We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View, Good Food”
Review of Red's Ice House

Red's Ice House
Ranked #18 of 64 Restaurants in Johns Island
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: This restaurant is on the approach to Seabrook Island, near Kiawah, South Carolina. A fun restaurant with great inexpensive food.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
74 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great View, Good Food”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stopped in with some friends after golf. Wonderful views of the marina and waterways. Fried shrimp and peel 'n eat shrimp were sweet and taste. Fried coating very lite letting the sweet fresh shrimp come through. Homemade potato chips nice and crunchy and cooked just right. Service very attentive and friendly. No draft beer, only bottled.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    117
    91
    32
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
76 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Excellent burger when you need a seafood break.!”
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

We both ordered burgers! I had the Palmetto burger..Angus beef, pimento cheese and fried green tomato ! Delish! Husband had the Red's signature burger and loved it. Gorgeous waterfront spot to sit outside away from all the hustle and bustle of Charleston (not that we didn't also love dining there). We stopped for lunch at 2:30 and we're both too full for dinner tonight.
Great food, location and service.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dinner with Sunset Included!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

From the front, you can't tell that anything is really happening in this place. But upon entering we realized we were right on the Marina and had a wonderful view of the sunset! Great family place, had a wonderful server Ashley. Looked like everyone from typical tourists in tees and shorts to families decked out in their Lily and preppy- chic wear. Food was decent , vibe was great with everyone hanging on the back patio waiting for that sunset. There was even a wonderful live acoustic singer ( Taylor Swift-ish) outside. We would go back again. I was with two 17 yr olds as we were on vacation after touring colleges. They thought it was fun too. Coconut shrimp was good and the turkey burger was huge. This was our first trip to Seabrook Island and Red's but we have no doubt we'll be back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelGirlPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
99 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Laid back”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Pretty laid back place with some decent food at reasonable prices. The drinks are not expensive and if the doors are open on the deck its a nice view down the river.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Goanywhere28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
103 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great for kids”
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Good value and great for kids. We sat inside (buggy outside) but the kids enjoyed running around outside and playing with other children while we waited for a table and while the adults finished. The kids meals are typical fare and come on frisbees. My grouper was a little fishy tasting but otherwise adult meals were good.
For Kiawah area dining it was a good value $50 for a family of 5 was a bargain. We would return! Sunset was pretty but spray your kids with bug spray!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HollidayE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red's Ice House also viewed

Johns Island, Coastal South Carolina
Johns Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
Johns Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Red's Ice House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing