We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful, clean beachside resort”
Review of Wild Dunes Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wild Dunes Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Isle of Palms
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A beautiful, clean beachside resort”
Reviewed January 31, 2010

I spent one night in January with my husband and 2 children while on a house hunting trip. We were very pleased with our basic room with 2 queen sized beds. The room was spacious, clean, and tastefully decorated. In fact, the room appeared to have been recently updated. There was no musty smell or dampness that we have experienced at other beachside hotels. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast in the dining room before checking out. The winter rates were excellent. Why stay at a Hampton Inn when you can stay at a beautiful hotel on the beach? (at least in January)

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank househunters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,838
    920
    464
    260
    168
See reviews for
1,742
938
54
385
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (540)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2010

We rent a townhome if a house isn't available. The resort is great, everything close by. You walk right out of your t'home/house onto the beach. Always friendly staff, we visit at least once a year.

Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank LaKeshaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2010

For the past two years, my husband and I have celebrated our anniversary at the Boardwalk Inn at Wild Dunes. Each time we have been thoroughly impressed with the property and its attentive staff. From the moment we walk into the lobby (which has a Hemingway-esqe feel) to opening the door of our king room, we immediately relax. A spacious room with lovely linens, toiletries, and privacy helps Wild Dunes' Boardwalk Inn stand out from its competition in the Charleston area. The beach is easily accessible from the hotel's lobby (simply walk down the boardwalk) and historic Charleston is only 15 minutes away by car. Definitely check out this hotel, especially if you can get a great deal!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoCarTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2009

I was looking for a place to get away with my 3 sister's for my 50th Bday. It was an easy drive from Charleston (we stayed there 1 night.) We were looking for a beach/spa/resort place. It was a great choice. Wild Dunes was recommended by a friend of mine who planned a work related training weekend. After searching the Wild Dunes website, I called the concierge and she helped me select activities that interested me. We stayed at The Village in a 2 bedroom condo that was new construction, beautifully decorated and a great location. The spa service was great for 2 hours- I gave a list of all the services the 4 of us wanted and it was scheduled at what worked best for us. We went on a sunset kayak trip with a naturalist-fun to explore more of the low country. The restaurant we ate at was very good and the beach was nice and clean. The store/market had everything you needed for snacks, gifts and lunch to go. The Wild Dunes concierge even gave ideas for our 2 days at Charleston and scheduled those activities. We would like to go back soon. We had a fun time!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelisfunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, SC
Level Contributor
108 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2009

My family and I have been staying at the villas each holiday season for 12 years. Each year has been excellent! The accomadations are spacious and well appointed. The service is impeccable. I would not stay anywhere else while visiting the Charleston area.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tlm57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2009

Nicely appointed room with kitchen and ocean view. Winter rates are reasonable. Colors of buildings are a bit tacky, so the visual experience is a bit tarnished, but other than that, a great place to relax.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2009

We went off season so many things were not open, however, we totally enjoyed our stay at the hotel. Room was fabulous, staff was super. I was not thrilled with the food, but the waiter was great!

Went to the wine tasting event. I do not drink wine but the finger food was fabulous! I did purchase a bottle of wine for my Mother, very reasonably priced.

The grounds are wonderful, close to beach...Great place to stay. Will stay again soon!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RevJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle of Palms
Seaside Inn
#3 of 5 in Isle of Palms
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tides Folly Beach
#1 of 1 in Folly Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,303 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Dunes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Dunes Resort

Property: Wild Dunes Resort
Address: 5757 Palm Boulevard, Isle of Palms, SC 29451-2734
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Isle of Palms
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Isle of Palms
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wild Dunes Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 458
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Wild Dunes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Dunes Hotel Isle Of Palms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing