We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Tour”

Barrier Islands Eco Tours
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Tour”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I really enjoyed the Capers Island Wildlife tour. Our guide was amazing! He was very knowledgeable of the area and had a wealth of information about the wildlife. He also was able to show us a blow fish, crabs and a few dolphins in the area. The walk along the beach at Capers Island was also very nice. I would definitely recommend this tour. You will not be disappointed.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dyan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    315
    16
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manalapan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
365 reviews
198 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Fun if you are into nature”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

My wife and I are both enjoy nature, and went on this with a group of about 8. The tour guide was excellent, informative and funny. We saw dolphins, birds, crabs, etc. The stop on Capers Island was nice with cool shells. I walked inland on the island path, which is very different and beautiful, but was nearly devoured by mosquitoes. Be sure to bring and apply bug spray if you do this.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Proclaimer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern US
Level Contributor
100 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great morning!”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I probably can't add much except to agree with the glowing reviews. The guide (a former school teacher) was able to impart a huge amount of information about the marshes, the wildlife, the accretion and erosion of a barrier island, and the Intracoastal Waterway in a very breezy, laid-back way. No question seemed to stump him. He kept the attention of everyone - children to seniors.

We were lucky enough to see several dolphins. And Capers Island (accessible only by water) with its "bone yard beach" was just beautiful.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Yankeeinexile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“History & Maritime Mystery Tour was Amazing!”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We have toured Charleston Harbor previously and wanted something different this time (August 2013). My whole family (2 adults & 2 kids) loved the trip from start to finish. Our captain - a Mt. Pleasant native and former science teacher - knew the ins and outs of the area - history, lore, birds, dolphins, etc. We even saw more dolphins on this tour then we had on previous dolphin tours. We saw parts of IOP, Sullivan's Island and Mt. Pleasant that we had never seen before. Highly recommend this trip and would do it again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SKinVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
675 reviews
341 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 818 helpful votes
“DEFINITELY!!”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is an Eco Tour. You're going to learn something.

They do offer the dolphin site seeing. We took the barrier island tour and learned enough for a whole fifth grade class! We loved it!
The naturalist, Sarah, was exceptional, showing us crabs and explaining the different kinds and the way to harvest them, exhibiting the different wildlife on the barrier islands, their habits and habitats. We explored the tidal marshes and walked along an uninhabited island in a state of erosion. Fabulous!

Can't say enough great and marvelous things about the tour! The second greatest thing we did in Charleston!

One note: This is a natural habitat island. Wear clothes for mosquito and gnat minimization.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nabenom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barrier Islands Eco Tours also viewed

Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
 
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Barrier Islands Eco Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing