We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed The Palms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Palms Oceanfront Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Isle of Palms
Maryland, New York
1 review
“Enjoyed The Palms”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Me and my fiancé was in the area looking for hotels and we stumble across the Plams- Well this hotel was the best. We loved everything about it. With the best hospitality that we could ask for, we was greeted by Ms. Kia From BOSTON' ( Are Yankey Friend) lol.. ooohh she was so kind, and so helpful. Kia explain each room type, and also let us see the room before we book it. We chosen the Oceanfront room. Clean, smell good Best view on the beach. Breakfast was good, Housekeeping was excellent. I believe her name was Eta, she was very helpful when we needed extra towel's and soap. We only wanted to stay for 1 night. But the way the hotel was with the staff we did 3 nights!!! We was very much pleased.

Room Tip: Oceanfront Room's The Best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angel S, Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Hello Mary H! Thank you so much for writing a review for our hotel. Kia and Etta were so excited to see their names in your review. We are so glad that the pride we take in customer service and cleanliness was manifested in your experience to the point that you extended your stay. We certainly hope you plan to stay with us again. We look forward to seeing you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    172
    107
    93
    90
See reviews for
198
246
22
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thomson, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We were in the area for business in North Charleston and took an extra night for R&R. The Palms was exactly what we needed! After reading other reviews online, I was concerned, but called and was reassured that any issues were corrected. We were very pleasantly surprised with our room and it's location. We choose a beachfront king suit and it was perfect. It's not the Ritz. Nor did we want it to be. It's a beach hotel. Everything was clean and in working order. Staff was extremely helpful and friendly. And being within close walking distance to restaurants, bars, shops and the beach, what else could you ask for? If you want a beach view, ask for it and pay the extra $ and you'll love it.

Room Tip: Beach Front if you want a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmyKiel29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angel S, Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Hello AmyKiel29! Thank you so very much for taking the time to provide feedback about your stay with us. We are so excited that you enjoyed your stay and got the rest and relaxation you needed. We really appreciate your giving us the opportunity to provide you with clean accommodations and excellent customer service. We are glad you will be back and look forward to serving your needs again. Again thank you for the review, and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed here recently for a concert at the Windjammer. It's located directly on the beach and within walking distance to shops, restaurants and bars … you can park your car and not move it until you go home.

After reading some of the other reviews I was a little wary of booking a room, however unlike some of the others I was pleasantly surprised, and the room we had was very nice and clean.

Breakfast was okay … it's like every other hotels continental breakfast.

Our only complaint is the elevator, I was so afraid that it might break down with us in it that we only used it once.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobbyarcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angel S, Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for your review bobbyarcher. I am glad you did not let the negative reviews keep you from trying us for yourself. I was glad to read that you were satisfied with your accommodations and found breakfast to be standard of most hotels. I hope you enjoyed your concert at the Windjammer, and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

We called an got Susan at the reception desk she was so friendly an informative that we booked the room .when we got in the rm we had some issues that angle the manager addressed immediately with a smile an much apology she even took some off our night rm..now that's the way to do business..thank u angle..we will return!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angel S, Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you very much Rodney M for taking the time to write a review for The Palms. I am glad to see that you did not let the issues with your room deter you from returning to stay with us. I was more than happy to address the issues immediately as I want my guests to be comfortable during their stay. Susan was also delighted that you were happy with her customer service. We look forward to serving your needs again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

This is one of a few places to stay on the Isle other than villa's and condo's. The building is only 14 years old but looks much older. The rooms were very well dressed and comfortable. The beds were soft and the desk managers were very nice and helpful. If you want the ocean be sure to get the beachfront or room 323 or 321 which are called coastal views. The others are not much. The second level maybe? 2 complaints. the elevator was creepy. We called it cranky and we were scared sometimes. Also the Banana Cabana next door was loud until 10 but it sure did smell good. Rates are reasonable off season.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angel S, Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you so much Richard R. for your review. Your feedback was deeply appreciated. I am so glad that you found the desk staff to be polite and helpful to you. I am also glad that you slept comfortably on our pillow top mattresses. We are gradually making improvements to our hotel, so I appreciate your voicing your concerns. We do advise guests during peak season that we sit between restaurants and there is the possibility of music. It is rare that we receive a complaint during such a slower time, so I apologize that this wasn't mentioned to you. I want to thank you again for taking the time to write a review for us. We do hope you return to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Coming back for our anniversary, we decided to stay at the beach. The Palms Oceanfront is one of the few hotels that have suites with balconies overlooking the beach. Always nice to go out there at night and see all the stars and leave the door open to hear the surf to put you to sleep at night! Very good value for the money and breakfast is included too!

Room Tip: Beach front with balconies are always a plus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elcid81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angel S, Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
I appreciate this guest choosing to stay with us during such a special occasion as their anniversary. I am glad they enjoyed the beautiful views and sounds of the ocean. I want to thank them for taking the time to write a review for us, and I hope they intend to return to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We bid on a room for 2 nights thru Priceline, got one for $66/night, cheap for beachfront (basis for "very good" rating). Spacious room, only blemish was a stain on the rug, otherwise A-OK. No outside window, unfortunately.

Room Tip: Check for an upgrade to beach-view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiftonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angel S, Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
I would like to thank this guest for writing a review for our hotel. I am glad they were satisfied with their accommodations and got such a great deal. I do hope this guest intends to stay with us again. I appreciate the time they took to provide feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle of Palms
0.1 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#4 of 5 in Isle of Palms
223 reviews
3.7 mi away
Comfort Suites at the Isle of Palms Connector
Comfort Suites at the Isle of Pa...
#10 of 25 in Mount Pleasant
245 reviews
12.7 mi away
Tides Folly Beach
Tides Folly Beach
#1 of 1 in Folly Beach
1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort
3.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden Charleston Mount Pleasant
8.4 mi away
Belmond Charleston Place
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palms Oceanfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Oceanfront Hotel

Property: The Palms Oceanfront Hotel
Address: 1126 Ocean Blvd, Isle of Palms, SC 29451-2281
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Isle of Palms
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Isle of Palms
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Palms Oceanfront Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*** ATTENTION as of Friday, December 18, 2015 *** The Palms Hotel officially closed on Friday, December 18, 2015 due to extensive renovations to common areas, guest room, and guest areas! We look forward to re-opening the hotel late 2016. Thank you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Palms Oceanfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palms Hotel Isle Of
Palms Isle Of

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing