We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shrimp and grits”

Acme Lowcountry Kitchen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Acme Lowcountry Kitchen specializes in local seafood, if we cannot source it locally it is sourced off the East Coast of the USA! We do not serve seafood from any other area. We of course never serve any imported seafood. We truly believe in supporting American Fishermen and Shrimpers!
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
1 review
“Shrimp and grits”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I was out on the IOP for business and decided to stop in for lunch.Great shrimp and grits. Thanks for the great service Nick.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Artie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby S, Owner at Acme Lowcountry Kitchen, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a pleasant review! Glad to hear you enjoyed the Shrimp and Grits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,569
    399
    118
    51
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome!!!”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

The wife and I dropped in on recommendation of the folks at the Palms Hotel.
We stayed in the area prior to a cruise. I'd been told by a friend here in Virginia about a different place in historic Charleston; the local lady said that place was good but "tourist food"- which is what I wanted to avoid.
Thank God we listened.
Acme might not look like anything special, but the service was awesome and then there's the FOOD! The wife needs a fried oyster fix every now and then, and was in heaven...I've heard of Low Country cuisine and had to find some.
I NOW LOVE LOW COUNTRY SHRIMP AND GRITS AND AM TELLING THE WORLD. . . . . .
Even the coleslaw was spot-on; not too creamy, sweet, or vinegary.
Just a great experience and a good time. We met a neat lady who dropped in for a lunch bite and came out having had great company to dine with....

I hope you get the impression we liked this place!!!!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roadroamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby S, Owner at Acme Lowcountry Kitchen, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to leave such a pleasant review! Glad to hear the hotel steered you to us. Great to hear you enjoyed the food and service. Glad your wife enjoyed the oysters!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Awesome Food From a Great Staff!”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

I met some peers here for a business/friend dinner. They were locals and wanted to eat here, which says a lot to begin with. Travel Rule #7: If you want good food, find out where the locals like to eat.

Anyway, the restaurant decor and ambiance is nice. Nothing outlandish, but nothing bland. The waitstaff is very nice, and the owner likes to come out and see how things are going.

You'll have a nice selection of fresh foods in gourmet and not-so-gourmet options, meaning that you can enjoy dining here no matter if you're a picky eater or just desire standar fare. I ate the "Knot Fried Chicken and Shrimp" which was...not fried. It was excellent, but I thought some fo the menu titles were a bit confusing. I know that Gordon Ramsey always begs restaurants to keep menus simple and easy to understand. It's not written in code or anything ... I just thought some of the titles were a bit of a stretch.

Anyway, the food was amazing. I had the vegetable of the day (Creamed Spinach, I think) and the mashed potatoes (Klondike Gold something or other). Everything tasted amazing.

It's so hard to pick places to eat in the Charleston/Isle of Palms/Sullivan's Island areas, as there are a ton of good eats out here; however, I can say without a doubt that you will do well to eat at least one of your meals out at Acme. If you are staying on the IOP, I'm sure you'll end up here a few times as your first time will probably keep you from straying to far on subsequent visits.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clkend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby S, Owner at Acme Lowcountry Kitchen, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to leave such a pleasant review! Happy to hear you enjoyed the food and the service. I will try to keep the names simple :) THANKS!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Don't miss this place”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Wife and I have been to many times. Food very fresh and an expansive menu. Covered outdoor seating too. Place is always busy no matter time of year/day. Great place for breakfast. Service is awesome...price $$-$$$. Nice bar also.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matte0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby S, Owner at Acme Lowcountry Kitchen, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review. Thanks so much. Glad to hear y'all enjoy the covered patio and we hope to one day soon have some outdoor seating. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanahan, South Carolina
1 review
“Our go to breakfast/brunch joint”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

You would never expect such great food from what appears to be a run down beach shack! This is our go to breakfast joint (this and Early Bird) and the food is always consistently great. We are huge fans of the benedict choices and our kids devour the pancakes. This last time we went our server was Petra and we could not have asked for better service. She timed everything perfectly and was extremely polite and happy! They can get very busy during weekend breakfast hours and dinner so plan to wait if you show up during the rush. Our one experience during dinner hours was less than pleasant but no complaints for the breakfast/brunch department. We have been visiting this place for years and will continue to do so.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby S, Owner at Acme Lowcountry Kitchen, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thanks so much for the nice review. Good to hear you enjoy Breakfast and Lunch at Acme. I will message you to hear about what happened during dinner service. Glad to hear Petra is doing such a good job. Thanks So Much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Acme Lowcountry Kitchen also viewed

Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
 
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
 
Sullivan's Island, Coastal South Carolina
Sullivan's Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Acme Lowcountry Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing