We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a stop”
Review of Angel Oak Tree

Angel Oak Tree
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Worth a stop”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We have been coming to Seabrook Island for thirty years and always passed by the Angel Oak on the drive from US 17 to the Island. I always figured it was some tacky tourist trap

Last year we stopped for the first time and we were both glad we did. Simply put, the thing is astounding! Various sources state it is over 1500 years old and I sure believe it. This year we took the two daughters and four Grandkids to see the tree. Everyone was impressed. Neither time was it very crowded and there was sufficient parking for all the visitors that were there.

The gnarled limbs and wide spread reminded me I am not getting any younger. It does have copious leaves unlike my bald top.

Good place to visit and you can use the picnic tables to relax. No charge for the area but there is a gift shop where you can get various items.

This is a must see once or even twice.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank skibuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,546 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,106
    347
    75
    14
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cool tree!”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

You will not believe the size of this tree! Gift shop is limited and folks could be friendlier.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank susanissnoozin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Something to See”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

I wouldn't go far out of your way to see this massive tree, but if you're on your way to, say, Wadmalaw Island, it's definitely worth seeing. It's free and the facility has a nice little gift shop with photos of the tree (minus eighteen families milling around it, which is how your photos would look). Most people are probably there for 10-15 minutes, and I wouldn't plan to spend more time there. Oh, the bathroom is an outhouse, so just be aware of that.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sc
Level 6 Contributor
37 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“ancient tree over 1000 years old”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

John's Island is gorgeous, roads are typical picturesque southern and this site is no exception.Going back to town stop to eat at Wild Olive or the Fat Hen.

Helpful?
1 Thank rosiesc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kewaunee
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Angel Oak Tree”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

If you are in the Charleston area, please take the 10 minute drive and see one of the most amazing sights you will ever see. It's more than just an ancient tree. It's something so beautiful & hey it's free! Don't forget your camera! We got there 5 minutes after the gate closed but on our way back from Savannah we went back so we were able to walk underneath and look at it closely. We weren't sorry.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank KewauneeCindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angel Oak Tree also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Angel Oak Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing