We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Palms Oceanfront Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Palms Oceanfront Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Isle of Palms
Canton, Georgia
2 reviews
“Very nice place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

My wife and I stayed during the month of November, off season. Great price, free parking, the staff is extremely nice. Beach was clean, people in the ocean! Restaurant and stores are all open.
Will plan it again for next year!

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lehigh5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islander084, Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
I would like to thank this guest for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. I am so delighted that they were satisfied with their accommodations and the customer service received. Coming to the beach in the off season is a plus because of the free parking, and the beach is not nearly as crowded as during the summer. It is also fairly good weather still in November to enjoy the beach. I do look forward to these guests staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    171
    107
    93
    90
See reviews for
197
246
22
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rocky Mount, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

After reading all the reviews concerning the bad smell in these rooms, I was ready to complain and try to get a refund from my Priceline win for this Hotel. I had it all planned out. The hotel is old. The elevator is slow. I liked the breezeway that they have built into the hallways. Nice so you can get a good cross breeze into your room if needed between the door and the balcony. We actually used that all weekend. I entered the room expecting a strong smell but was surprised there wasn’t any odor in the room. Yes, it’s old, outdated, but who cares? When on vacation why would you want to stay in your room other than to sleep or rest. There were a couple of hairs on the sheets. The bathroom floor and shower floor were a little dingy, some from wear, some from lack of cleaning. There was definitely some deep cleaning needed but nothing was dirty that bothered me. I’m talking about in the corners, dust on the doors and mirrors and such. I had the heat on at first but later it got too warm so I turned the air on. That’s when the aroma of urine filled the air. I feel that at least in my room on the 3rd floor that the smell is coming from air conditioner. I quickly turned the ac off and just used the balcony door to cool off the room. Saturday night the elevator wasn’t working but it was on Sunday morning. It must have just needed to reset or something. I only used the continental breakfast to get some hot chocolate for my sore throat. I will say that it didn’t look good at all. The person working to keep it up was very rude one morning but Sunday morning she actually said hi.

Room Tip: Don't use the air conditioner
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank outbackpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islander084, Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
I really appreciate the time this guest took to write a review for the hotel. The honesty in their feedback is important to us and helps us to improve in areas that we can control. I do want to apologize for the inconveniences this guest experienced. I also would like to apologize for the attitude of the breakfast hostess. I will be sharing this guest's comments with her and with housekeeping. I regret that this guest did not have a conversation with management while they were here, but again having the information now is helpful. I do hope this guest will return to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Isle of Palms hotels

Lexington
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

I used points to reserve a king ocean view room for one night. I needed to stay an extra night (that I was paying for) but was unable to have the king room for both nights so I settled for an interior room with double beds. The window is to an open ended inside corridor. Very noisy with AC and other guests. The worst part was when I pulled back the bed covers to find sheets with hair all over them. After politely complaining to the desk clerk I was given a clean set of sheets to replace the obvious soiled sheets. The clerk managed a half-hearted apology and said he would make a note of what occured. I never received a call or acknowlegment from management. If your're staying in an ocean front room you might be okay, but there is no deck or outdoor facilities on the oceanfront. Will not stay here again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JodiLexington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islander084, Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
The time this guest took to write a review for us was appreciated. I do want to apologize for the guest finding the sheets in that condition. That is certainly not acceptable. I also want to apologize for the clerk's half-hearted apology. He did make a notation of the situation and we definitely addressed it with housekeeping. Even though this guest said they would never return to stay with us, I do hope they would reconsider, and come and experience the service indicative of The Palms Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed for one night for the Southern Ground Festival. We had to check in late since we were at the concert all day. They were accommodating for the late arrival and they were waiting for us to arrive. The room was on the third floor and had a side view to the ocean. The room was clean and spacious for a regular king hotel room. The ice machine on the third floor was not working properly so we had to go to the first floor. Also the machine requires a room key to get ice. We didn't get to enjoy the pool or beach during this quick trip, but I would return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmcurtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islander084, Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
I would like to thank this guest so much for writing a review for the hotel. It is unfortunate that their stay was so short, but I am glad that they found their accommodations to be clean and spacious. I do hope they return soon and will be able to stay a lot longer next time. I want to thank them again for their time in sharing their review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

I liked how the hotel was so close to everything. We literally walked everywhere from our hotel. It is right on the beach and there are several places to eat right beside the hotel. Shopping is close but better shopping is 20 minutes away in Charleston. The pool is pretty small but looked pretty clean and their continental breakfast was decent. We had a King Suite with an Ocean view which was nice but slightly below my standards.

Room Tip: There are maybe 12-16 rooms with an ocean view. We were second floor in the middle with a view and l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AshleyMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islander084, Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
I really appreciate this guest's review. I was glad to read that they enjoyed their view of the ocean and the convenience of having dining and some shopping close by. I do agree the shopping in downtown Charleston is wonderful. Again, I really appreciate this guest's time, and I thank them for writing a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogersville, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

This was our second trip to Isle of Palms, and our second stay at The Palms. We go in October which is great weather and not very many people. We arrived, unloaded our things, parked our car, and never got back in it until we were ready to leave. The beach is beautiful and not crowded. The hotel is older, but it was clean and quiet. Relaxing was all we wanted. We ate at the places next door and the pizza shop across the street. The hotel provided an adequate breakfast. When we were ready to leave, our car didn't start, but no problem. A fireman, at the firehouse nearby, gave us a hand and we were off in ten minutes. Friendly people, uncrowded beach, and relaxation made it a great experience. Maybe not the most exciting place for the young people, but just perfect for us.

Room Tip: We were in a partial view. It was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islander084, Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
I want to start out with thanking this guest for being a repeat guest. I was so delighted to read that this guest again enjoyed their stay. It is always nice to read when a guest is able to relax during their stay, that is the point of taking a vacation. When I read that a guest can park their car and never get back into it until they leave, it makes me feel good. It was also nice to read of the help they received from the Fire Department. They really are a great group of men and women. I do hope this guest comes back to see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

There were only 2 hotels on the isle of palms so we could not be too picky. It is an older hotel and needs updating. The elevator will take you 3 times longer than the stairs. The unloading zone is ridiculous - you get blocked in and cant get out - parking is across the street behind the shops there. If you are looking at a short stay with a short drive into Charleston, it is acceptable. There are not any restaurants nearby but Charleston is only 2o min away. The breakfast at the hotel is acceptable.

Room Tip: The only rooms with a true view are the oceanfront on the 3rd level and up. I would not pay for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jr905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islander084, Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
I appreciate this guest taking the time to write a review for our hotel. They were not overly impressed with our facilities, but I am glad they found some positives. I just want to clear up that there are restaurants near the hotel, there are at least 5 within walking distance. There are also a few others on the island that are a short drive, not to mention the restaurants on our neighboring island that are also a short drive. However, driving into Charleston is nice, and there are tons of options there. I want to thank this guest for their time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle of Palms
Seaside Inn
#4 of 5 in Isle of Palms
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,686 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Tides Folly Beach
#1 of 1 in Folly Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palms Oceanfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Oceanfront Hotel

Property: The Palms Oceanfront Hotel
Address: 1126 Ocean Blvd, Isle of Palms, SC 29451-2281
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Isle of Palms
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Isle of Palms
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Palms Oceanfront Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*** ATTENTION as of Friday, December 18, 2015 *** The Palms Hotel officially closed on Friday, December 18, 2015 due to extensive renovations to common areas, guest room, and guest areas! We look forward to re-opening the hotel late 2016. Thank you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your The Palms Oceanfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palms Hotel Isle Of
Palms Isle Of

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing