's Sports Pub & Grill also viewed

Seabrook Island, Coastal South Carolina
Johns Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Johns Island, Coastal South Carolina
Johns Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Fischer's Sports Pub & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing