We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drinks in Flimsy Plastic Cups!!!”

Coconut Joe's Beach Grill
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating
Description: Coconut Joe's is a family-friendly restaurant right on the beach. We have a wide range of entrees on our menu: burgers, seafood, Caribbean specialties, entree salads, wraps, and plenty of choices for the children. During the season, we have live music at our rooftop bar every night, and this is a fun place to be if there is a wait for your table. We offer call-ahead seating up to 45 minutes ahead of your anticipated arrival. During the cooler months, we offer a spectacular view, and a quieter environment to enjoy your meal.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Drinks in Flimsy Plastic Cups!!!”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The food was okay, the atmosphere was okay but I was totally put off by the fact that all drinks were served in thin flimsy clearish white plastic cups. They weren't even up to red party cup standards! After a day at the beach we were looking forward to filling our bellies and relaxing with some ice cold drinks/beer. Not here, that was for sure. We asked for glasses and they said they did not carry glasses. Do you know how fast a beer gets warm in a dixie cup in August in the South??

It really is a shame because this place had potential otherwise.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tbelle71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marti M, Guest Relations Manager at Coconut Joe's Beach Grill, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Many of our customers come off the beach with bare feet; this is why we do not use any glasses. I'm sorry our plastic isn't classier! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    262
    177
    70
    65
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Very good food and service overlooking the beach! Gvie a discount after the first visit that saves on future visits for about a week!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Ok beach food”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Just a so so beach place with ok food and service. The view is awesome though and in the evening they have a live band which was pretty decent.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barb G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Mediocre Food, Terrible Service!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We went for early dinner - no wait and very few people. The view was nice, but the service was terrible!! Our server didn't know the menu or seem to care about serving us. She told me my dinner came with fried shrimp, when sauteed shrimp appeared, she seemed irritated that i would ask. She said she would be right back with fried shrimp but instead came back to say that the "kitchen manager" insisted that if i wanted fried shrimp, i would have to order a side of them. Get only comment was "sorry. I tried" i was truly shocked. The food (even if it had been right) was only mediocre. Fish was overcooked and sides were lukewarm and tasted canned. Good location but bad and overpriced food!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank constantraveler26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Great beach bar!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Good food and drinks with great live music! Listened to reggae on Sunday afternoon on the rooftop bar overloolking the beach goers flying kites and the surf. What a perfect day!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Traveling_S0L0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coconut Joe's Beach Grill also viewed

Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
 
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
 
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Coconut Joe's Beach Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing