We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will definently be back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Palms Oceanfront Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Palms Oceanfront Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Isle of Palms
Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Will definently be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2009

This trip was a girls get away, and what a wonderful time we had. This was our first time staying at the Palms Hotel, but we have stayed on the isle of Palms many times. We will never stay any where else again. We had a spacious ocean frot room that was right on the water. The staff was so friendly and polite. The hotel was quiet and one of the cleanest beach front hotels we have ever stayed in. Their were bars and nice places to eat with in a block of the hotel. We can't wait to have another girls get away this Spring when everything starts to bloom. Many thanks to the Palms Hotel and their employees.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank odie2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islander084, Assistant General Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2009
It is so nice to read another review of satisfied guests who loved their accommodations and the customer service they received. We look forward to the return of these guests in the spring. That is a nice time of year to visit, and they will be able to enjoy our clean beach even more because of the warmer weather. We, at The Palms, will be happy to welcome them back to our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    171
    107
    93
    90
See reviews for
197
246
22
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingsport,Tn.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2009

We loved the great service we received from Jared, Steve, and staff. The continental breakfast includes biscuits and homemade saugage gravy and it is exceptionally clean.They have an elevator & luggage carts-very convenient. Although they do not have a restaurant, there are 2 restaurants next door. We loved the Banana Cabana[seafood burrito to die for]-courtyard dining in-season. On theolther side is Cocomo Joe,s, a rooftop bar/restaurant with weekend entertainment.The Palms is beachfront with a private walkway to the beach.Though it was the 1st wk of Nov,,the weather was in the 70,s and both the beach and the pool enjoy allday sun..Only 10 minutes to Charleston, making it very convenient. The rooms are small but efficient and very comfortable, and incl frig,microwave, ironing board,and hairdryer and awesome beds and towels.We will be back;hope to see you there!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigorange43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islander084, Assistant General Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2009
We really appreciate being able to read a review that indicates the type of service and product that we try to provide here at The Palms. We do provide the convenience of being located directly on the Atlantic Ocean and only 12 miles north of our beautiful historic city of Charleston. As this guest mentioned you will not be at a loss as to a place to eat. We are between restaurants and there are also other excellent restaurants on the island as well in the historic district of Charleston. I want to thank this guest for their comments and their much valued time in writing this review. We look forward to their future visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2009

The WORST MATTRESSES we have ever attempted to sleep on. EVER! Neither of us slept at all and we were sore and aching the next morning from lying on these rock-hard, spring-less beds. There were other annoyances like the noise from the adjacent hall/mezzanine area, and the tiny size of the room, but all of that could have been dealt with if we could have gotten some sleep. We checked out after one night and relocated to a nearby Hampton Inn where the beds, by that point, felt like clouds. I was informed by The Palms staff that all the mattresses in the entire hotel are identical so ***BEWARE!!!***

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank onen10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islander084, Assistant General Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2009
It is unfortunate to read when a guest isn't satisfied with their accommodations. We can't realistically satisfy everyone that stays here. This incident is an example of that. If you read the review above this one, the guest commented that the beds were very comfortable. We, here at The Palms, have a hard working staff that tries their best to provide excellent customer service and a clean product. That is the best we can do, the rest is left up to personal preferences and that always varies. I want to thank this guest for the time they took to write this review. Their feedback was appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Isle of Palms hotels

CT
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2009

I was here with my spouse last year for a shorter visit. We had also been at Tybee Beach and Savannah,GA. This year we stayed a week at The Palm. We did have an ocean front room. I can not tell you about other rooms. There was a group from a college there which made a bit louder than last time. The hotel did the best they could. The rooms ocean front have a sliding door which looks right out to the ocean. Good size room,the ocean waves at night lulling me to sleep. ahhhhhhh
We did have an end room this year which brings you right next to Coconut Joe's Reggae Sunday or something like that. We were not in the room Friday and Saturday night till late. Saturday we were enjoying music at The Windjammer., It was there pre Hugo and built up again up high.. We have been in the area a few times.
The hotel was clean, the rooms taken care of ,the free breakfast was ok. My husband loves the biscuits and gravy. There is a pool. It was closed in October both times. There are a few places to eat, party or relax. Excellent breakfast place around the corner. I would stay there again, I would go there right now if I could. It is also good place to stay and see Charleston, the plantations and more

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TreeCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islander084, Assistant General Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2009
I want to thank this guest for their review of our hotel. I am very happy to read that they found their accommodations clean. Our oceanfront rooms have their own private balconies that overlook the ocean, but as this guest mentioned, you can be lulled right to sleep just by leaving your sliding glass door open and letting the sound of the waves relax you. We certainly look forward to this guest's return and serving their needs in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2009

Do not be misled by a cozy, attractive lobby. Rooms in this beach side hotel are small, dark and dreary and furnished with old furniture. There is a window through which you can see the ocean if you get an ocean front room. To describe these rooms as no frills is being charitable.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobtNorthCaroli... A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islander084, Assistant General Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2009
I want to thank this guest for the time they took to write this review. I do regret to see that they weren't satisfied with their accommodations. They mentioned that the oceanfront rooms only have a window that looks out to the ocean. The oceanfront rooms actually have sliding glass doors that lead to a private balcony. The partial beach view rooms have a door that lead to a private balcony. The interior rooms have windows that look out into our interior breezeways. I am assuming this guest was in an interior room. I want to thank this guest again for their time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago. ill
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2009

my husband and i stayed in a partial ocean view room. the view was gorgeous. the balcony was a decent size. the room it self was a good size. the hotel was not new, but well maintained. you are right on the beach. the housekeeping staff did a great job, and really tried to make you comfortable. would stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familytravlerchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islander084, Assistant General Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2009
I would like to thank this guests for their review. They mentioned that our property is well maintained, we appreciate them noticing that our staff works really hard to maintain the hotel and make it comfortable for our guests. Our housekeeping staff is very friendly and hardworking. I am glad this guest was so happy with their accommodations, and we will look for them in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
140 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2009

We stayed here 1 night in mid October in a non-view room at a great price. Right on the beach and attached to 3 different restaurants. Can't beat the convenience, views and food at Coconut Joe's right next store. While the lack of on-site parking might be a challenge during the summer, they did say they had a lot behind the shopping center across the street. Parking was not a problem in October. The room was plenty big with a nice sitting area with table and a fridge/freezer combo that worked well. Bed was very comfortable, something you don't always get with smaller independent hotels. Service was great with an easy check-in. I would advise calling the hotel to see what specials they have if you are coming in off-season. Only 15 minutes from Charleston and even closer to numerous dining options in Mt. Pleasant, although we loved the Happy Hour right next door. The pool was still out of order, but it did not matter in October. While the hotel offered Wi-fi, we could never get it to work.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DGStravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islander084, Assistant General Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2009
I want to wholeheartedly thank this guest for this review. I am always so happy to read how much a guest enjoyed their accommodations and appreciated the excellent service our staff works so hard to provide. It is nice to be located on the beach and also very close to the beautiful historic district of Charleston. It's nice to be able to enjoy both areas. I want to thank this guest again, and we look forward to their return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle of Palms
Seaside Inn
#4 of 5 in Isle of Palms
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,687 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Tides Folly Beach
#1 of 1 in Folly Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palms Oceanfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Oceanfront Hotel

Property: The Palms Oceanfront Hotel
Address: 1126 Ocean Blvd, Isle of Palms, SC 29451-2281
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Isle of Palms
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Isle of Palms
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Palms Oceanfront Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*** ATTENTION as of Friday, December 18, 2015 *** The Palms Hotel officially closed on Friday, December 18, 2015 due to extensive renovations to common areas, guest room, and guest areas! We look forward to re-opening the hotel late 2016. Thank you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your The Palms Oceanfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palms Hotel Isle Of
Palms Isle Of

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing