We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not top rate, but great views”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isle of Palms
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Cabins and Oceanside Villas
Reviewed May 31, 2011

We stayed at the Sea Cabins 3rd week of May. It was obvious to us that the present owners are doing updates. The stairs had all been replaced recently, and the entire place had been painted. The room, while horribly outdated, was at least clean and the towels were A-rated. The bedspread/pillows were worn out though and should be replaced. The stove was awful and the toaster was so old/rusted, the button would barely push down. The carpeting was old and the furniture questionable. However, it was a perfect location for ocean view, proximity to beach and the few restaurants within walking distance. We had free parking. We had no problem with noise until the last night (a Saturday). It's also just a short drive to a very nice grocery and Target. All of this being said, I credit the cleaning staff for doing their utmost to have the room presentable. We did see in a few rooms that have received upgrades. I suspect they are doing them a little at a time. We normally would stay at a slightly better place, but money was tight so this turned out as well as we could have hoped.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hale-Bop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 81 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2010

Really dissatisfied during our recent stay at Sea Cabins #301. Upon arrival the unit was infested with fleas. We made several calls and did not hear back from anyone. Maintenance showed up a day later and sprayed. The fleas returned immediately. The refrigerator was old, dirty and made significant noise. It did not make a tight seal and condensation formed horribly and much food had to be discarded at first as it was soaked. We finally learned that only the top shelf could be used.

The rug was filthy and flea infested as well as the couch. This left the family nowhere to sit. As the children were afraid of all the insects and bug bites they incurred in the room; they could not wait to leave and go home. THIS WAS A FIRST!

I find it interesting that you can be charged $25 for failing to bring out the garbage, strip the beds and start a dishwasher; yet we had to pay a significant amount to stay in a bug infested unit and no recourse. The unit put a damper on our stay in Isle of Palms and I would not recommend Sea Cabins.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank pgorney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2009

The unit was ok...i guess we got what we paid for. Very outdated, overlooked the parking lot, public beach access right outside the unit, on main drag with lots of traffic and noise. The beach was packed with people - mostly "daycationers"! Just a lot of people and "rift raft"! While we had a good time we don't plan to visit this complex again. Would much prefer to spend another $100 and stay at Wild Dunes...The owner of the place, Bonnie, was great to work with - very efficient, timely and made it very easy. We were just looking for something a little more upscale and private.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aneighbors2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2009

we have stayed here twice and cannot beat the price for a beachfront property!! It is not the Taj Mahal, but very clean and so convenient to the beach, shops and restaurants... The pier is awesome and can only be accessed by guests of the sea cabins...never had any problem with parking, or anyone else using the pool as another reviewer said... we are going back again in October.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aeiou23rn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2009

I was not very impressed with this property. Here are just a few of my concerns.
1. The pool and the beach are gated with a code for access, however I noticed people using the pool and beach who were not guest of this complex.
2. The public beach is right next door to this complex and people who are not staying at this complex use the parking lot to park so they won't have to pay to park.
3. At 1:30 in the morning on a Wednesday night there were people in the pool horsing around and being very loud.
4. On the weekends traffic is a nightmare. Waited 30 min to reached the entrance of this complex.
5. No elevators!

Would not stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Georgiatravelqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2009

Isle of Palms will always hold a special place in my heart. My husband and I honeymooned there nearly 15 years ago. Since then, we have vacationed there every year. Last year, we visited four times. Every visit, we have stayed at the Sea Cabins. Never had a problem. We enjoy the private pier (my husband loves to fish) and sitting on the private balcony. The complex is very close to the beach, which makes it convenient for those who love to walk the beaches. Each condo is privately owned, so decor and amenities differ slightly. We have stayed in a lot of them obviously, and have picked our favorites. We are returning again in June and I can't wait.

Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
Thank knoxmomof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2007

We stayed a week at the Sea Cabins-Oceanside Villas from August, 4 -11, 2007. As the old saying goes, "you get what you pay for!" Although the rates were very reasonable, and the grounds and beach access were favorable, our villa unit was crawling with roaches. We called the management and no one responded. The unit across from ours had dirty linens that remained bagged up in front of the door ALL WEEK. Thus, we had a negative "first impression" and would not recommend this condo complex unless you have a greater tolerance for creepy crawlers than we do!

BigMackNC

4  Thank BigMack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle of Palms
0.2 mi away
The Palms Oceanfront Hotel
The Palms Oceanfront Hotel
#3 of 5 in Isle of Palms
7 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#4 of 5 in Isle of Palms
247 reviews
3.6 mi away
Comfort Suites at the Isle of Palms Connector
Comfort Suites at the Isle of Pa...
#11 of 25 in Mount Pleasant
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden Charleston Mount Pleasant
2.9 mi away
Homewood Suites Charleston - Mt Pleasant
5.5 mi away
Shem Creek Inn
Shem Creek Inn
#4 of 25 in Mount Pleasant
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Cabins and Oceanside Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Cabins and Oceanside Villas

Address: 1304 Palm Blvd, Isle of Palms, SC 29451-2233
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Isle of Palms
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Isle of Palms
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Sea Cabins Oceanside Villas Hotel Isle Of Palms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing