We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Palms Oceanfront Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Isle of Palms
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Staying at The Palms costs an arm, a leg, and your firstborn child-- and while it has some things going for it, it is simply not worth the price. The rooms are pretty shabby, the bathrooms need updating, and the paint is starting to peel. The ocean-facing rooms feature gorgeous views, and the staff is very nice-- but it's still not worth the astronomical financial outlay.

Room Tip: Be prepared to pay even more for an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islander084, Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
We appreciate this guest taking the time to write a review for our hotel. We are happy to read that this guest found the location and the view from the room to be satisfactory. We are also glad they found the staff to be friendly. Maybe this guest will be willing to stay with us in the slower seasons when the rates are more moderate. We certainly hope this guest will consider that, and we thank this guest again for their time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    172
    107
    93
    90
See reviews for
198
246
22
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairbury, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We had a wonderful time staying at the Palms the first part of August. Our room overlooked the ocean and there are two wonderful restaurants on each side of the hotel. Not sure where the bad room review from KADER M came from. Our room was spotless and cleaned every day. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naturesdesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islander084, Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
We are so delighted to read a review of a satisfied guest. The fact that they found their accommodations clean, their view beautiful, and our location convenient to good dining makes us happy. We certainly look forward to serving this guest's needs in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I came down to attend a friends wedding and thought this would be decent place to stay since I had stayed here years ago when it was a Holiday Inn. At that time it was new, nice and clean for the price paid. Is I pulled up the hotel I could tell it had not been kept up from the facade of the hotel open entering the stairs to the lobby I noticed trash and the almost worn down railing for the stairs. I checked in and headed the room which was an "oceanfront studio suite". When I opened the door I smell from the room hit me like a ton of bricks and was not a pleasant one like walking into a Marriott room. You could tell that they have done NOTHING to the rooms since it was first built and put into operation. The carpets were so nasty and stained I would not walk on them barefoot! The bedding and furniture had multiple stains on them. Although the A/C unit did work it sounded like a freight train coming through the room. In the bathroom most the towels had stains on them and it looked as if it had been wiped down at best! There were several head and pubic hair's on the tub, toilet and sink. The worst and most dangerous part of the room was the mold that was growing on the ceiling and walls. I filed an official complaint with the SC Dept of Health upon my return home. They are charging WAY to much money for this dump. You would MUCH better off paying more money and staying at one of the MUCH nicer hotels on the connector. I also contacted management and do you think I got a response nope! If you need a suggestion of where to stay let me know, if you need one where you should not I can name one for sure - The Palm's Hotel - Isle of Palms, SC!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rlyon1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islander084, Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
It is unfortunate that this guest was unsatisfied with their accommodations. I would like to mention that management was not notified of this guest's displeasure. Had we been aware, we would definitely have addressed their concerns. His review was shared with the housekeeping staff. I do apologize that this guest felt ignored, but we would never ignore our guests. We appreciate this guest's time in writing this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Isle of Palms hotels

Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

In a prime location, there wasn't much to complain about. The hotel is right on the ocean, about 8 miles from Historic Charleston. The room we stayed in had an ocean view, and the restaurant next door played Caribbean music until about 10 pm some nights, which was actually quite enjoyable:) It is a beach hotel, so the stairwells open right up to the beach. The stairwells could stand to be re-painted. The hotel provides complimentary breakfast which is nothing special. I ate cereal each day. Our room was clean, and the staff were friendly.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room facing the ocean!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betsy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islander084, Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
We appreciate so so much that this guest took the time to write a review for us. We are delighted that they found their accommodations to be clean, the staff to be friendly, and our location to be ideal. This guest mentioned the stairwell needing paint. We agree, it is always an off season project, and now that we are starting to slow down a little, we will get the needed painting scheduled. Again, we appreciate this guest's time, and we thank them for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We book online from 07/28/12 to 08/05/12.
First impression when we came in the room, it was dark no window, it smell really bad, the mold were all over in the bathroom. We do not want to check the bed.
It was a nightmare. We end up to stay only 1 night and since it was saturday we have to paid almost 300$ for a front beach hotel...

Room Tip: To avoid to book online. Just find a hotel when you are in the area. There are a lot of hotels avail...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KADER M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islander084, Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Even though they weren't satisfied with the accommodations, we appreciate this guest taking the time to write a review for us. We hope that they are assured that their comments are taken seriously. Again, we would like to thank them for their time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

First let me say that the hotel staff was very nice and the rooms kepts very clean. I have no problem with the staff at all. I am dissapointed with the cost of the room compared to a worn out hotel. Breakfast was ok but not great...places like Comfort Inn are much better quality. You have to pay for parking, there is none on site. The hotel doesnt look like the photo...the side of the buidling has been torn off. Structural members under the building have a ton of flaking rust on them. Near the wash off area for sand it smells like sewage and trash. the room is outdated and very damp. AC unit worked in surges...never got it to be a good temperature. the breezeway in front of the rooms gets extremely hot. It must have been 120 degrees on the first floor in the common area. Room is damp and we were sneezing the whole time due to mold. We have stayed in several hotels and cottages in the Charleston area and never one like this. A hotel should not be in this condition....time to gut or tear down and rebuild. Oh and those other comments about the noise, yes you are between two bars that have live music. we were prepared for it and yes it got loud...not for a light sleeper.

Room Tip: ask to see the room before you take it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fyrman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islander084, Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
We always regret to read when a guest isn't completely satisfied with their stay. We are happy to read that they found the rooms to be clean and the staff to be friendly because those things are important to us. We do appreciate this guest taking the time to write a review and the things that are within our control to change, we will be taking care of those matters. We do hope this guest would reconsider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

This was our first vacation to Charleston and the main reason we came was to visit the beach. We contemplated staying downtown and just driving to the beach due to limited choices for ocean front hotels, but ended up booking at The Palm. The price was less expensive compared to downtown and the convenience of being on the beach was great. Also we found that it was a very short and nice commute to downtown so we were happy with our choice.
The front desk staff was helpful and polite. No complaints there. We had an interior room which was fine but could use some updating. We didn't have any problems with a musty or moldy smell and the beds were pretty comfortable. The beach access was great and we were not bothered by any odors outdoors. The hotel is in the middle of 2 resteraunts so the only thing I smelled a slight hint of was grease but it wasn't over powering. Even though the parking is across the street we didn't find that problematic. We were able to unload/load easily and walking to and from the car was really no longer than if you had to park in a big garage.
Overall the price for the location and quality was good. Although it wasn't a plush hotel we would consider staying here again on future trips. If the hotel made a few upgrades to the rooms it could really take this place to the next level.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki_Luke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islander084, Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
We are so delighted to read this guest's review. We really appreciate their taking the time to write one for us. We are glad that they were satisfied with their accommodations and the friendliness of the staff. We are also happy they enjoyed the convenience of the location, being close enough to Charleston to still enjoy the sights, but having the luxury of staying right on the beach. We do hope they will stay with us again, we look forward to serving them in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle of Palms
Seaside Inn
#4 of 5 in Isle of Palms
207 reviews
Tides Folly Beach
#1 of 1 in Folly Beach
1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
1,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palms Oceanfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Oceanfront Hotel

Property: The Palms Oceanfront Hotel
Address: 1126 Ocean Blvd, Isle of Palms, SC 29451-2281
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Isle of Palms
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Isle of Palms
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Palms Oceanfront Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*** ATTENTION as of Friday, December 18, 2015 *** The Palms Hotel officially closed on Friday, December 18, 2015 due to extensive renovations to common areas, guest room, and guest areas! We look forward to re-opening the hotel late 2016. Thank you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Palms Oceanfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palms Hotel Isle Of
Palms Isle Of

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing