We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food at a good price”
Review of Sunrise Bistro

Sunrise Bistro
Ranked #5 of 64 Restaurants in Johns Island
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $12
Cuisines: Contemporary, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: Since opening in 2009, Sunrise has been satisfying hungry passers-by with simple, comforting food made with care and without pretension - like mom might make. There are favorites for breakfast (until 11:30 a.M.) Like french toast, enchiladas rancheros, homemade bagels, open-faced omelets, and breakfast pizzas. If you find yourself near this corner of Johns Island, stop in - you'll leave well-fed.
Apex, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food at a good price”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

There are not many restaurants in this area, so was happy to find this great little place. Don't let the outside fool you - the food is homemade and fresh, almost gourmet, not a bunch of deep-fried stuff. The curry shrimp salad is the best shrimp salad I've had anywhere. The food prices are under $10 - not McDonald's cheap, but way better food. Atmosphere inside is relaxed with local art and a radio playing in the background. Had lunch there, but would like to try breakfast too. Be aware that they close at 2:30pm. May have trouble seating parties larger than 10. Will eat there again if we're in the area.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    56
    12
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kiawah Island, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Well run little place worth the visit”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Don't let the strip mall location fool you and try this place. Expanded menu is great for lunch and breakfast. Interesting items all run by a foodie young couple trying hard and doing a good job.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dale M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great find for breakfast and lunch!”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

This easy to miss spot is a real gem! Do not drive by and ignore like we first did!! Both breakfast and lunch were tasty and great value ($6.50 for full breakfast w french toast). The highlight for me though were the home made bagels. Crunchy outside and light and fluffy inside. Yummy! I had to take some home at the end of our stay at kiawah - they were that good! Oh and great coffee too! And friendly staff!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank colorado_visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Nice lunch-friendly service”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Had lunch here on a whim. Lots of local cars parked around so decided to stop. Had chicken salad wrap with potatoe salad. Both were homemade - fresh and tastey.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brown11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Solid Breakfast”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I had the breakfast burrito and it was as good or better than any I've had out west, The atmosphere is very laid back and we will return.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank I_L0ve_Travel_Too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunrise Bistro also viewed

Johns Island, Coastal South Carolina
Johns Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Johns Island, Coastal South Carolina
Johns Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Johns Island, Coastal South Carolina
Johns Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Sunrise Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing