We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient but basic”

Coconut Joe's Beach Grill
Ranked #11 of 37 Restaurants in Isle of Palms
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Description: Coconut Joe's is a family-friendly restaurant right on the beach. We have a wide range of entrees on our menu: burgers, seafood, Caribbean specialties, entree salads, wraps, and plenty of choices for the children. During the season, we have live music at our rooftop bar every night, and this is a fun place to be if there is a wait for your table. We offer call-ahead seating up to 45 minutes ahead of your anticipated arrival. During the cooler months, we offer a spectacular view, and a quieter environment to enjoy your meal.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This restaurant is located right on the beach and can be accessed from the beach. It offers basic fare but is a fun location from which to relax, watch the ocean and enjoy a fun drink or two!

Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marti M, Executive Director of Happiness at Coconut Joe's Beach Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We’re so happy that you had a good time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (938)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 938 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2018 via mobile

Service was great, food sucks! Couldn't even make a martini.My wife was sick after eating here, Don't waste your time...

1  Thank learjet1300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marti M, Executive Director of Happiness at Coconut Joe's Beach Grill, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2018

I have contacted this reviewer privately & will update when I get a response. We take food safety very seriously.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2018 via mobile

Glad we tried Coconut Joe's, the view is great but the food is even better. Get the grouper bites for an appetizer, so good and that dip is yummy. We didn't try anything we didn't like. Staff was awesome on both visits.

Thank Marsha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marti M, Executive Director of Happiness at Coconut Joe's Beach Grill, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2018

Thank you so much, Marsha! We are a local, family-owned business, and your satisfaction is so important to us. We really appreciate you taking the time to write such a great review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2018 via mobile

Stopped in around 3 pm after lunch crowd was gone. We were told the wait was 30 min. After an hour and 30min we finally got our food. The coconut hush puppies were awesome. Our meal was average. The restaurant offers a great view of the ocean.

Thank Gina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marti M, Executive Director of Happiness at Coconut Joe's Beach Grill, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2018

I have messaged this reviewer. I can’t imagine any situation in which the food would take that long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2018 via mobile

Had the fried pickles and Gumbolaya to start - both excellent. Ordered the Grouper and Spicy Shrimp - excellent.
Bacon Cheeseburger, asked for medium and advised all are cooked to the same color which apparently means over cooked and dried out, inedible. It shouldn’t be that difficult to cook a burger.
Mentioned to waiter and manager removed from bill which is a nice gesture but also meant that I didn’t have dinner. Learning how to cook a good burger shouldn’t be a challenge.

Thank GMen57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marti M, Executive Director of Happiness at Coconut Joe's Beach Grill, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2018

SMH. You had friendly service, a beautiful view, four food items that were excellent, and one item that you felt was over cooked, for which you were not charged. I’m also positive that we offered to get you something else. While I am sorry that you did not like your burger, I don’t understand why you would have rated us with two stars. That’s just unnecessarily mean.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coconut Joe's Beach Grill also viewed

Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
 
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
 
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Coconut Joe's Beach Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing