We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding southern meal”
Review of Crave

Crave
Ranked #12 of 64 Restaurants in Johns Island
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Outstanding southern meal”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Sweet tea was perfectly brewed and sweetened. Shrimp & grits and fried chicken sandwich were outstanding. Staff was very friendly. This place is a must if you're on your way in / out of Kiawah Island.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jandheather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    33
    8
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mentor
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Okay meal”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Have driven past this restaurant many times but never thought of going in because it looks like a shack. Don't let that fool you. It is a small restaurant so you might want to make reservations during the busy times. I am not a lover of some southern dishes so there wasn't a lot on the menu for me to choose. I had the pork schnitzel which came with collard greens (which weren't too bad) and succotash (not my favorite). My meal could be shared as the pork was huge. My husband had the seafood stew which had a ton of seafood and broth. Could have used some rice to go with it. We also shared the wedge salad which was a good size too. Service was fine. Probably won't go back because of the menu.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Saherk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seabrook Island, South Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“neighborhood gem”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

my wife and I have eaten at Crave many times,
The food is excellent and the service is friendly, prompt and helpful.
Michelle, the server, is the sweetest, kindest, hardest working server on the planet.
She always takes time to make us feel welcome when we enter Crave.
Part of our joy of going to Crave is our interaction with her
The chef is excellent and the food is consistently tasty and prepared to our liking

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seabrook Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It's never good when the waitress is complaining to another customer about her prior trip advisor review while not servicing you”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Gosh, the food was great. Really great. The young "single mom" waitress took at least 10 minutes complaining to another customer about her prior trip advisor review while ignoring me. I would have liked it if she'd offered dessert - instead We got it at counter on the way out to go. Also, when we came in, she asked if we had reservations, and she said, "the Only table I have is right there" - perhaps,she should soften her approach to those without reservations- honestly, I'm not out to get a single mom as she suggested that the prior person was- the fact is, this restaurant is great- I have a 2nd home at seabrook and want crave to stick around.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dmucac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland, Ohio
Level Contributor
114 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“You can't miss Crave when at Kiawah or Seabrook.”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Made a point of coming to Crave . The food is always Fantastic. The service is ALWAYS friendly, welcoming and at home". Michelle is the most nights and makes you feel one of the family. Crave would NOT be the same without her !!!
The specials are top shelf..but if one does not appeal to you, you can't go wrong with the seafood stew.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DJR534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crave also viewed

Johns Island, Coastal South Carolina
Johns Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Crave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing