We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit here often”
Review of Morgan Creek Grill

Morgan Creek Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Morgan Creek Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Isle of Palms Marina
Transit: www.lowcountrylooptrolly.com
Description: Morgan Creek Grill, located in the Isle of Palms Marina, offers an unparalleled panoramic view of the Intracoastal Waterway and surrounding Lowcountry marshes from our waterfront dining rooms and the Upperdeck Bar & Grill. Fresh seafood, choice steaks and creative appetizers are offered with southern hospitality in a casual atmosphere. Live music, complimentary boat dockage, children’s menu, Sunday Brunch, lunch and dinner daily.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Visit here often”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This restaurant is right on the water. Great views.. A little out of the way if you are not on the islands. Good service and good food. Bloody Mary Bar is the best.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank emdek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    280
    146
    56
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great outdoor area upstairs and more upscale dinner”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We ate here for lunch and dinner during our trip. Lunch was good on the upstairs patio. Shrimp Po Boy was great! However, their dinner selections are FABULOUS. My husband and I both had mahi prepared two different ways and each was great. Lettuce wraps are a nice, light starter. I would highly recommend eating here.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nutley, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The food was very good and Art our waiter was lovely. The crab claws were great, the scallops were amazing! Go for happy hour for half priced drinks and appetizers.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great food, service, and family fun!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We had our wedding rehearsal dinner at Morgan Creek - exceptional service, great food, wonderful marina setting, corn hole for the kids, and even a fun outdoor band.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lojomcgovern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Automatic gratuity for small parties, forgetable food”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

My family and I visited the Upper section of the restaurant for an early lunch during a recent visit to Isle of the Palms. Unfortunately, the visit left me disappointed and hungry.

The first issue with the restaurant is their automatic gratuity policy. My party was 6 adults and we were slapped with an automatic gratuity of 15%. I have never been to a restaurant that considers 6 adults to be such a burden. I understand how important gratuity is to a waitress/waiter, but gratuity is to be earned and not expected.

Our service was not good and I understand why. Our waitress had no incentive to provide good service since she knew she was getting 15% one way or another. Maybe that is why her uniform was sloppy, drinks were slow to be refilled, and we had to flag down other staff for assistance.

The next issue is their prices. $3.00 for a black coffee, $5.00 for a house side salad, all their sandwiches are at least $10.00. With prices like that you would expect an exceptional cup of coffee or an good crap cake burger. Instead you get below average 'bar food' level quality.

Finally, the food is forgettable. I ordered a crab cake burger and I was disappointing by the soggy quality. A simple side of fries tasted like they had been left under a heating lamp for an hour. They were hard and uneatable.

There are other options to eat in the area and I won't waste my time and money at the Morgan Creek Grill Upper Level again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mason9923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marybeth L, Manager at Morgan Creek Grill, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Jason C – We are saddened to hear you did not enjoy your meal with us. We hope you brought the issue of your food to the attention of your server or a manager. We’d love to talk to you more about your experience, and would appreciate if you gave us a call at (843) 886-8980 and ask for Rebecca.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morgan Creek Grill also viewed

Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
 
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
 
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Morgan Creek Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing