We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food. Great Atmosphere.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Acme Lowcountry Kitchen

Acme Lowcountry Kitchen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: Seafood, American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Acme Lowcountry Kitchen specializes in local seafood, if we cannot source it locally it is sourced off the East Coast of the USA! We do not serve seafood from any other area. We of course never serve any imported seafood. We truly believe in supporting American Fishermen and Shrimpers!
Dallas, Georgia
1 review
“Great Food. Great Atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

Acme Lowcountry Kitchen had first captured our eye buy the quaint appearance. This restaurant with it's friendly, laid-back, casual beach atmosphere also had incredible food. Starting with an appetizer of fried green tomatoes, to our main meal (I had shrimp and grits and my boyfriend had lobster tails) and finally peanut butter pie for dessert, the food was delicious and the best we had on our trip. Our waitress Wendy, was great at suggesting drinks and food and the whole staff was friendly and helpful. We enjoyed it so much that we returned the next day for breakfast! Can't wait to go back to the beach and also visit Acme Lowcountry Kitchen again!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dbranson5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby S, Owner at Acme Lowcountry Kitchen, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
So happy you and you boyfriend had a nice dinner at Acme and then came back for breakfast! I will pass along the good word to Wendy! Thanks so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,951 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,405
    364
    107
    50
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
cuckfield
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

Visiting the isle of palms for the first time from the UK, we were advised to eat at Acme. We were not disappointed, great food, I had the trio, fillet steak, lobster tails and lump crab cake, delicious. My wife had the shrimp special, she was particularly impressed with the grits.
Staff were super efficient and friendly, a very good experience.
Went back twice more and enjoyed it just as much.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bostongally1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby S, Owner at Acme Lowcountry Kitchen, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a nice review! Glad to hear you and your wife enjoyed Acme enough to visit three times. That is awesome! Thank you so much! Travel Safe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
248 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Good Choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

We ate at this restaurant once for dinner and once for breakfast during our last weeklong stay at the Isle of Palms. The food was tasty and reasonably priced both times. The once caution is that we encountered a fair amount of pepper in just about every dish at dinner, so if that is a problem for you, you may just want to skip lunch and dinner and just have breakfast here.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank 60742Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby S, Owner at Acme Lowcountry Kitchen, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Thank you so much for the kind words. Glad yall enjoyed everything. I will have to inquire with Chef about the pepper as this is something I have not heard in a long while. Thanks for bringing it to my attention! Travel Safe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbottstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Second visit was a must"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Stopped in for breakfast, we thought would be run of the mill, but we were pleasantly surprised by the not your ordinary menu. Grits to die for, filet mignon benedict w/ parmesan truffle homefries, really awesome. Petra was great, and showed us the dinner menu, Thought about it all day and planned on going back for dinner. Wendy was also wonderful and recommended the sheepshead w/ peaches and cream grits. AWESOME like eating whipped cream ! Can't wait till next spring to see whats on the menu then.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jjohn25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby S, Owner at Acme Lowcountry Kitchen, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Thank you so much for the kind words. Happy to hear you enjoyed breakfast and dinner with us! I will pass the good word on to Petra and Wendy! Thanks so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
57 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What a transformation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

We had not been here in years and went on the recommendation of friends. Dined on April 15 and were just blown away. The building itself is unassuming however the food is gourmet quality. Had their signature succotash with locally caught fresh fish; just delicious. I could have licked the bowl. Nice beer and wine selection as well. Our server, Shawna, was great and obviously enjoys working here. Would definitely return and a great place to bring out of towners.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CincinnatiLefty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby S, Owner at Acme Lowcountry Kitchen, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Thanks so much for the kind words. Yes we are a completely different restaurant from a few years ago. So glad you enjoy the changes! Glad you liked the succotash and beer and wine selection. Thanks So Much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Acme Lowcountry Kitchen also viewed

Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
 
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
 
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Acme Lowcountry Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing