We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villas are a Dump!”
Review of Wild Dunes Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wild Dunes Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Isle of Palms
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 1, 2007

We had a great time on the beach but the Villa we stayed in was a total dump. Smelled of mold and the floor, bathrooms and bedrooms were filty. The carpet was s badly stained and moldy we didn't take our shoes off. The bottom of the bathtub was brown and the linens had makeup stains on them. I don't think they had been changed. The outside was pretty run down too.
Not worth the price. Wish we stayed somewhere else.

Just gross. I would have complained and left if we were staying more than a weekend.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beetle04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,027)
There are newer reviews for Wild Dunes Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,914 - 3,920 of 4,029 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2007

Just got back from a wonderful week on Isle of Palms. The accomodations were not so hot. We stayed in a 3 bedroom, two story condo that was way beyond seeing it's better days. Wallpaper ripped off of walls, carpet shredded, mold in the bath areas. The smell of cat urine was very strong by our front door. Apparently it is privately owned but managed by Resort Quest. Old, dated furnishings, sagging furniture.... Somebody needs to work on this place.
On the upside, all appliances worked, although it's been a long time since I've seen an "antique" microwave with dials. Sheets and towels were clean, but bedspreads were stained.
I will definitely return to the island, but find somewhere else to stay.

Thank lucas1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2007

3 friends and I just returned from a "girls only" weekend at the Villas at Wild Dunes Resort. For most of us, it was our first "girls only" weekend in many years. So, any time to ourselves was much enjoyed!!

Our check-in was pleasant and speedy. Our 2 BR/2 BA Villa was very large and nicely up kept. However, the 2nd bathroom had not been cleaned and the shower was disgusting. But, we called and they came and cleaned it to our liking.

Our first night we ate at Edgar's Bar & Grill at the golf course. The manager was not pleasant and made us feel like we were trash. The food and beverages were over priced and just average.

We had spa treatsments on Saturday, which we truly enjoyed. I had the best massage by Lauren. Zenobia and Ocean did great pedicures. I highly recommend the spa treatments!!

We ate lunch at the Deli. It had very good sandwichs.

All staff members were very helpful and pleasant, with the exception of Edgar's female manager.

Check-out was speedy and pleasant.

I recommend this resort!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Twinzmom40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2007

The Wild Dunes resort was recommended to us by some friends. My wife and I have four kids (ages 13,12,9 and 5), so when we travel we like to have the flexibility of staying in a condo/house yet the amenities of a resort. I have to say this resort was a hit. We arrived and our room was ready. We stayed in the Seagrove Villas which are about 100 yards down the beach from the main resort. It was a two bedroom and had just been refurbished so was in new condition. However, a few minor things were still not finished. Charles at the front desk took care of these immediately and credited our accoutn $200. That is service.

We could have had a three bedroom condo but it was almost a mile down the beach from the resort and our experience is we like to be as close to the resort as possible. It paid off as the kids could walk by themselves to get ice cream etc. at the Boardwalk. Also, they could walk over to the bike rentals and tennis. More on that later.

The resort has everything you could want. We ate at the buffett on the Boardwalk the first night and I have to say it was pretty good. They had a band playing and the kids really enjoyed it also. Now to Seagrove. Great location. You have your own pool which you share with other villas but was never crowded. Also, just steps from the pool is the beach. Get your boogie boards as soon as you arrive because that is all my kids wanted to do. The beach was awesome and where we spent most of our time.

We also played tennis to which we were entitled two hours a day. We did not golf but there is plenty of that also. Great little shop by the tennis center to grab coffee, newspaper, etc. in the morning.

Overall, we would definitely return. A great spot for a beach vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank billgorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2007

My best friend and I took a girls vacation. We spent four nights at the Boardwalk Inn. The resort was perfect for us. We rented bicycles for the four days and rode them everywhere, including the beach where the sand is absolutely perfect. This was the best way to see the entire resort and fun, too. The beach was fabulous and not crowded. The hotel and resort does not nickle and dime you for everything and the drinks were reasonably priced at the bar by the beach. The entire resort is absolutely beautiful. Immaculately manicured, stylish. It has a fantasy feeling to it, sort of a worlk all it's own. The staff, guests and residents were all SO incredibly friendly - not pretentious at all. All of the residents say hello in passing, etc.

While we were not looking for big nightlife, we were looking for an evening spot to relax and found Morgan Creek Grill. Located near the marina, it has live music on the top, open air floor (get there early... sound ordinance shuts them down early). The downstairs portion has a more extensive menu and is probably less casual than upstairs. The food upstairs is not nearly as good, but it sufficed. Food at Edgar's and Boardwalk Inn was very good. We went on to downtown Charleston for the remainder of our vacation. While we enjoyed that portion, too, I think we enjoyed the Wild Dunes so much we would have preferred to stay there.

While this was by no means a cheap vacation, I felt like we definitely got our money's worth. I will definitely return!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whipoorwhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2007

After experiencing issues at a neighboring "resort," we booked a room at Wild Dunes and felt like pampered guests from the first minute in their facility!

Our room was beautiful, the staff was beyond friendly and everything was clean, well-decorated and comfortable.

I highly recommend this Resort, and plan to return again!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank madisoniem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2007

We started visiting Wild Dunes about 13 years ago when it was fairly new. The place was immaculate and just oozed money from every angle. Since then it has been in a constant state of expansion - not upkeep - just building MORE and MORE. The effect is that it's just too densely populated with buildings and people.

The Boardwalk was just being constructed when we first visited. Now the Boardwalk is jam-packed with houses and hotels and condos and PEOPLE!!! Too many people are now squeezed onto the once-exclusive beach.

Yes, some of the ocean-front condos on the far north side of the resort (Port-O-Call) are getting very very close to the water's edge because of beach erosion. On our last visit to Port-O-Call there were huge earth-moving machines hauling sand and trying to keep the beach going. Tractors and eroding beaches do NOT make for a pleasant beach vacation.

Port-O-Call is also showing major signs of aging and lack of upkeep. We visited for the long Labor Day weekend and were met with a dirty and under-construction condo and green-slimy pool that was closed. We called maintenance about the pool and were told that it was closed and would not reopen until maintenance came to clean it and since it was a holiday weekend they wouldn't come to clean it until the following Tuesday after Labor Day...we called on Friday night upon arrival and were checking out on Monday!

These are all examples of falling standards of upkeep, yet they continue to build MORE units. They should concentrate on maintaining what they currently have.

2  Thank tmynatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle of Palms
24.8 mi away
The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort
3.1 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#4 of 5 in Isle of Palms
231 reviews
11.3 mi away
Belmond Charleston Place
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Tides Folly Beach
Tides Folly Beach
#1 of 1 in Folly Beach
1,368 reviews
5.2 mi away
Comfort Suites at the Isle of Palms Connector
11.1 mi away
French Quarter Inn
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Dunes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Dunes Resort

Address: 5757 Palm Boulevard, Isle of Palms, SC 29451-2734
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Isle of Palms
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Isle of Palms
Price Range: $194 - $467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wild Dunes Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 458
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Wild Dunes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Dunes Hotel Isle Of Palms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing