We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most Improved Award!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Long Island Cafe

Long Island Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We serve the freshest seafood 7 days a week. Opened in 1986, locally owned and operated. lunch and dinner, Sunday brunch
Greenville
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Most Improved Award!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

We try to visit Isle of Palms at least once a year. Long Island Café had been a yearly stop. However, last year we had a terrible experience. Food was terrible, service was terrible. I'm sure a lot of it had to do with the fact that the local Piggly Wiggly next door was being demolished. We had decided to never go back. However, since we had so many great meals there, we decided to give it one more try and it's back at the top of our Isle of Palms stops. Food was great, service fantastic. We had swordfish with crab cakes along with grouper. The food was great, service fantastic...I already said that! Welcome back, Long Island Café!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BlessedTraveler00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    100
    15
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Local Gem of a Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Long Island Cafe is located next to Harris Teatter food store. It is located in a strip center and if you did not know about it you might easily miss it. The food was really good and the atmosphere was nice.
The waiter was great in telling us about the dessert menu. He made a Red Velvet cake that day and was sharing all the ingredients and how good it was going to taste. Our friends ordered a different dessert and he brought a piece of their choice for us to share and a piece of our red velvet for our friends to try.
Enjoyable experience. Would go there again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 360Ben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

Our family ate tonight at Long Island Cafe, and wow! what a great meal. The restaurant is situated in a small strip mall and could be easily overlooked. However, the meal was wonderful. Lots of fresh fish (the salmon was amazing) and locally grown veggies from sliced red tomatoes to roasted brussels sprouts, which were to die for! Our server was Dean who made wonderful recommendations, was personable and kind, and baked the most moist and delectable red velvet cake with raspberries I have ever had! Dinner was so great that we cancelled a reservation at another IOP restaurant for Wednesday night just so we could return to Long Island Cafe.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Don't be a snob! Food's great, location deceiving....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

A rainy day at the beach drove us to this convenient, albeit imperfect location for lunch. Once inside, white table cloths, nice looking bar, pleasant interior design. Service was efficient, food was tasty and prices were fair. Key lime pie rocked! Go. You won't be disappointed.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank caligal831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Very nice place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Awesome sandwiches. Homemade French fries was delicious. Great value for the amount of food. Be sure to take your appetite.

Helpful?
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Long Island Cafe also viewed

Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
 
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Long Island Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing