We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Super Sandwiches !!”

The Southern General
Ranked #9 of 64 Restaurants in Johns Island
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar
Restaurant details
Lake City, Florida
Level Contributor
374 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Super Super Sandwiches !!”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We were looking for somewhere different to have a casual dinner while visiting my daughter in Charleston. They suggested the Southern general and we were all happy with the selection. I had the pot roast sandwich my wife had the shrimp, daughter had the bahn mi and they were all super. The service was also very good. They had lots of selections and I can't wait to go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelerkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    23
    7
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great to enjoy their food at Seanachai!”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Whenever we go to our favorite Iris pub, Seanachai, we order food from the Southern General. They deliver the food right to the bar for you. The food is innovative and tasty. You get to enjoy the food while listening to the great bands in the pub! Win-win!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trudymarylouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Found it by accident”
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

I went out looking for a quick meal. What if found had to be one of the best sandwich shops I have ever found. The menu starts on the left side with the staple sandwich menu, then look right and you will find their version. I had the remake of the Philly cheese. It was moist, tender and full of flavor.
I will return next time I'm there.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Petercrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
201 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great sandwiches”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Great sandwiches at very attractive prices. If you are going to the Irish Pub right down from them, they will deliver the food to you there. Works great!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Townhaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
1,073 reviews
674 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
“GREAT FIND”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We were looking for Mama Q's (now closed) and found the Southern General. Very polite and efficient wait staff. Nice menu with lots of choices. The Cubano sandwich and pulled pork sandwich are excellent. We also ordered fresh cut french fries and beer battered cheese curds, also excellent. A fresh homemade cucumber salad is served as a side with sandwiches. The salad has a uniquely southern flavor and is a refreshing addition.

All in all this is a great little restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chuck8700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Southern General also viewed

Johns Island, Coastal South Carolina
Johns Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Johns Island, Coastal South Carolina
Johns Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Southern General? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing