We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shipwatch 403A” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wild Dunes Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wild Dunes Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Isle of Palms
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Weaverville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Shipwatch 403A”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We rented Shipwatch 403A this year (9/2012) because the three bedrooms are large and it has three balconies. What a disappointment! Cockroaches, dirty bed linens, no furniture on balconies, vertical blinds missing many slats, washer/dryer didn't work very well, water stained ceilings with flaking paint, many burned out light bulbs, musty odor, empty beer bottles filled with cigarette butts (non-smoking unit), rust on refrigerator, poorly draining bath tubs, security alarm by elevator sounded for three days. I've sent emails to three "property managers" with NO follow up or reply (thought I'd give them a chance before posting this review); I sent pictures of all the above to property management with each email. I expected MUCH better for ~$3,000 for a six night stay. I contacted front desk during our stay but there were NO attempts to fix even minor problems.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Candy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,747
    868
    437
    243
    161
See reviews for
1,639
906
51
361
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

I go to IOP several times a year and I usually stay for a week and rent a condo. This trip we only had one night, so our only option was to stay in a regular "hotel" room at Wild Dunes. We decided to stay at the Boardwalk Inn.

We upgraded to a 5th floor room with a view of the ocean. Although it is not right on the ocean (you could see the ocean over several rooftops and the boardwalk), the view was really nice and did not disappoint. The room was a nice size for 2 people. The king bed was OK. It was a little hard for my taste and the bedding could have been a little more luxurious, but the room was clean, which is very important to me.

We arrived at 4pm for our 4pm check-in, and we were told the room was not ready. Long story short, it was not ready until after 5 due to a shortage of housekeepers that day. This was very disappointing, as we had just driven 5 hours from Atlanta, and we were looking forward to getting to our room and relaxing. We didn't make a big deal about it, because, well, these things happen, but when we asked for a late checkout, we were told they could not guarantee it until the morning. Again, not a big deal...we got a 1pm checkout. I only wished the hotel would have offered some kind of comp for not having the room ready. Nothing major...maybe a free chair rental or a free breakfast, because it was an inconvenience to not be able to check-in on time. That is why I gave Boardwalk Inn 4 stars instead of 5. It would have been a nice show of customer service to get more than an apology for the late check-in. Despite this, I would still recommend the Boardwalk Inn to someone who has a short stay planned for IOP. I think the condo rental is a 3 night minimum.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, request a room on the 5th floor overlooking the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwenn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLUFFTON
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We found a great rate on a Sunday night for our 40th Anniversary at the Boardwalk Inn....unexpected since it is a 4 Diamond "Destination Hotel & Resorts". Located in the Dunes West Resort on the Beach, the Inn has much charm and ambiance with a beautiful restaurant that serves on a outdoor patio and an intimate cocktail lounge. The staff, eventhough fairly low occupancy, gave excellent service and provided lots of comfort. Can't say enough about how great our check in was with Kimberly at the Front Desk (she pleasantly checked us in although we were early)....and as a kind gesture, we were upgraded to a larger room with a large patio and we even received a bottle of wine in honor of anniversary! Unexpected but so appreciated! The location of the Inn is great....just a short "board walk" to the beach where there is the Pavillion Bar and snacks with 2 pools. Great views of the beach from the decks there. There is also a very nice pool at the Inn and lots lounge chairs....not crowded. We stopped by their Market which makes fresh sandwiches and has some basic snacks, etc. sodas and wine so got a picnic lunch and ate outside overlooking the beach. We were casual so went to the Lettered Olive restaurant just a few steps away from the Inn for dinner. The lounge was open only but a good selection on the menu. The kitchen was backed up and there was only 1 server who was also the bartender and she really kept up with the pace and so pleasant trying to please everyone. She made waiting the extra time for our food no problem with her good attitude and letting us know about the time frame so we knew about the wait.
The next day we had an unexpected car problem, but the Valet and the Manager on Duty, as well as the Front Desk Staff, made sure we were comfortable while waiting for the Auto Club and were so nice to help in any way they could. Lucky for us, the tow truck driver with Auto Club knew what the problem was and got it fixed enough for us to get home to the dealer to get it fixed. So saved us a lot of money and time for that issue.
Did not have time to try the Spa or Golf from the short time we were there, but want to go back to stay longer and do more! Go if you can, even if it is not in the summer.....shoulder season has a great service level! Great stay!!! Thank you!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room overlooking their pool. Have breakfast out on their patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scorpio12Bluffton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed in the Village in a 2 bedroom suite. The suite was emaculate. Very spacious and luxurious. We had requested a crib and it was in our room when we arrived. We used the valet 2 to 3 times a day. They knew us by name and were always prompt. We loved having the market where we could get quick items including breakfast. The only thing that we noticed was for families, the restaurants are a little pricey..

Room Tip: corner 2 bedroom suites are large and roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is gorgeous and Clean. But this is our first time to SC and we weren't expecting the racism and nasty ppl. The friendliest were the BellBoys, Cleaning Crew and Manager (he offered to help carry our bags and was so genuinely friendly). But the girl who is supposed to greet ppl NEVER said a peep to me or my family within our 3 day stay. All of us even blessed her as she sneezed as we were leaving and she turned her head and pretended not to hear us.

The people who stayed here weren't friendly either. They acted like we were beneath them, no one says thank you or hi or smiles. That's not just in the hotel but the general area. They were just rude and even though my family doesn't pay much attention to ignorance (our child is special needs and were used to it) it was still disappointing to experience.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank gorgeousma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank F, General Manager at Wild Dunes Resort, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Hello. As Managing Director of Wild Dunes Resort, I regret terribly that your first trip to our resort resulted in your feeling this way. These comments are difficult for me to read. Please know that we value all our guests equally, and we have our team complete extensive customer service training. Your comments suggest to me the need for a reminder of the values we hold as a company and a team. Please know that I have taken your comments to heart, and I would very much appreciate the opportunity to discuss the circumstances your trip so that I may assure that the resort leadership has a heightened awareness. ffredericks@wilddunes.com

Sincerely,
Frank Fredericks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed at one of the Racquet Club Villas in the Wild Dunes Resort. The house was in excellent condition - very clean, great furniture, nicely decorated, perfect location - just a few minutes walk to the beach, hotel, restaurants, shops, fitness center, tennis, and golf facilities.
The beautiful landscaped resort offers a lot for everyone and every age. We love it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DDrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed in the Village. The rooms were clean and airy. The bathrooms aesthetic and roomy. The bathroom amenities nice. We asked for many items from housekeeping - extra towels, robes, an air matress, a second air matress because the first one had a leak. Housekeeping brought everything promptly and with a smile. We used the valet service included with our rental and found the young men efficient and courteous. The food and drink service to the beach was just such a wonderful extra. This is the most expensive "hotels" I have ever stayed at, but they sure deliver on quality of rooms and every service you might want provided with a smile. We hope to make this an annyal destination.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room with a balcony. Sitting out with a bottle of wine was pure luxury.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WIsconsinTravelerToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle of Palms
Seaside Inn
#4 of 5 in Isle of Palms
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#15 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,991 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Dunes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Dunes Resort

Property: Wild Dunes Resort
Address: 5757 Palm Boulevard, Isle of Palms, SC 29451-2734
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Isle of Palms
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Isle of Palms
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wild Dunes Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 458
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Wild Dunes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Dunes Hotel Isle Of Palms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing