We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trapped in Bathroom”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Palms Oceanfront Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Isle of Palms
Charlotte, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Trapped in Bathroom”
Reviewed July 22, 2008

My husband & I are were visiting Charleston, SC for the first time and booked a room after finding the Isle of Palms on the internet. They were kind enough to allow us an early check-in but it only got worse from this point. We entered the room to a find a very small & dark space, very old and run down with a strong dusty & "old" type of odor. The furniture was in poor and very dated condition. We stepped out on the balcony which was suppose to be partial Ocean View to find an overgrown Palm Tree taking up what little space was on the balcony and blocking our view of the Ocean.

The bathroom was tiny and very old and outdated (not clean, dirt & ketchup or some type of debris on the bathroom door). The door was difficult to close but impossible to open. I tried to open for a minute or two and had to yell for my husband to open. It took him a few seconds to open (is this a fire hazard)? All I could think of is what if I had been staying at the hotel by myself - I would have been locked in. The bed was king sized and took up 75% of the space in the room so it felt dark (limited lighting), musty smelling, confined with a very old comforter and decor. We decided not to stay in the overpriced room (over $200.00) and asked for a refund. The staff was friendly and agreed to let us check out and charged a 50.00 cleaning fee. The hotel is right on the beach which is a selling point but it has an outdoor bar within inches and this could pose a problem in the evening - we didn't stay long enough to find out.....

  • Liked — beach front location
  • Disliked — Cleanliness of the hotel, small room, very outdated, musty odor & bathroom door didn't work- locked in
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TEtraveler34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islandlife00, General Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2008
The palms hotel always tries to accommodate our guests either it be with early check ins, late check outs, or for a different room location. Our rooms are slightly larger than your average hotel room and come equipped with several light sources. Any time their is a maintenance issue in a room or on property we take care of it right away. We are located between two nice restaraunts that have outdoor seating. We always welcome guest's reviews and comments about our property so that we can provide the best accommodations and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    172
    107
    93
    90
See reviews for
198
246
22
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2008

The Palms Hotel was a pretty decent hotel on a beach where there is very little to choose from as far as hotels are concerned. The area is mostly condos and private homes.

We found our room to be adequate. Nothing fancy whatsoever. Seemed clean.

Easy access to the beach.

Even though parking is in a lot across the street, it is convenient. It is very crowded ont he weekends as it is a public lot-not just for hotel guests.

We found the breakfast bar to be good. Would have liked to have seen some yogurt and fresh fruit of some kind. A kids dream breakfast-waffles, bagels, biscuits, donuts, ect... Lots of carbs!

  • Liked — Access to the beach.
  • Disliked — The walk under the building to get to the beach.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cemorzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islandlife00, General Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2008
The palms hotel is always looking for guest feedback so that we can praise our staff or improve the hotel. There are not many hotels on the Isle of Palms to choose from. We take pride in being one of the hotels that consistently provides nice and clean accommodations on the beach. Our parking lot is owned by the city and it is permited parking only. Our guests always are guarnteed a spot in that lot. We are constantly changing up the items on our breakfast bar, so that we can provide a variety of items. I want to thank this guest for taking the time to write their review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granger, IN
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2008

Our family had never been to this part of the country before and were in need of some relaxing time together. The Palms Hotel completely fit the bill. Our ocean front room was spacious and literally steps away from the boardwalk to the beach.

With our door open at night, we could listen to the roar of the waves.

The beach was clean and gave us plenty of space to spread out, go for walks, and enjoy the sunrises and sunsets.

The staff was very helpful and the breakfasts were sufficient to get the day going.

We will be staying again if we make it back to the area. Highly recommend for the whole family.

  • Liked — location to the beach
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2008

As a resident of Charleston, it was such a treat to stay overnight at the beach and enjoy a "stay-cation". Our room at the Palms had a balcony over looking the water and beach- beautiful views. our room was so spacious and had all the amenites. the hotel was clean, neat and friendly staff. there was a complimentary "continental" breakfast, what a wonderful variety of breakfast items, a real treat. we also enjoyed the restaurants, bars and shops, right outside our hotel. I loved having a tropiclal drink nextdoor, overlooking the ocean. good value for ocean front room. we plan to return to the Palms soon because we really had a ball there!

  • Liked — Cleanliness and views
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyndalane1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacolet
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2008

Our family stayed at the Palms Hotel last week. Our room was clean and housekeeping was very prompt each morning. The pool was clean and never overcrowded. We enjoyed being so close to local restaurants, gift shops, and the beach. We'd definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Close proximity to the beach
  • Disliked — 2 double beds in room-too small for 2 adults to sleep in!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank redheadclemsontiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islandlife00, General Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2008
I would like to thank this guest for sharing their comments on tripadvisor. The Palms Hotel always provides the best customer service and accommodations possible. I will look into getting queen size beds when it is time to renovate the hotel. We are always looking for guest feedback so that we can make improvements at the Palms Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, VA
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2008

Husband and I stayed two nights here last week. It was an ok motel for the price and location. It was clean, but does need an update! The front desk staff was very nice. The housekeeping service could be better. We did not get cups, bath mat, coffee, etc. on our second day and they left our dirty wash cloths, etc. in the bathroom. All of this was "little" things to us, however, our big problem with them was the elevator! It was terrible! You did not know if you would get stuck or what! They really need to update! We was only on it one time and that cured us! We had to use the steps and since I am disabled, that was not easy! Be careful booking on the website of the hotel. I thought I would have a king bed and it ended up being two (they called it double) beds. I called them 3/4 beds. We both could not sleep in one and so for the first time in our married life we slept apart. We enjoyed the area and thought the people were friendly and we would probably stay again if they get a new elevator or I could get 1st floor!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — elevator
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachboomers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
1 review
Reviewed June 5, 2008

nice location, clean rooms, friendly staff. perfect access to beach and close by beach bars and restaurants.

  • Liked — close to everything
  • Disliked — a bit older, needs a little updating
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank babyandbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle of Palms
0.1 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#4 of 5 in Isle of Palms
225 reviews
3.7 mi away
Comfort Suites at the Isle of Palms Connector
Comfort Suites at the Isle of Pa...
#10 of 25 in Mount Pleasant
246 reviews
12.7 mi away
Tides Folly Beach
Tides Folly Beach
#1 of 1 in Folly Beach
1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort
3.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden Charleston Mount Pleasant
8.4 mi away
Belmond Charleston Place
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palms Oceanfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Oceanfront Hotel

Property: The Palms Oceanfront Hotel
Address: 1126 Ocean Blvd, Isle of Palms, SC 29451-2281
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Isle of Palms
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Isle of Palms
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Palms Oceanfront Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*** ATTENTION as of Friday, December 18, 2015 *** The Palms Hotel officially closed on Friday, December 18, 2015 due to extensive renovations to common areas, guest room, and guest areas! We look forward to re-opening the hotel late 2016. Thank you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Palms Oceanfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palms Hotel Isle Of
Palms Isle Of

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing