We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A lifetime experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wild Dunes Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Wild Dunes Resort to your Saves list
Wild Dunes Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5757 Palm Boulevard, Isle of Palms, SC 29451-2734   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% Off Homes & Condos
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Isle of Palms
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A lifetime experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

My son and I when to Wild Dunes to stay and attend the PGA on Kiawha in August. The resort is 5 star. The rooms are well lit, beds are super comfortable and the bathrooms are spacious, spotless, show with strong pressure. Looks like a recent remodel? My son was super impressed and we got a great nights sleep. All kinds of amenities around the resort including a very large pool and shopping and the ocean.

Room Tip: Ask for the forth floor over the pool which puts you facing the ocean. ask for a room with a balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 54171Frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,393
    646
    305
    195
    127
See reviews for
1,231
711
40
262
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Everything about this property was wonderful, from our room at The Boardwalk Inn to the restaurants, beach area, pools, fitness centers and golf courses. The staff was outstanding any request was responded to swiftly and with a smile. This was our first time staying at Wild Dunes and we will definitely return. This 4 Diamond resort exceeded our expectations in every way.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScarlettOHara915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

My family rented a villa at Seascape. The beach view is fantastic with only a short walk to reach the beach. The villa is well-decorated and very comfortable. Pool is small but nice. Makes for a great vacation.

Room Tip: What ever villa you choose, select on on a higher floor is you want a beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KPHJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

2 adults and 2 kids just returned from a few days at the resort after visiting Charleston. We stayed at the Villages A..a 2 Bdrm The accommodations were spacious and very nice. The beach was awesome. We ate at the Sea Island Grill, food was good. Kids liked the clown on Friday night and the outside movies. Overall a great vacation!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sstringe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Went there w/ few long-time college friends for a mini reunion, and really enjoyed our stay at Wild Dunes. Although we didn't have any kids with us and this place was full of families w/ kids, the resort is so large that it didn't bother us.
PROS: Beautiful and long sandy beach for jogging or biking, nice grounds for walking and biking, plenty of tennis courts which are nicely maintained, nice pool for early morning laps, bike rental, and nice service.
CONS: None really, except we had few minor problems with the condo we stayed at but were quickly fixed! Aldo, the condo's furniture was getting worn out but clean and comfortable.
Charleston is within 20 minutes driving distance which is beautiful and has great restaurants. Also other nice restaurants and shops/stores are within 5-10 minutes driving distance. BTW, when they say rooms won't be ready until after 4pm, they REALLY mean it! So plan accordingly.

Room Tip: Our condo on Racquetclub drive which was right across tennis courts and next to the pool! So, it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShahramMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern VA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Visited in April 2012 with my husband & 3 kids, age 5, 8 & 10. Rented a condo from the website, thought it would be fairly central, although locations were not clear on the website. Got there and had a beat-up, 80's style condo that was a good 15 minute walk from the main complex and the beach (several rows back from beachfront), across fairly busy roads. I was NOT happy, since making this walk with my kids was not easy. Keeping an eye on traffic, listening to tired, hungry kids complain, and carrying a bag full of towels, sunscreen, and water for the day was NOT my idea of vacation. The beach and pool areas were nice, but nothing that special. I expressed my disappointment on several occasions to the management, and the only response I ever got from the management was "we will pass that on at our next manager's meeting". Filled out an email evaluation after we got home, but never got any response. That's ridiculous at any resort, but especially when you are spending that kind of money. I can't believe they are not more concerned with the happiness of their customers. Really disappointed since I grew up spending my summers in South Carolina and had always heard good things about Wild Dunes, how nice it was, but clearly, it is now WAY overrated. Will never waste my money here again. Enjoyed Kiawah for the first half of our trip MUCH more. If I want to be closer to Charleston, next time I will either stay in one of the hotels in downtown or Mount Pleasant/Sullivan's Island. Wild Dunes is about 20-30 minutes from downtown Charleston.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VASouthernGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank F, General Manager at Wild Dunes Resort, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for posting your review. From your words above, it sounds as though we had several opportunities to not only set the right expectation for your vacation experience before arrival, but to make it up to you when those expectations fell short upon check in and even after departure. Please accept my sincere apologies for the failure on our end. I would love the opportunity to welcome you back to Wild Dunes to experience the kind of vacation that you expected and deserved at the outset. Please contact me at ffredericks@wilddunes.com.

Frank Fredericks
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

This is a classy place. Within a gated community, Wild Dunes is a great getaway on the ocean. Great amenities - this is a 4 Diamond resort! We really enjoy the beach there at low tide which is very wide. It's a treat to be able to dine and swim at the beach while living in comfort!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle of Palms
3.1 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#2 of 5 in Isle of Palms
3.5 of 5 stars 152 reviews
24.8 mi away
The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort
11.1 mi away
French Quarter Inn
French Quarter Inn
#3 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 2,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Tides Folly Beach
Tides Folly Beach
#1 of 1 in Folly Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,137 reviews
11.0 mi away
Market Pavilion Hotel
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,134 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Palms Oceanfront Hotel
The Palms Oceanfront Hotel
#4 of 5 in Isle of Palms
3.5 of 5 stars 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Dunes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Dunes Resort

Property: Wild Dunes Resort
Address: 5757 Palm Boulevard, Isle of Palms, SC 29451-2734
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Isle of Palms
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Isle of Palms
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wild Dunes Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 458
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Wild Dunes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Dunes Hotel Isle Of Palms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing