We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach getaway”
Review of Wild Dunes Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wild Dunes Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Isle of Palms
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 17, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Boardwalk Inn two nights. It is so nice. The property is right next to the beach and it seems like a very nice upscale older crowd. So if you want teenagers and spring break atmosphere, this is definitely not the place for you! We had great food there too right on the property. We ate lunch at the Lettered Olive and had great collards and catfish. Then for dinner we had lobster and steak at the Sea Island Grill. They had a great soft crabshell appetizer and fabulous gazpacho. We lounged at the beach one day and went into Charleston for a carriage ride tour the next day. Great weekend getaway.

Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank waydownsouthinnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,952 - 3,958 of 4,127 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2009

We spent several weeks in the Villages at Wild Dunes after staying at the Boardwalk Inn the year before and enjoying our experience. This year we had our newborn son so we needed more space and rented at 3 bedroom in the Village. The staff was great....very attentive and always smiling. The food at the Lettered Olive was wonderful. My wife and mother had a number of spa services done and raved about all of it. I had a great and enjoyable haircut as well. The beaches this time of year are almost empty and the weather was fantastic. We will definitely be back but will absolutely select a different room. Ours was 117A and 115A. These were located right at the intersection of the two main arteries on the island. The traffic was constant and very loud so enjoying the ocean breeze on the patio was impossible. What was worse however was that the room was adjacent to the Fitness Center so there was the constant pounding of treadmills and the annoying thud of dropping free weights. Very poor layout to have a nice 3 bedroom condo sharing a wall with the gym. My suggestion would be to get a layout of the Village before booking and select your room on the opposite side of the main drag and away from the gym. The furnishings in our living room were not the most comfortable either...small pull-out couch and a couple chairs too formal for the beach. Great concept at the Village though..

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BackTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2009

We just returned from Wild Dunes Resort where we stayed in the newly built Village at Wild Dunes. Our accommodations were in an amazing three bedroom unit that overlooked the ocean on one side and the intercoastal waterway from the other. We were traveling as guests to a destination wedding for close friends and we were so pleased by all the attention to detail by Samantha Hazard, the coordinator. She kept the the entire wedding party at ease while guiding the guests seamlessly from the ceremony to the cocktail reception and then ballroom. The wait staff and bartenders were quick at attend to all the needs of the bridal party and attendees. Especially helpful was Ben. I also left my room with out my key and was personally escorted to my room by Josh, the very polite bellman. We couldn't have asked or expected a nicer stay or more pleasant place to visit! Hats off to Wild Dunes!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvtravelSc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights for our 5 year wedding anniversary. It was wonderful. We stayed at the Boardwalk Inn in a Junior Suite. Our room was beautiful, the grounds were beautiful, the staff was great, the spa was wonderful (had a pre-natal massage), the golf course was great as well (per my husband). My husband had called ahead to arrange for flowers to be delivered to me the day we arrived - the staff was so helpful and arranged for a dozen long-stem roses to be delivered from a local florist - the roses were absolutely amazing (they're still alive almost 2 weeks later!). It was great having the 3 different pools as most of the kids were at the heated pool so we hung out at one of the pools closest to the beach - it wasn't that cold - more like refreshing since the temp. was around 85. I also loved the location of the resort - we were able to see everything we wanted to see and the most we drove was 45 mins. - Charleston was only 20 mins away from the resort. We went downtown twice. I would definitely recommend Wild Dunes and hope to make a trip back there again next year!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karymay25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2009

Wild Dunes is beautiful. Our room was perfect, starbucks coffee and aveda products are given to you with daily housekeeping. The rooms were clean, well decorated, really beautiful lobby. Staff was nice, valet parking, easy access to the beach and everything you could need can be found within the resort. Very family oriented feeling about the place, both my 5 year old and 20 year old loved it. Will definately go back. Only drawback was the ocean view room is not truly ocean view - you see the pool, villas and boardwalk. You see the water further out. We didn't mind, but the view should be better explained up front. May be a good idea for Wild Dunes to have a separate area for weddings and special events, the pool and pavillion were closed twice for private events for several hours. It would be beautiful place to get married.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MUSTBEAMIRACLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2009

We (a group of 12) had a corporate event at Wild Dunes in April and it was one of the more productive and enjoyable events we've had. You couldn't ask for a better environment to reconnect with colleagues and enjoy the leisure time once the meetings are over.

The Sweetgrass Pavilion is a top-notch facility, and the recently renovated rooms in the Boardwalk Inn (nice linens, flat screen tv, great views from the balcony) exceeded our expectations.

As for leisure time, the beaches are wide enough to host a marathon and the Fazio courses provided a fun afternoon on the links.

Overall, a great experience.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EWH-SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2009

We rented a one bedroom villa for a 3 day weekend. We hoped to have a lovely place to stay like in the photos on the resort web site, but our villa (Seagrove 6A) was AWFUL. The place had not been painted in about 10 years, the drapes were torn, the walls were damaged and had holes, the bedding/blankets were old and worn. Numerous travelers had written similar reviews about the condition of the villa in the guest book provided in our room. Had we been planning to stay longer I would have checked out and found another place to stay. Also, it's a bit of a stretch to call this place a resort--there are 2 places to eat plus a convenience store. There is no food/beverage service at the pools and guests are not permitted to bring coolers or food to the pool area. I would not recommend Wild Dunes based on our experience here.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrayDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle of Palms
3.1 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#4 of 5 in Isle of Palms
235 reviews
24.8 mi away
The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort
11.3 mi away
Belmond Charleston Place
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Tides Folly Beach
Tides Folly Beach
#1 of 1 in Folly Beach
1,375 reviews
11.0 mi away
Market Pavilion Hotel
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
1,447 reviews
11.1 mi away
French Quarter Inn
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Dunes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Dunes Resort

Address: 5757 Palm Boulevard, Isle of Palms, SC 29451-2734
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Isle of Palms
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Isle of Palms
Price Range: $181 - $468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wild Dunes Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 458
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Wild Dunes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Dunes Hotel Isle Of Palms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing