We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sun and Surf”

Isle of Palms County Park
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sun and Surf”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

this is a great beach location. there are showers, changing facilities, restrooms and limited food selections and during the peak season the beach is "guarded". there is also a small park with BBQ's and tables and two covered shaded setting for picnics. this is a great family beach and frequented by families. parking is $7/day. there are a few bars and restaurants a few blocks away. it's the perfect lowcountry location to go to the beach.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DANTXSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    91
    16
    4
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely Beach and Park”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

The park area was impressive. It had very nice restrooms, shower areas and walk way leading to the beach. It is well maintained. We were there during off season so there was not anyone even staffing the pay booth, and only 7 cars in the parking lot. I can only imagine it is packed in the summer. I would love to come back in the summer. But we had a beautiful, long walk on the beach. It is a pretty beach with hard packed sand. Easy for walking.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cherri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Love the Beach!”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I go to this beach and park all the time. It's not very touristy but there are plenty of people. In the off season, you can let the dogs off leash after 4. Every dog has been respectful and well behaved. Never a mishap. Also, people love to say hello to your dogs and will even invite them over to say hello. The pier is so fun to walk along and there is a lot of beach shopping. I go there most weekends to walk the dog and walk along side the ocean. You can also bring some loungers and an umbrella and relax for the day!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“A bit disappointing”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I had been to Beachwalker Park at Kiawah Island the day before and having been so impressed by its quality, decided to visit another Charleston area beach. There are a bunch of great beach shops around IOP Beach which Kiawah didn't have, as well as several snack shops. The beach wasn't as clean, but I still found it to be acceptable. The water was SO calm but not clear. As a result, I got very seriously stung by a jellyfish and wasa in a lot of pain. I spoke with someone who said they are bad that time of year but unfortunately, there were no signs alerting me (a tourist) to that hazard. The good news is the IOP Fire Departments offers jellyfish treatment to unlucky tourists like myself and they were so kind and wonderful and really helped turn the day around.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ebbie1081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Wind in your hair”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I feel this beach is one of the more under rated beaches on the eastern sea board of the US. By all means, I wouldn't compare it to places like, Panama City Fla, Clear water beach Fla, or even Daytona beach. But Isle of Palms is a little different. First off, there aren't your big time beach amusement parks like you would get in Myrtle Beach, its just the beach. But it does have something the other beaches don't offer....Downtown Historical "CHARLESTON". That in itself makes the journey to Isle of Palms beach all the worth wild. And its only about 25-30 minutes away. One thing I will say about the beach at Isle of palms, I do find accommodations to be slightly over priced. So make sure you try and plan to come during low season. There are rest rooms and changing rooms as well. (sm parking fee)Otherwise, sure come on down.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wayne117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isle of Palms County Park also viewed

Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
 
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Isle of Palms County Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing