We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food”

Acme Lowcountry Kitchen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Acme Lowcountry Kitchen specializes in local seafood, if we cannot source it locally it is sourced off the East Coast of the USA! We do not serve seafood from any other area. We of course never serve any imported seafood. We truly believe in supporting American Fishermen and Shrimpers!
Elizabethton, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

My family and I ate twice during our recent stay in Wild Dunes. The food was very good and reasonably priced. The location is convenient to the pier/beach. The wait staff were very friendly. Good idea to make reservations. I do not like seafood but the chicken tacos were very tasty and their hamburgers are excellent. People in my party liked the flounder.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,590
    409
    120
    51
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vienna VA
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Best food in Isle of Palms. Period.”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Acme is the real deal. Succotash, fresh fish, shrimp dishes, sandwiches/burgers, fried green tomatoes -- keep it coming! The succotash is out of this world. The place is not fancy -- but has a lot of low country style and warmth. The executive chef is a guy that loves to cook and make people happy -- and his food speaks volumes. We return to Acme every year -- for dinner and at least once for breakfast (solid creative breakfasts of various omelets, egg dishes, biscuits,etc) -- and really enjoy the food and low country experience. Service is very good -- and kitchen moves it out. We went this year with a party of 8 --- 4 teenagers in tow. Something for everyone -- Hard not to enjoy Acme!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MJSKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Girlfriends Weekend”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

I was staying at IOP for a reunion with some wonderful girlfriends and we decided to stay close to home and dine at Acme Lowcountry Kitchen.
It was super busy and they don't take reservations the day of service so...we showed up and took our chances. By chance, the executive chef Frank was delivering food to the bar and he was kind enough to direct me to a back service bar where we could wait in comfort for our table.
We enjoyed a glass of wine near the kitchen and were soon at our corner booth.
My friend has special dietary needs and once again Chef Frank was kind enough to come by our table and review the gluten/ dairy free options.
I ordered seared scallops on pimento cheese grits with collard greens.
Oh, my heavens, it was perfect. Perfectly plated, perfectly prepared and perfectly portioned.
Our waitress was friendly and efficient and overall it was a divine dining experience.
Much success to Chef Frank and the staff, they deserve to ton it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“older central S. C. couple liked it”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

This is a VERY casual, unimpressive-looking dive-like place with VERY tasty, non-elegant food in large portions. "Big eaters" will not be disappointed! It is within walking distance of the Isle of Palms pier (but, we drive...plenty of parking behind it).

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank poptopEBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irmo, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth it!”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

My small party of three went for dinner one night last week based on a recommendation of a friend and it was delicious! 2 of my group had shrimp and grits and I had the seafood pasta. It was the best!. We were so full that we got dessert to go and ate it later back at the hotel. Best peanut butter pie ever! Do go if you get the chance. Would recommend that you call ahead for reservations!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SCGal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Acme Lowcountry Kitchen also viewed

Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
 
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
 
Sullivan's Island, Coastal South Carolina
Sullivan's Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Acme Lowcountry Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing