We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our yearly Beach get away with the Family”
Review of Wild Dunes Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wild Dunes Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Isle of Palms
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 24, 2014

About 10 years ago we stated going to Wild Dunes. Then stopped because everyone we knew went to offer beach places. Then we came back and thought to oursevles why on earth did we EVER listen to those other people. IOP has everything you could want. Kids activities biking swiming and Charleston is just 5 miles away.... (tip...take the water taxi from patriots point. You can bring your bikes and it is cheaper then paying for parking in Charletson) Yes, there is tennis and golf but there also is night time walks on the beach to check out the turtles and deer and movies and music on the green almost every night. Yes the food is questionable but if you have a condo you can grill dinner yourself. There is so much more to look into there is not enought time to write it all down. Since we decided this is the only place for our beach vacations every year we have been going for the past 5 years and look forward to it every year.

Room Tip: Book a Condo....Save money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,885 - 2,891 of 4,127 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2014

If you're looking for a high quality resort with easy access to the beach, this is your place. The entire resort was beautiful. I believe golfing and tennis were the 2 main activities at this place (I do neither) so that didn't really apply to my likings. However, the beach was about 5 minutes away to where we were staying. Absolutely stunning. Very quiet and private too! So not a lot of kids running around. The only downfall for this place is that the food wasn't that great. Overall, nice place to stay for a couple of nights if you're in the area. I would not reccommend for younger audiences. There isn't a lot to do besides relax and golf.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Wild Dunes was a fabulous place to vacation. The weather was a fabulous change from the arctic vortex hovering over the Great Lakes this time of year. The staff was very friendly and willing to go out of their way to help out and chat up the guests. The hotel and amenities were always tidy. It was well situated just outside Charleston. We were able to make the short drive into downtown for a visit with no hassle. We even got a round of golf in. It was a great place to getaway and escape the hustle of life.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SyrianHamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed in a Condo and had an excellent time. The condo was nicely decorated and so spacious with each room having a private bath. We enjoyed the heated spa and had a wonderful walk on the picturesque beach. Wild Dunes is a great place to stay and not far from Charleston, S.C. I certainly would love to visit here every year. BJ

Room Tip: We had a corner condo facing the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BAJ1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel a number of times and this time did not disappoint! This was our first tie staying during the winter months The beach was just what we needed during the holiday season! Loved all of the shopping that could be done but also loved sitting at the outdoor cabana bar in December. All of the employees were more then helpful in recommending family friendly activities located in the surrounding areas. The rooms were impeccably clean and we really felt "at home" during our stay. I definitely know we will be back next winter.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jym P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed in the Village over xmas and really enjoyed our stay. The suite was very spacious clean and we were very pleased. The staff helped us out and the cookies and xmas stories were a delight for our young children. The only negative was it was pricey but you get what you pay for as a rule.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Jason_Rees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank F, General Manager at Wild Dunes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear Jason,
Thank you for choosing Wild Dunes Resort for your Charleston, SC Christmas vacation! We appreciate your review and sharing your experience. I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your spacious suite in the Village at Wild Dunes and that your young children were delighted by our Christmas cookies and storytelling activity. The holiday season is such a wonderful time of year to visit Isle of Palms and I'm so glad to hear that you hope to return. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the Resort, perhaps for a spring or summer vacation! Should you need any assistance in planning your next vacation, please feel free to contact me directly at ffredericks@destinationhotels.com and I would be more than happy to assist. Take care!

Best,
Frank Fredericks
Managing Director
Wild Dunes Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Wild Dunes Resort in South Carolina is a breath of fresh air! The housekeeping staff does a wonderful job of keeping the accommodations impeccable. The location is ideal- right by the water, close to local conveniences and a short trip from downtown Charleston. Enjoyable amenities for guests include gorgeous pools, tennis courts and workout facilities. This resort has everything you're looking for in a beach destination and more. Once you're there you won't want to leave!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle of Palms
3.1 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#4 of 5 in Isle of Palms
235 reviews
24.8 mi away
The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort
11.3 mi away
Belmond Charleston Place
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Tides Folly Beach
Tides Folly Beach
#1 of 1 in Folly Beach
1,375 reviews
11.0 mi away
Market Pavilion Hotel
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
1,447 reviews
11.1 mi away
French Quarter Inn
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Dunes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Dunes Resort

Address: 5757 Palm Boulevard, Isle of Palms, SC 29451-2734
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Isle of Palms
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Isle of Palms
Price Range: $181 - $468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wild Dunes Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 458
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Wild Dunes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Dunes Hotel Isle Of Palms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing