We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Right on the beach, right in town

This is easy and convenient to get to, with easy parking and good handicap access. Ocean Boulevard... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
c5mjb
,
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Good Parking Location

This is a very good controlled parking location with easy access to the ocean front. Not a park in... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
DrJDM
,
Blacksburg, Virginia
Read all 374 reviews
  
Reviews (374)
Filter reviews
368 results
Traveler rating
236
101
18
5
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
236
101
18
5
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews changing rooms picnic tables great beach clean restrooms on duty rest rooms changing stalls food truck life guards an umbrella great facilities beach area great place to visit rent chairs folly beach off season long pier
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 368 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago

This is easy and convenient to get to, with easy parking and good handicap access. Ocean Boulevard is an easy walk from here, with some shopping and restaurants. It has changing rooms, picnicking and some playground features, outdoor showers to rinse off the salt and sand. And of course there's the beach, a vast expanse of clean sand with an endless view of the ocean, with ships on the horizon and shrimp boats closer to shore. Right nearby is a nice big fishing pier. There are no high-rise hotels in IOP to monopolize the skyline, so you have your proverbial panoramic views. It's a relaxing place to hang out with family and friends, and it stays open until 8 PM.

Thank c5mjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago

This is a very good controlled parking location with easy access to the ocean front. Not a park in the traditional sense of the word.

Thank DrJDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

For years we visited Isle of Palms. We loved the place. We were engaged there over 23 years ago. We have been back twice this year and it has really gone down hill. Beach access is easy and cheap due to the county parking lot. Public bathroom and changing facilities are available. Beach however is crowded and often a poor environment. Loud music and disruptive people both times. I won’t visit again.

Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2018 via mobile

I really wouldn’t call this a park but it is a great place to park and go to the beach. It does have a volleyball net and a little play area but that is as close as it gets to a park. Really nice place though and worth going there if you plan on doing stuff in the area. There is stores near by and restaurants so there is a lot of stuff to do in this area.

1  Thank bm_engineer86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2018

I was here back in August 2016 and just wanted to provide a short update. The lot, access and beach have not changed. It seemed that during the week, the lot was not full and the beach was less crowded. I stayed next door and was able to access the pier and the view of the beach shows its appeal. Nice county facility. A friend like to take his son here, it's their favorite beach.

Thank CaptainSPI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2018 via mobile

Great area! We stopped by to see the beach. Grabbed a bite to eat and enjoyed the waves. Also got to watch the sun set. Very pretty!

Thank tkdbati7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2018

If the parking isn't full, you don't pay much. There are cabanas for changing and showers for rinsing off. It's an easy way to the beach, but you can also park on the street and take many of the dozens of access paths between houses.

1  Thank BumblechickFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2018 via mobile

Who knew Charleston had such beautiful beaches? Very busy on the day we were there, but with good reason. Large beach area that was very well maintained and had a large Lifeguard presence. Nice sandy beach and warm water (85 degrees at the end of July). A great day had by all.

Thank WillyT61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2018

Get a membership or pay the 10 bucks and have a perfect day at the beach. You can't go wrong! The park has showers, covered patios, several outdoor changing rooms, lots of charcoal grills and the parking is easier.

1  Thank Timmer07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2018

This is my wife's favorite Charleston-area beach. It has restroom, lifeguards, and it's family-friendly.

1  Thank Aholiab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews