We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food, great service”

Acme Lowcountry Kitchen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Acme Lowcountry Kitchen specializes in local seafood, if we cannot source it locally it is sourced off the East Coast of the USA! We do not serve seafood from any other area. We of course never serve any imported seafood. We truly believe in supporting American Fishermen and Shrimpers!
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This restaurant has a big menu and lots of fresh, local seafood. The shrimp was especially good here.

Thank kruzingtogether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby S, Owner at Acme Lowcountry Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a nice review! Fresh local seafood is what it is all about. If we did not serve only local shrimp we would be doing it wrong! Travel safe!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,305)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,911 - 1,915 of 2,305 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013

I ate the Acme shrimp and grits and it was AWESOME!!!! the tea was kinda weak, but the service was great, even though it was really busy that day.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cherry1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby S, Owner at Acme Lowcountry Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review, it really means a lot to us at Acme! We are glad you enjoyed the Shrimp and Grits and we will get right on the weak Charleston Table Wine right away! Travel safe!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We choose Acme for our birthday/ anniversary family dinner after reading reviews and are glad we did. Our family of 8 adults and 1 child arrived on time for our reservation to find our table waiting and our waitress ready to take drink orders. Rustic has been used to describe this restaurant so I will say it again, rustic ambiance, not elegant. That being said, it was clean, customer centered and Acme serves excellent food. We all ordered different meals and all of us ate well! I was a bit hesitant about choosing Acme over the Boathouse but after comparing reviews from several sources, I decided on Acme for its consistently good customer reviews. This proved to be a very good choice as the service and quality of food pleased us all. We were checked on throughout our meal by our efficient and friendly waitress and also the manager so we lacked nothing. Portions were good, food quality very good - our family reunion dinner was a success on all fronts. I should also mention that serving 8 people at once did not seem to pose a problem for the kitchen.

Thank janier22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby S, Owner at Acme Lowcountry Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

I am so happy to your family reunion dinner was a success. Thank you so much for choosing our restaurant, it does mean a lot and we are very grateful. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a pleasant review. Travel safe!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We were able to make a reservation for 8 people without any problem.
When we parked the place looked like a hole in the wall... but then the brought the menu and the food... And everything looked much better.
We tried the place twice. The first time I had the scallops over grits and the second time, the grouper (it was a special). My wife had a flounder with crab filling and the second night she had the scallops with blue cheese grits... Everybody commented that their food was great. The prices are not cheap but given the quantity and quality you get, they are pretty good.
It was noisy and our children and that made our children barely noticeable. The staff was friendly and unlike many places they did not add a fix charge to our check (the waitress told her to tip her instead). A place I would go back next time in the Isle of Palms!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lucybelle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby S, Owner at Acme Lowcountry Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

I have to say it because I am huge Star Wars fan...Like the Millenium Falcon, "She may not look like much, but she's got it where it counts."
Thanks you so much for taking the time to leave such a nice review! Gad you enjoyed the food and atmosphere.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Enjoyed our lunch - The Acme Shrimp and Grits was delicious - with blackened shrimp, fresh pico de gallo and sausage. We also tried the chicken and the grouper tacos - also terrific. Varied menu for those who are looking for local seafood close to the beach -but lots of options for the non-seafood lover too. Tried the Strawberry Sour Cream Cake for dessert - it was a good way to end the meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Char S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby S, Owner at Acme Lowcountry Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thanks for taking the time out of your day to leave such a nice review! Glad you enjoyed your meal with us. That Strawberry Cake is a weakness of mine! Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Acme Lowcountry Kitchen also viewed

Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
 
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
 
Sullivan's Island, Coastal South Carolina
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Acme Lowcountry Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing