We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven Must Be Like This”
Review of Wild Dunes Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wild Dunes Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Isle of Palms
GreenLeadersBronze level
Mesquite, TX
1 review
“Heaven Must Be Like This”
Reviewed February 11, 2010

This was my first trip in the state of South Carolina and I must say it was above my wildest dreams. The picture of Wild Dunes Resort on its website does nothing for this place. It is absolutely beautiful. It’s right on the ocean which is breathtaking by itself but the customer service here reminded me of what customer service is all about, PEOPLE!!!! Every employee in this place was kind, considerate, friendly, and most of all HELPFUL. Did I mention how beautiful the rooms were? It left me in awe. I must return with my family to share this warm amazing experience. While in Charleston, Wild Dunes Resort is the place to stay!!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phyllisjohnson1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,866
    946
    480
    266
    175
See reviews for
1,789
955
55
396
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 5, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Boadwalk Inn at the end of January. We found the staff to be very friendly and accomodating. When we arrived, I opened my car door and a bottle of wine fell out and broke at the valet station. When the bellman brought our luggage up, he brought us a replacement bottle! I thought that was extremely thoughtful especially since it was my own fault! The room itself was very nice, althoug the view wasn't great. Getting to the beach was easy, and because we went during slow season we had the beach to ourselves. We didn't take advantage of the resteraunts on the property because we drove in to Charleston for our meals. It is just a short drive to get to downtown Charleston.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mountains2Seas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC area
1 review
Reviewed January 31, 2010

We discovered the Wild Dunes Resort during an online hotel search for 4-star or better lodging in the Charleston, SC area, and what a DISCOVERY! From the initial warm, friendly greeting by the valet staff upon our arrival after a weary drive from the DC area until a similar farewell by a different member of the valet staff, our stay was exquisite.
The front desk staff dislplayed the same friendly, helpful attitude, welcoming us warmly & then showing us the layout of the resort after a quick, efficient check-in.

Our room was larger than most that have a king-size bed. The flat screen TV had a good selection of cable channels & on demand selections, except for offering adult films, which we find offensive. The wi-fi service was excellent in our room, & the resort's PCs in the Business Center operated at very high speed too.

We also pampered ourselves with the spa's massage services. One of us enjoyed a 50-minute Swedish massage, while the other benefitted from an ultra-relaxing hot stone massage. How wonderful! For those who shun on-site spas to avoid the stresses of high-pressure tactics to purchase spa products, we encountered none of that. To the contrary, the spa staff's friendly, professional manner seemed genuine & "in sync" with that of the rest of the staff at the Resort.

During our 2-night stay we dined in the bar & grille lounge right off the lobby both evenings & received very prompt, pleasant service from Patrick. The food selection on the menu was adequate, and 2 specials were offered each evening. The food was served quite promptly, allowing reasonable time for preparation, and was VERY tasty. The peach butter was DELICIOUS & was served with warm biscuits. Yummy! The only disappointment was finding only a single draught beer offering -- Guinness. The bottled beer & wine selections were very good, and we were pleased with our selections from each list.

We explored the white sandy beach area, despite a chilly breeze. The boardwalk from the lobby to the beach was quaintly bordered with 2-story villa apartments. Just outside the lobby was a sizeable, heated wading pool. Further along the boardwalk going toward the beach was a sunning (weather permitting) area with lounge chairs, with 1 heated adult pool on each side of the boardwalk. Just before entering the beach area is a bath house with restrooms and a couple of seasonal shops (the ice cream parlor caught our attention for a future visit during a warmer season! :-)

The 2 golf courses on the resort, the large number of tennis courts, a 5-mile walking, jogging, & biking circuit are only a few of the outdoor activities available. Neither the weather nor our timetable allowed us enough time to avail ourselves of the recreational facilities, but we intend to return for a longer stay so that we can experience them too.

Perhaps our description seems too good to be true. All we can say is that we are reporting what we experienced during our stay. We tried to the best of our ability to accurately convey the nature of our stay without embellishment. We might add that we know friends who come each year to the Resort during the summer months, and they have been very pleased with their stays each year, but we didn't find that out until after we told them about our "discovery".

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2jubilados
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aggie01, Director of Operations at Wild Dunes Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2010
Thank you so very much for the positive feedback! We're appreciative to receive any and all feedback from our guests, but especially love hearing from guests who had a great first experience (and I'll be sure to tell Patrick what a positive impact he had on your dining experience at the Sea Island Grill). We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you and your friends on the island again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2010

I spent one night in January with my husband and 2 children while on a house hunting trip. We were very pleased with our basic room with 2 queen sized beds. The room was spacious, clean, and tastefully decorated. In fact, the room appeared to have been recently updated. There was no musty smell or dampness that we have experienced at other beachside hotels. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast in the dining room before checking out. The winter rates were excellent. Why stay at a Hampton Inn when you can stay at a beautiful hotel on the beach? (at least in January)

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank househunters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2010

We rent a townhome if a house isn't available. The resort is great, everything close by. You walk right out of your t'home/house onto the beach. Always friendly staff, we visit at least once a year.

Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank LaKeshaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2010

For the past two years, my husband and I have celebrated our anniversary at the Boardwalk Inn at Wild Dunes. Each time we have been thoroughly impressed with the property and its attentive staff. From the moment we walk into the lobby (which has a Hemingway-esqe feel) to opening the door of our king room, we immediately relax. A spacious room with lovely linens, toiletries, and privacy helps Wild Dunes' Boardwalk Inn stand out from its competition in the Charleston area. The beach is easily accessible from the hotel's lobby (simply walk down the boardwalk) and historic Charleston is only 15 minutes away by car. Definitely check out this hotel, especially if you can get a great deal!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoCarTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2009

I was looking for a place to get away with my 3 sister's for my 50th Bday. It was an easy drive from Charleston (we stayed there 1 night.) We were looking for a beach/spa/resort place. It was a great choice. Wild Dunes was recommended by a friend of mine who planned a work related training weekend. After searching the Wild Dunes website, I called the concierge and she helped me select activities that interested me. We stayed at The Village in a 2 bedroom condo that was new construction, beautifully decorated and a great location. The spa service was great for 2 hours- I gave a list of all the services the 4 of us wanted and it was scheduled at what worked best for us. We went on a sunset kayak trip with a naturalist-fun to explore more of the low country. The restaurant we ate at was very good and the beach was nice and clean. The store/market had everything you needed for snacks, gifts and lunch to go. The Wild Dunes concierge even gave ideas for our 2 days at Charleston and scheduled those activities. We would like to go back soon. We had a fun time!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelisfunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle of Palms
3.1 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#4 of 5 in Isle of Palms
205 reviews
24.8 mi away
The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort
15.5 mi away
Tides Folly Beach
Tides Folly Beach
#1 of 1 in Folly Beach
1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Belmond Charleston Place
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,094 reviews
11.1 mi away
French Quarter Inn
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,795 reviews
11.0 mi away
Market Pavilion Hotel
Market Pavilion Hotel
#9 of 61 in Charleston
1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Dunes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Dunes Resort

Property: Wild Dunes Resort
Address: 5757 Palm Boulevard, Isle of Palms, SC 29451-2734
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Isle of Palms
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Isle of Palms
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wild Dunes Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 458
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Wild Dunes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Dunes Hotel Isle Of Palms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing