We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food but poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Morgan Creek Grill

Morgan Creek Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Morgan Creek Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Isle of Palms Marina
Transit: www.lowcountrylooptrolly.com
Description: Morgan Creek Grill, located in the Isle of Palms Marina, offers an unparalleled panoramic view of the Intracoastal Waterway and surrounding Lowcountry marshes from our waterfront dining rooms and the Upperdeck Bar & Grill. Fresh seafood, choice steaks and creative appetizers are offered with southern hospitality in a casual atmosphere. Live music, complimentary boat dockage, children’s menu, Sunday Brunch, lunch and dinner daily.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
237 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Good food but poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Nice location. Dynamite views of waterway and marina. Would be great place to visit in daytime for great views. Nice menu with many choices fish fowl or meat. We had the fresh seafood platter with shrimp and oysters. Delicious. And the shrimp risotto which was full of medium size shrimp. Nice! On the service end they came up short. Appetizer came. Then the entrees. When we asked where our salads were we got a blank look. The they decided they'd go get them. Promised us more water but it never came. Needless to say we can't comment on the desserts cuz we didn't stay to try any. Not sure id rush back to dinner here again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca O, Manager at Morgan Creek Grill, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Rick A. – We would like to apologize for the unacceptable customer service you received. If there’s more about your experience you’d like to share with us, we’d like to hear from you on a more personal level and would appreciate if you called us at (843) 886-8980 and ask for Rebecca.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    270
    137
    50
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, OH
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great way to start the morning”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

They always serve weekend breakfast here, but seasonally, they serve it during the week. This is a great little secret, and word really ought to get out. It was great ! A beautiful view of course doesn't hurt. But the service was friendly, informative, if we asked questions, and the food was WOW. I had the Crab Cake Benedict. Perfectly cooked, delicious, and a real decadent way to start the morning. Hubby had the Captain's Breakfast - loved it. The potatoes were steaming hot, tender, and tasty - something you don't often find in today's frozen food world.
Service was great - and the couple behind us were locals, and helped us find a couple other hidden gems. On the weekends this place is packed. But we were there on a Thursday, and it wasn't busy at all. Likely because it is seasonal and it isn't in the middle of tourist haven downtown. I can't imagine why else, because it is reasonably priced, delicious, friendly, and has a beautiful view!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, OH
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful View!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

We sat outside on the deck to eat. Beautiful view! Service was excellent and food was tops! Second year in a row we've gone here. Short distance from Wild Dunes Resort

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rockingrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iron Mountain, Michigan
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice place to eat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Ate here on our trip to Isle of Palms, loved the marina and walking around the water before we dined. The food was excellent, service perfect, and the sunset all we could have wanted. Highly recommend!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrible food, dismissive service and way overpriced”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Entirely agree with previous recent reviewers. Have been vacationing on the IOP for a few years and have made a few visits to this restaurant. It's the only local place on this side of the island near to wild dunes - and it's this reason, plus the view (which is beautiful) - that the place is still in buisness. Tourist flow is regular and plentiful so they are able to serve bad food at inflated prices with poor and dismissive customer service. It's no wonder the locals stay away. Most recently we got the fish tacos as a take out. Bumped around until finally someone said they would prepare us a takeout (you either do takeouts, or you don't!). The tacos were practically inedible: 2 small pieces of overcooked, unidentifiable rubbery fish (which I suspect had been frozen) inside 2 tacos with absolutely nothing else..no coleslaw/onion/seasonings/lime....nothing! The rest was just bread. Save your $$, jump in the car and avoid this overpriced place. So many other great options a short drive away. Will not return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1pimmsoclock1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca O, Manager at Morgan Creek Grill, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
1pimmsoclock1 – We would like to apologize for the poor service and unacceptable food you received. We are looking into the incident and hope you brought it to the manger on duty’s attention. We would like to talk to you on a more personal level and would appreciate if you called us at (843) 886-8980 and ask for Rebecca.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morgan Creek Grill also viewed

Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
 
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
 
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Morgan Creek Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing