We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun for all ages!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barrier Islands Eco Tours

Barrier Islands Eco Tours
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Tennessee
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fun for all ages!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012 via mobile

We went on a tour today. We did a private charter with children from age 5-16, adults up to age 65. We got to pull in some crab cages, cast nets, fish, went shelling on boneyard beach, and found dolphins. It was educational and kept everyone in the group entertained. Our Captain, Griffin, was excellent!

Helpful?
Thank Audrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    310
    16
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Eco Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

My teenage sons and I just took the all inclusive, eco barrier tour, and had an absolutely wonderful time. Our hosts, John and Rob, were incredibly informative and accomodating. Caper Island was a once in a life time experience. My youngest son caught an baby shark; and our hosts made him feel like he reeled in a great white. Highly recommend this for great family fun and wonderful memories

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank kluken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic Tour !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

This tour has been a highlight of our trip. Friendly guides who have extensive knowledge of the terrain and wildlife, yet they make it fun. Great with kids. The boat ride was comfortable as the guide pointed out birds, dolphins and other animals. They pulled up two crab-traps and displayed the contents. Capers Island is incredible ! First unspoiled, undeveloped beach I have ever been to. Driftwood and plentiful shells. Very peaceful, fun and informative trip. Well worth the money.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank SouthernTraveler117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Well worth the time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

We learned about the native water birds, alligators, crab, and dolphins from our tour guide. We had a nice tour of caper island. A sudden storm swept in, and they handled it like real pros. Our tour guide used his own body as a shield to prevent one of the ladies from being splashed as we rushed back to shore.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank judyk123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
164 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Very educational, great way to see some nature”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

This was recommended to us by a relative who had taken the tour in February. It was very educational and fun. We learned all about different types of crab, saw dolphins in the bay and spent about 90 minutes exploring Capers Island and learning about the ecology of the area. I would recommend this tour to anyone. We also loved Bella the captain's dog.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank pbfues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barrier Islands Eco Tours also viewed

Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
 
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Barrier Islands Eco Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing