We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place for a conference, thank you Wild Dunes!”
Review of Wild Dunes Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wild Dunes Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Isle of Palms
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Cyndy and I stayed at Wild Dunes for the GAF Wealth Builder conference, which is held annually at different cities across America. This is the first one that was at a resort as opposed to a hotel in a downtown area. Good job GAF as usual for thinking out of the box and choosing this place, we all really enjoyed our stay.

The food at group functions was good, nothing spectacular but we never went hungry that is for sure. The service at this resort is top notch for our thanks to everyone who went out of their way to make our stay pleasant.

We upgraded from the hotel section where most of our group stayed and got a one bedroom, spacious condo on the beach. We had a full kitchen and living room plus a screened in porch to enjoy the waves at the beach. So we had to drive up the function every time, but there is ample parking or even valet parking at the Inn.

All in all we loved our stay at Wild Dunes in Isle of Palms and would return for sure in the future. Thanks again!

Room Tip: For sure ask about upgrading to a beachfront condo instead of the staying at the hotel. We paid ver...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank F, General Manager at Wild Dunes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Paul,
Thank you very much for your kind review of Wild Dunes Resort. We very much appreciate the detailed feedback on your experience, our condominium accommodations and group conference services at the Resort. It was truly a pleasure to ensure that you, Cyndy and fellow conference attendees had an incredible and incomparable first Resort experience for the annual GAF Wealth Builder Conference. I will be sure and pass along your kind words to our Group Sales Managers and Conference Service Teams. We look forward to the opportunity to host the GAF Conference again in the future and likewise hope to welcome you back to Wild Dunes Resort and Charleston for a leisure vacation here at the beach on Isle of Palms. Take care!

Kind regards,
Frank Fredericks
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,026)
There are newer reviews for Wild Dunes Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,750 - 2,756 of 4,027 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2014

If I had one complaint, it was that it was so far from Charleston but that's minor considering how awesome the place was. Great service, great room, beautiful facilities. We weren't there long enough to truly enjoy all it had to offer. But we'll be back. We booked last minute through Hotel Tonight and were very pleased.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bisquick77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We enjoyed the relaxation of the Wild Dunes Resort during a pretty cold Spring Break week. We stayed at the Boardwalk Inn and had an ocean view room with a great balcony. The hotel offered free valet service and our car was always ready within 2 minutes. The restaurants were great, the staff excellent, the pools clean, beach bikes fun and beds very comfortable. We had to entertain 3 children and had no trouble doing it with all the cool things to do in the area along with great dining at the resort and nearby. Loved taking the water taxi from Patriots Point into the heart of Charleston without having to drive and park etc. Wild Dunes Resort gives you the calm stay with a great beach and pools juxtaposed with one of the greatest food/historical cities in the country. Fantastic destination!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PidgeArkansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Wild Dunes Links course is without a doubt the better of the two courses on island. The layout is unique and challenging, with some tight fairways and fast greens. Accuracy off the tee is important here, as there is not much room to miss on either side of the fairway on most holes. For being a course in the low country, the links course offers decent elements of elevation changes. There are a number of elevated greens that require a thoughtful and calculated approach. Conversely there are quite a few tee boxes that are setup above the green making for an interesting tee shot. Hole #10 is one of the more unique holes in the area, with a wildly undulating uphill fairway and a small elevated green that is way above the tee box.
The finishing holes of the course are right on the ocean and offer incredible views. These final holes are spectacular and defined our experience on the links course.
The course was in phenomenal shape when we played. The greens were immaculate and the fairways looked untouched. The grounds were expertly manicured and it looks almost as if no one had played out there at all. This was an expensive round but certainly worth the price of admission.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Charleston_Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

This was our second stay at Wild Dunes and we liked it even more than the 1st time. This time we stayed at the Boardwalk Inn, our room was amazing and sitting out on our private deck that looked out to the ocean was fantastic. I learned that I can self park so I appreciated that. The beach was perfect. We do not take advantages of all of the amenities as we were there to walk the beach. It was before all the Spring Breakers so it was totally relaxing on the beach.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights in February. It was probably the wrong time of the year to visit. The room was amazing - big suite, with kitchen, living room, huge bathroom, and comfortable bed; and a balcony that was awesome for some fresh air. The resort itself was massive, and am sure may enjoyed it while riding their bikes. I just didn't feel that there was too much going on in the resort. Again - it could be the time of year that I visited. It was dead and not too many activities. If you are looking to relax, then it's worth going to. For the price though - I would much rather have stayed in Charleston, which is much more walkable and historic.

Room Tip: Make sure you choose a room with a balcony - otherwise you will have no fresh air; a room I first wa...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orinda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Stayed here on March 20th. I think a lot of time and money has gone into the detail on the public areas and exterior of the resort however the room we had at the Boardwalk Inn feel as if they have been a little neglected. Paint was mismatched on the walls during obvious patch jobs, plenty of scrapes and scuffs on the walls, the way the bathroom door was installed you could see part of the drywall between the tile and the door. The elevator was a little slow as well. While the room may have been a little rundown, we loved the walkway to the beach and the service was excellent.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank speedster400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle of Palms
24.8 mi away
The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort
3.1 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#4 of 5 in Isle of Palms
231 reviews
11.3 mi away
Belmond Charleston Place
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Tides Folly Beach
Tides Folly Beach
#1 of 1 in Folly Beach
1,368 reviews
5.2 mi away
Comfort Suites at the Isle of Palms Connector
11.1 mi away
French Quarter Inn
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Dunes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Dunes Resort

Address: 5757 Palm Boulevard, Isle of Palms, SC 29451-2734
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Isle of Palms
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Isle of Palms
Price Range: $195 - $466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wild Dunes Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 458
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone and Hotwire so you can book your Wild Dunes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Dunes Hotel Isle Of Palms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing