We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now this is a gotta go to place”
Review of Fat Hen

Fat Hen
Ranked #2 of 64 Restaurants in Johns Island
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Chef Fred Neuville is excited to embark on his first solo venture. "With Fat Hen, I am striving to create a neighborhood restaurant with a relaxed atmosphere and signature French-inspired Southern cuisine," he says. "Johns Island is a fast-growing area and I believe island residents - along with others from around Charleston - will appreciate what we have to offer." Fat Hen's main dishes center around innovative French classics with Low country flourishes, sourced from the finest local produce farmers. The Braised Chicken features locally raised free-range chicken braised in red wine with rich bacon lardons, root vegetables & mushrooms. Fat Hen's Short Rib, a favorite signature dish among family and friends, is braised for hours in a rich veal broth.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Now this is a gotta go to place”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Got this tip from a friend so decided to try it out. The ambiance is very country and comfortable. I had the Sausage and French Toast Sandwich ( Excellent and unusual flavor combo) and my wife had the Chicken Pot Pie (also excellent). Make a reservation as it is crowded and the parking is tight and around the back of the restaurant as is the entry. Its a little tough to see the sign if your zooming down the road so keep your eye out. Charleston has many restaurants that serve excellent brunch's, in fact I think it is one of their best offerings. DON'T MISS THIS PLACE, its VERY GOOD, cant wait to go back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScottyGeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    636
    201
    48
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good low country French food”
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

This place was crazy busy, so we started off at the bar for a few drinks and then sat down at our table. Bartenders were great, very enjoyable and made good drinks. Our server was fun, but a little slow all night. Drinks got messed up, but overall a good experience. Food was terrific all around except for the crab soup. My wife and I have had better and for the price you hope for the best.
On another note, best fried green tomatoes I've ever had.
Want to go back for the Coca Cola cake, was way too full.

Helpful?
Thank Coffey070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food- more expensive ”
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

The food was good and the menu was diverse and interesting. Lots of neat things to choose from. Mimosas were a great touch to Sunday brunch. I felt the prices were a little steep for what you got. But overall it was a good experience and the food was well made. It is crowded and there is a long wait- at least on Sundays. If you don't have the time to wait, call ahead.

Helpful?
Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville CA
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Worth the drive out to St. Johns Island”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Great service and above average food. My husband especially enjoyed the Coq au Vin. I especially liked the fried green tomatoes.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank coastgal09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fat Hen”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Any visitor to Charleston should make the effort to get to the Fat Hen. Its well off the visitor beaten path out on Johns Island and its not all that well marked, but its worth the trip. Very relaxed setting and outstanding food. The service was remarkable, attentive and timely without interfering with our meal. Fat Hen might be inconveniently located, but you'll be glad you made the trip!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cubfan26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Hen also viewed

Johns Island, Coastal South Carolina
Johns Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Johns Island, Coastal South Carolina
Johns Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Fat Hen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing