We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Location and Fabulous Accommodations”
Review of Wild Dunes Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wild Dunes Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Isle of Palms
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I didn't know what to expect, but was willing to pay a little extra to ensure we had a good vacation. We stayed in Summer House. The condo was perfect for our needs and the patio opened right out to the beach about 100 yds away. The resort offers Tennis, Golf, Restaurants, Heated Main Pool. Each section has its own pool but it was a little too cold this trip to swim there.Two things missing: I wish that we had a hot tub since it was a little chilly to swim. and I wish that had a package that included breakfast. The Resort is about 25 minutes from Charleston, SC. Terrific Vacation!

Room Tip: In Summer House Choose the ground floor the patio opens to the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaLaLori_42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank F, General Manager at Wild Dunes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear LaLaLori_42,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences from your stay at Wild Dunes Resort. I am glad to hear that your accommodations at Summer House were perfect for your needs. Having a patio that opens right out to the beach is always a plus! We at the resort know that “ porch-sittin’ ” (as we call it here in Charleston) is a favorite pastime for our guests! If you choose to return to Wild Dunes Resort (which I hope you will!), you should check out our specials and packages listed on our website as some offer breakfast inclusions! Thank you again for sharing your experiences, and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the resort in the future.

Regards,

Frank Fredericks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,258 - 3,264 of 4,216 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2013

I was pretty excited to be staying at this resort. Have always heard great things about it....It does have a great location with fantastic beach, and nice pools. Service was professional and helpful. I have to say though the room was very average. The sheets are starched, and itchy. Not soft like you would expect for a four star resort. I expect my bedding to be above average when I come to a place like this. Overall I would come back, I would just bring my own bedding.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KET3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Entrance is elegant like you expect when you enter a 5 star resort. Very peaceful drive to the Boardwalk. Called by name by the valet, by the property staff and helped to my room. On property restaurant is comfortable and delirious. Staff is excellent. Ask for foam pillows and the mattresses are great for a great night sleep! You cannot beat it. Bathroom is roomy and very clean and well lite.

Room Tip: as for the 5 floor and a view down the board walk. you cannot beat it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank460912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My daughter lives in Mount Pleasant, and Wild Dunes is a nice place to stay. Walks on the beach, last year it was warm enough to sit on...not this trip. Just a bit of a drive to go into Charleston...tons of great restaurants and shopping all around. Wild Dunes takes care of you. Great spa. We love staying in the Village and having a bedroom plus kitchen and sitting room. Also the little deck is great. My husband can only stand so many days in Charleston proper, so this is a good solution for us both.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mks1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

My family of four visited the resort for the second time last summer. We had a slight problem with our condo at check-in, but Ruben Schwarte, Director of Rooms, and manager Kevin Price worked exceedingly hard to ensure that the problem was corrected. We enjoyed the beautiful oceanfront view from our condo and the extensive amenities offered at the resort. The pools and bike rentals were favorites among the children. I absolutely loved the Village and Grande Pavillion area and enjoyed the resort's nightly activities and family-oriented entertainment offerings--including movies under the stars at the amphitheater. The town of Isle of Palms is also very charming and has a few very nice dining options, both casual and more upscale (The Sea Biscuit is a "must" for breakfast or brunch, by the way). To top it all off, the close proximity to Charleston and its attractions and historic significance really make a Wild Dunes vacation hard to beat. So much so that we are planning to make reservations for the upcoming summer.

Room Tip: The Wild Dunes website now features pictures of the rental condos and homes. Take a look to ensure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank F, General Manager at Wild Dunes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Mon R,

Thank you for sharing your experiences from your stay at Wild Dunes Resort last summer. Although I’m sorry to hear you had some difficulty during the check-in process, I am glad to know that Ruben Schwarte and Kevin Price were able to amend the situation, and I’ll be sure to pass along your kind remarks to them as well. It is great to hear that you and your family were able to take advantage of so many of the activities we offer at the resort! The staff here takes pride in being recognized as one of the top resorts for families and always looks for new ways to expand our activity and entertainment offerings. Our team enjoys providing fun and unique opportunities for families to spend quality time together while creating lasting vacation memories! Since you enjoyed The Village and the Grand Pavilion last summer, I would recommend that you check out our newest Resort guest amenity opening this spring, Palm Cove Pool – located right beside the Village Plaza! Thank you sharing your kind review and we look forward to welcoming you back this summer.

Regards,

Frank Fredericks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

the resort was close enough to charleston sc., without being in the city,(about 25 minutes away), park at the visitor center,take the shortest tour we did not eat at the resort, we were out an about all day, beach is nice at sunset.

Room Tip: we stay at the villages, room was small but ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank golfer060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The golf at Wild Dunes was great, but what really made my trip was the lesson I got from the Head Pro, Jeff Minton. He turned my swing around in about 2 lessons.The staff at the Pro Shop are top notch. In particular, I found Cameron Archer, to be very helpful. The house we rented was great and the restaurants even better. I would highly recommend Wild Dunes Resort. Come for the golf and discover true Southern Hospitality. Terry K.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank F, General Manager at Wild Dunes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Terry K,

I appreciate you taking the time to share your review of Wild Dunes Resort. It is nice to hear that you had such a great experience golfing and felt that the staff was top-notch and helpful. The golf staff always enjoys hearing when guests were able to take advantage of lessons and saw true results as well. We are lucky to have such high caliber golf pros like Jeff Minton who have the ability to turn a golf swing around! I will be sure to share your kind words with Jeff Minton, Cameron Archer and the golf staff. Thank you again for sharing your experiences and I hope to welcome you back to the resort in the future.

Regards,

Frank Fredericks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle of Palms
3.1 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#4 of 5 in Isle of Palms
238 reviews
3 mi away
The Palms Oceanfront Hotel
The Palms Oceanfront Hotel
#3 of 5 in Isle of Palms
605 reviews
5.2 mi away
Comfort Suites at the Isle of Palms Connector
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Homewood Suites Charleston - Mt Pleasant
Homewood Suites Charleston - Mt ...
#11 of 25 in Mount Pleasant
335 reviews
15.5 mi away
Tides Folly Beach
Tides Folly Beach
#1 of 1 in Folly Beach
1,385 reviews
24.8 mi away
The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Dunes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Dunes Resort

Address: 5757 Palm Boulevard, Isle of Palms, SC 29451-2734
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Isle of Palms
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Isle of Palms
Price Range: $139 - $463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wild Dunes Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 458
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Wild Dunes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Dunes Hotel Isle Of Palms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing