We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect weekend getaway”
Review of Wild Dunes Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wild Dunes Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Isle of Palms
GreenLeadersBronze level
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect weekend getaway”
Reviewed October 25, 2010

We've stayed over the past weekend at this phenomenal site, the Isle of Palms is just a gorgeous spot near Charleston. The hotel is located directly in the Isle of Palms Resort, easy accessible to the beach. You can use the hotels own pool or the two pools located at the beach.
The hotel is very clean, the staff is friendly yet the rooms could get some refurbishment.
But I don't want to be too critical, overall it's a great location with a great hotel, the prices are off-season and thus very moderate - what do you want more???

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank picapedrero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,947 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,962
    1,000
    512
    284
    189
See reviews for
1,949
983
59
405
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2010

The Boardwalk Inn is the Wild Dunes Resort hotel (plenty of homes and condos to rent) but is across the street from the meeting site for our annual PA CME conference. They do offer discounted rates for conferences and the rooms are worth much more than we paid. They are large, clean, luxuriously furnished and well attended. The staff, from front desk to valet to housekeeping (even maintenance) are polite and prompt with help. My wife attends with me so she can vacation while I work (well, work part of the day) and there is plenty to keep her occupied. The resort offers many activities but the highlight is the high standard we've come to expect from the Wild Dunes property. I actually attend this CME conference each year because of the location and hotel. Not a single negative the entire 4 nights we were there.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeekendTraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2010

I booked a studio-room in the Villages as a last-minute quick and relaxing getaway. I was pleasantly surprised upon arrival. Staff were outside awaiting to assist you in the check-in process. The grounds are beautiful. The room looked brand new with a granite and stainless kitchenette, nice bathroom with travertine tiles, and a cute little balcony that I used to sip wine and relax at the end of the day. Everything you need is at the resort including restaurants, a market, ice cream shop, and all the ammenities of a top-notch resort. The beach was within a rock's throw and the weather was perfect. We were even entertained with a school of dolphins! I would book this resort over and over again.

Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank sdobbs70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast U.S.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Boardwalk Inn for several days while in town for vacation. Literally the ONLY negative thing I can say about this place is that there was more mildew in the shower than I would have expected. Everything else was fantastic. You can't beat the location, the rooms are spacious, the decor is nice, the hotel is generally quite clean, and the amenities are top-notch. The service and staff are particularly excellent. Every single employee we encountered was friendly, polite, and helpful. This was the second time we've stayed here, and it was just as great as we remembered. We HIGHLY recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBE123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
Reviewed October 12, 2010

I had reserved a condo at Isle of Palms for my son, his family, and my husband and me. We loved every minute. The reservation staff was well informed and extremely helpful. The information I received was accurate. The condo was clean, well equipped with all of the household items needed. The balcony was a great touch. The grounds were well maintained and clean. I really appreciated the one hour extended checkout time.Also, even though we checked out of the condo, we still had access to the property for the swimming pools and shower areas. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank firsttimer5514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2010

We stayed in Portocal Unit 204. Paid extra to have a beachfront condo. Wild Resort should require their owners to meet stricter standards to be in the rental pool. My husband described our unit as "rustic". The televisions had to be 15 years old. One remote control did not work. I covered the sofa with a blanket because I did not want to sit on it. The bathroom was very dated. I have never experienced more uncomfortable bar stools and chairs. The building and porch needs care and paint. You cannot throw down a granite countertop and call a condo updated.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvsgolf71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2010

This hotel was beautiful. Our room was comfortable, the staff was extraordinarily friendly, and the ocean water was warm and beautiful. We stayed here in September for our anniversary and could not have asked for a nicer place. We became acquainted with many people on the staff, and they even sent us chocolate covered strawberries and champagne for our anniversary, and this was not part of a package we had ordered. When we went to print out our boarding passes the day before we left, the business center was free of charge which was nice. Most hotels in my experience will charge you for that. It was about a half hour from Charleston, which is a beautiful city with lots of fantastic restaurants. My husband also liked the tennis program very much.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gina2237364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle of Palms
24.8 mi away
The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort
3.1 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#4 of 5 in Isle of Palms
225 reviews
11.3 mi away
Belmond Charleston Place
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Tides Folly Beach
Tides Folly Beach
#1 of 1 in Folly Beach
1,357 reviews
5.2 mi away
Comfort Suites at the Isle of Palms Connector
Comfort Suites at the Isle of Pa...
#10 of 25 in Mount Pleasant
246 reviews
11.1 mi away
French Quarter Inn
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Dunes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Dunes Resort

Property: Wild Dunes Resort
Address: 5757 Palm Boulevard, Isle of Palms, SC 29451-2734
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Isle of Palms
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Isle of Palms
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wild Dunes Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 458
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Wild Dunes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Dunes Hotel Isle Of Palms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing