We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great find for breakfast and lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sunrise Bistro

Sunrise Bistro
Ranked #5 of 65 Restaurants in Johns Island
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $12
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Since opening in 2009, Sunrise has been satisfying hungry passers-by with simple, comforting food made with care and without pretension - like mom might make. There are favorites for breakfast (until 11:30 a.M.) Like french toast, enchiladas rancheros, homemade bagels, open-faced omelets, and breakfast pizzas. If you find yourself near this corner of Johns Island, stop in - you'll leave well-fed.
Raleigh
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great find for breakfast and lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

This easy to miss spot is a real gem! Do not drive by and ignore like we first did!! Both breakfast and lunch were tasty and great value ($6.50 for full breakfast w french toast). The highlight for me though were the home made bagels. Crunchy outside and light and fluffy inside. Yummy! I had to take some home at the end of our stay at kiawah - they were that good! Oh and great coffee too! And friendly staff!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank colorado_visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    52
    12
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
184 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Nice lunch-friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Had lunch here on a whim. Lots of local cars parked around so decided to stop. Had chicken salad wrap with potatoe salad. Both were homemade - fresh and tastey.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brown11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Solid Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I had the breakfast burrito and it was as good or better than any I've had out west, The atmosphere is very laid back and we will return.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank I_L0ve_Travel_Too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good breakfast but limited veggie options”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

I've been here three times now to have breakfast/brunch. The waitstaff is very friendly and quick. The ambience is nothing special but this place claims that it is more about food than anything else. Plenty of options for the meat eaters but limited veggie options and probably one or two for the vegan crowds.
The breakfast food is good but doesn't compare to some other places in Charleston (Fat hen, the other John's island restaurant, for example). The pepper jack grits I ordered were average at best. The house potatoes were good but their veggie omelette was below par. What is more bothersome is the consistency of their food quality - the food tasted much better during my previous visit.
Overall a nice place to grab a bite if it's on your way but nothing special here to travel pretty deep into John's island for a weekend breakfast/brunch!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rargula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
178 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Value Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

Eggs, bacon, pepper jack grits and biscuits - oh my! A great value for breakfast where bagels, bread and biscuits are made in house. The biscuits were heavy for my taste, but the french toast stole the show. Light and fluffy. Eggs were perfectly cooked. Iced tea was delicious. Worth a stop if you are between Charleston and Kiawah Island.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacoba S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunrise Bistro also viewed

Johns Island, Coastal South Carolina
Johns Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Johns Island, Coastal South Carolina
Johns Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Sunrise Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing